We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Duncan's Island Tours tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience Duncan's Island Tours
from $309.00
More Info
from $247.20
More Info
from $309.00
More Info
Reviews (429)
Filter reviews
422 results
Traveler rating
403
14
3
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
403
14
3
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews homemade muffins his wife great tour cruise ship hour tour anne of green gables mussels private tour comfortable van two couples bottled water pei preserve company sand dunes his knowledge north rustico personal touch red cliffs
Filter
Updating list...
388 - 393 of 422 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Our family of 4 spent a delightful 3 hour tour with Terry from Duncan Island Tours. Terry met us in the cruise port terminal just after we docked. We really enjoyed his tour of Charlottetown. He seemed to know all the details about everything in the town. He took us to the Anne of Green Gables house. We really liked that. I would recommend spending more time there than we did. We spent about 45 minutes there but really would have liked to have spent more time walking along the paths on the property. It was a glorious day. But that was not the fault of the tour, rather the fact that we were on a cruise and had to limit or time there in order to see other places in and around the island. Then Terry took us to the sand dunes and red rocks on the ocean. Was beautiful. Again, if you have more time, a picnic here would be delightful. Next Terry took us to try some teas and jellies. Our kids really liked that. The teas and jams we sampled were delicious and of course we bought a few for home!

We really enjoyed learning about Prince Edward Island and talking with Terry. Was a wonderful 3 hour tour. We LOVED Prince Edward Island and hope to go back one day soon. Beautiful destination.

Date of experience: July 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank christahobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan C, Owner at Duncan's Island Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Christa

Thank you for choosing duncan's island tours. Terry is a very knowledgable guide and enjoyed sharing his knowledge and stories and the beautiful sites of our Island with you during your tour. we hope you'll return to experience more of what PEI has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We booked the "Anne of Green Gables Adventure" with Duncan's Island Tour and had a great time with Terry! From my blog (kidoctr.blogspot.com):

We arrived into Charlottetown a bit after 8 am and were among some of the first to disembark from deck 3. We were to meet our tour guide from Duncan's Island Tours at 8:30 so we stopped off in the terminal building to take advantage of the wifi for a few minutes. I had received a few phone calls and had a couple of voicemails – someone from Topor Boston tours had called to ask if I was still interested in the Chinatown market tour – they had another couple that were interested, and we still wanted to go, they would open the tour up for Saturday. I called them back and left a voicemail that we were still interested.

We walked to the far end of the terminal building and easily found our tour guide, Terry, who walked us across the parking lot to his very nice mercedes benz SUV. He showed us a map of PEI – about 150 miles from tip to tip of the island. We were at the southern part of the middle of the island and would be going north up to see the Anne of Green Gables house then around towards the east and back down south to Charlottetown.

Now, neither Amina nor I have read the Anne of Green Gables series of books and really didn't know a thing about her or the author. I had booked this private tour but after speaking with Terry for a bit on our drive, we let him know that we were probably more interested in doing a culinary tour of PEI moreso than about Anne of Green Gables or Lucy Montgomery.

Our first stop was a beautiful lookout to a typical fishing village across one of the many small lakes in the area. We did make a stop at Silver Bush where Lucy Maud Montgomery lived with her aunt and uncle and wrote her stories about Anne. We walked into the house and looked around briefly but there was a tour bus there and the house was crowded. We decided to forego the tour of the house, walked around a bit then got back in the car to get some ice cream – the “best ice cream in the world” per Terry.

Terry was full of great information and pointed out all sorts of things to us and answered my questions about PEI. He spent 4 months of the year at his house in Florida and grew up near Halifax before moving to PEI. He also managed a semi-pro football team in PEI.
We stopped at Cow's Ice Cream and had a scoop of their Gooey Mooey ice cream on sprinkle cones. The ice cream really was very good but I'm no expert.

According to Reader's Digest, though, it was the best ice cream in Canada and according to Tauck World Discovery Tours, it was rated the world's best ice cream.

The Cavendish beach was nearby and Amina had mentioned to Terry that she really wanted to visit a beach so we headed over. We walked for a while on the beach - there were a lot of families there but nobody was in the water - it was too cold. We enjoyed a walk along the beach out to the rocky end and back then put our shoes back on and headed back to the car.

At this point, Terry gave us the option of going to a seafood place or to a jam store. I had mentioned to him that HAL recommended Lobster on the Wharf for lunch but Terry told us there were definitely better places that he recommended which is what I had suspected. We elected to go for lunch at the seafood place that he recommended. Before we got to the beach, Terry had mentioned that the largest native animal on PEI was the fox and just after we left the beach parking lot, he spotted one by the side of the road and pulled over. As if on cue, the fox crossed in front of the car and came over to our side as we rolled our windows down. It seemed to check us out briefly and since we weren't offering it any food, it moved on.
Terry made one additional stop along the way to take a closer look at a lobster trap. I really knew nothing at all about lobster fishing. Terry had told us earlier that lobster used to be the "poor man's" food. If a child was sent to school with a lobster sandwich, they were considered to be poor and that lobsters were so abundant that they were oftentimes tossed into the garden to act as fertilizer. A typical native of PEI could go to a grocery store and buy a 1 pound lobster for around $7. He highly recommended the lobster dinners that were offered throughout PEI but we weren't staying overnight in Charlottetown this evening. For about $36, you got a 1 pound lobster and all-you-can-eat mussels, clams, etc. The lobster fishing season had just ended a couple of weeks ago

A typical lobster trap had 2 parts. On one side, there were holes that a lobster could "walk" into which means that they backed up into the hole to get food (usually some type of fish) and dropped down a few inches into what was called the "kitchen". The lobsters couldn't back out of the trap. On the other end of the trap was a net that allowed the lobster to "walk" again and drop again into another section called the "parlor" where the lobster could hang out (leaving room for more lobsters to enter the "kitchen") until the trap was pulled up. The design was simple and clever.

Our next stop was Richard's eatery - a definite local hangout. We placed our order: a lobster roll and chips (fries) for Amina, a scallop burger for me, and an order of steamed mussels for us to share. We got our pager and made our way upstairs to sit on the rooftop and watch the local kids jump off the bridge into the river. Amina decided there to add "jumping off bridge into river" to her bucket list.

Our food was absolutely amazing. Amina's lobster roll was delicious with HUGE chunks of lobster. My scallop burger was actually half a dozen medium sized scallops that were coated in a panko-like crust and then deep fried and placed on a hamburger bun. Even though the scallops had been deep fried and the coating was light and crispy, the inside of the scallops were PERFECT - not overcooked and stringy. The steamed mussels were just amazing - delicious and I think Seth (the shell-fish hater) would have even liked it. The day was perfect sitting on that rooftop with a nice breeze and enjoying the sun.

Terry drove us back to the ship terminal after pointing out a few more interesting historical sites and other places to eat. One thing that I wanted to try but we didn't have time to were "Malpeque oysters". Terry point out a couple of oyster bars not too far from the terminal that we could probably get those.

--------------

Thanks to Terry and Duncan's Island Tours for a great visit! We will definitely be back and I want Terry to give us a tour again!

Date of experience: July 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
2  Thank Kidoctr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan C, Owner at Duncan's Island Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Thank you so much for your comprehensive review of your day with Terry of Duncan's island tours. We are delighted that you enjoyed your day and that Terry was able to adjust the tour to meet your needs and to showcase some of the Island's hidden food gems. We at duncan's Island tours are proud of the service we provide and our ability to be flexible to meet the needs of our clients. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience with Terry and your kind words about our tour services. We look forward to your returning so that you can experience those Malpeque Oysters. Duncan and Terry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Duncan met us on time with home baked goodies from his wife. Our group of 6 were comfortable in his well equipped Honda van-easy in and out, good visibility. We had a very comprehensive tour of the island and lunch at the Preserve Company was fabulous. He also talked with a microphone so we all could hear him clearly and that was a major plus and very professional. Highly recommend his tour

Date of experience: July 2013
Thank MusicCityMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan C, Owner at Duncan's Island Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review of my tour. It was my pleasure to show you the best PEI has to offer including our wonderful PEI Preserve Company restaurant. Glad you also enjoyed Linda's muffins. Hope you had a safe and enjoyable trip back to Nashville and that you'll came back to visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

"An amusing and intoxicating ambulatory tour of the sites of historic Charlottetown hosted by a legendary rum runner.
This light entertainment is replete with colourful characters depicted with witty stories and lively music - lots of fun!"

Raymond and Valerie Moore

Date of experience: July 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Valerie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan C, Owner at Duncan's Island Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Valerie and Raymond , thank you so much for your review of the Rum runners Musical Walking tour of Charlottetown. Captain and Mrs. Dicks ( Hank and rowena Stinson) have done an amazing job of developing and entertaining and informative production that gives their audiences both a fun and historical perspective of our historic city. thank you for participation. Share this gem with your friends and come explore Charlottetown again and sample some of then illegal elixir.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We were a group of 4 calling into Charlottetown as part of a cruise from Boston to Montreal. It really is better to avoid the group tours arranged by the cruise line and engage the services of a local guide. Payment is by the hour so would be relatively expensive for a couple, say, but very cost effective for a larger group like ours. Anyway, that is how we came to contact Duncan to fix a 4 hour trip around PEI. Unfortunately he personally was already booked for that day but his colleague Terry was there to greet us as arranged. The weather was not the best but we all had a highly enjoyable day seeing the countryside, coast and town. The more intimate knowledge of a local is the best way to get the most from a short visit and Terry was excellent and informative. Much has been written in previous reviews about the quality of the muffins baked by Duncan's wife but I am pleased to say Terry bakes his own scones and will happily share them with his passengers! Thanks Terry!

Date of experience: June 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank dunbankinCyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan C, Owner at Duncan's Island Tours, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

On behalf of Terry and myself we would like to thank you for choosing Duncan's Island Tours for your tour of PEI and for your kind review. As you indicated we can't control the weather but we can provide and enjoyable, informative and fun day no matter what. I particularly liked your comments on Terry's home baking, he is a man of many talents. Thank you again and please come back and see the rest of our beautiful Island again in the future. Duncan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews