We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two Nights”
Review of The Cranford Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cranford Inn
Ranked #3 of 43 Charlottetown B&B and Inns
Boalsburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Two Nights”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed two nights at this location. The furnishings are clean, modern, beautiful, and comfortable. The breakfast food is delicious and plentiful. The location is an easy walk to the Charlottetown attractions. There are MANY restaurants within easy walking distance. We recommend this B & B to travelers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
222
20
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed two nights at the Cranford Inn for my Anne of GG holiday. Loved everything, location fantastic, comfy beds, clean, great breakfast, tea/coffee and home baked biscuits available all day, friendly/helpful innkeepers. I would happily stay again and hope to one day. Thank you Vicki and Martha.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belconnen2617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bribie Island, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We spent 3 nights here in the Sapphire Room from the 3rd May. It was our first experience in a B&B and it certainly won't be our last. Martha and Vicki made us very welcome and provided a wonderful breakfast each morning. Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts. Unfortunately it was too early to see the gardens in their full glory. We were away from home for 7 weeks and it is the little things that decide whether or not your memories of a place are good or bad. In this instance our memories of our time in Charlottetown are fantastic.

Room Tip: Sapphire Room has a verandah with direct access to the front garden and carpark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LINDA C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townshend, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We spent 4 nights here at the end of May. We stayed in the Sandstone room which had a very comfortable king-size bed, lovely furnishings and windows and access to a deck overlooking the beautiful gardens. Unfortunately, the weather did not cooperate and we never set foot on the deck. The bathroom was immaculate and kept that way throughout our stay. I was a little nervous to see that the enclosure for the shower did not extend the full length of the tub ( I did not want to get water all over the bathroom floor) but it was not a problem at all.
The location was perfect as we prefer to walk to restaurants, etc. whenever we can. Although the Cranford is right in the middle of town it was quiet and relaxing.
Breakfast times are 8 and 9AM and you choose upon arrival. I did want to sleep in a little later one morning but could not be accommodated at the later time. Just as well as an early start gave us more time to sight see.
Breakfasts were wonderful with fresh fruit and home made muffins to start followed by a different entree each day. My dislike for fish was graciously accommodated and replaced with a delicious mini quiche. Thank you Vicki and Martha!
We felt totally comfortable and at home here and hope to get back some day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelpatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

We decided ( insanely ) to make the entire overnight drive from Ottawa to Charlottetown...two drivers on a mission to escape to the start of our vacation. We pulled wearily into Charlottetown at 8:45 am and hit TripAdvisor for a recommendation and selected the Cranford. Yes - it was early, far before the 3 pm check-in but we wanted a horizontal surface and a hot shower so we parked out front and knocked and hoped for a break...and we were rewarded. Welcomed in, shown a selection of beautiful and well appointed rooms that felt like home. We were checked in and sleeping inside 30 minutes. A great stay, lovely property and fantastic breakfast.. Wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tyler N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2013

A nice little gem in Charlottetown, the Cranford Inn is a very affordable Inn/B&B within easy walking distance of everything in historic/downtown Charlottetown. Very nice to be able to park the car, check in, and not have to start the car again until check out a couple of days later. The rooms were very nice and clean. The breakfast provided each morning was very well done. A good value, and a much better place to stay than a chain hotel. Staff were extremely helpful and polite. Would recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank galibraryguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We had such a great experience in 2011 at this inviting B&B that we decided to return there again for a week-end get away ....and it felt like we were returning "home"! We were warmly greeted by Martha and Vicki, who remembered us...what a nice feeling! Homemade cookies and a cup of tea as we settled in...just like home!
They had several suggestions for dining, which we appreciated, and we tried one of their recommendations and thoroughly enjoyed a unique experience at Terre Rouge.
We enjoy the Sandstone Room with the view of the large perennial gardens and the spacious deck .The enormous,tasty home-cooked breakfasts are the perfect start to a day. Couldn't ask for better hospitality anywhere and it is so apparent why they are rated as the top B&B in the city and one of the top in Canada!
Looking forwards to returning!
Anne and Paul

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cavsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.5 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
721 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#4 of 23 in Charlottetown
412 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairholm National Historic Inn
Fairholm National Historic Inn
#6 of 23 in Charlottetown
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
604 reviews
0.5 mi away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward by Marriott
0.5 mi away
The Sonata Inn
The Sonata Inn
#5 of 23 in Charlottetown
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cranford Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cranford Inn

Property: The Cranford Inn
Address: 177 Fitzroy St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1S3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the 2013and 2014 TripAdvisor Traveler's Choice Award. Inducted into the Trip Advisor Hall of Fame, for those who have had 5 years of the Certificate of Excellence in a row. Guests have reviewed us as the Number 9 Bed and Breakfast in Canada. "Contemporary elegance-perfect for business or pleasure." The Cranford Inn is an elegant accommodation, owner operated, located centrally in historic Charlottetown. The property is designed to provide the comfort of a first class hotel while maintaining the charm and personal touches you look for in a great Bed and Breakfast. The Cranford Inn is an excellent choice whether you are here for business or pleasure. Location is key and the Cranford Inn is walking distance to great restaurants, theatre, historic and cultural experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Cranford Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cranford Inn Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing