We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great lighthouse in peaceful setting”

Blockhouse Point Lighthouse
Attraction details
Marion,IN
Level Contributor
178 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Great lighthouse in peaceful setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

This one is easy to find and would be a noce place to pull up a chair and sit at the water's edge for a while. It was not open when we were there(?? if open to the public). It could however stand a paint job.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 732MPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    11
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
L'Orignal, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“For Lighthouse lovers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We travelled around 1500 kilometres in a 7 days vacation and we have stop at over 75% of the lighthouses there are in PEI. We also received the Tip to Tip ribbons and certificate to prove we were at the 2 most northern point of the island in the west as well as the east. All the lighthouses are unique and you can visit 9 of the 63 lighthouses with optional guided tour for a small fee. Very enjoyable.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jp L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“great light!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Have loved the light all my life. It helps to define the harbour. Is also a good reference point for giving directions.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoneham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
333 reviews
170 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
“Easy to miss but don't!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

This lighthouse is right near Fort Amherst, but there are NO signs to tell you it is there. When you come out of Fort Amherst, turn left and go on a dirt road for about 1/2 mile and the lighthouse will be on your left. It is not open but you can look in all the downstairs windows and see where the lighthouse keeper and his family used to live. You can see the four rooms on the first floor which still have wallpaper on the walls and a couple of pieces of furniture. The child's room has wallpaper with bunnies on it. The lighthouse is on a beautiful spot with great views. On a clear day you can see New Brunswick in the distance.

It would be great if they would fix up this lighthouse and open it as a museum -- showing a lighthouse keeper's home and telling stories about the lives of lighthouse keepers and their families.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank bcnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonshaw, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

most beautiful view in all of PEI. Go there to watch the cruise ships sail in and out of Charlottetown. Very special spot for my family.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank bcjoslin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blockhouse Point Lighthouse also viewed

Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to Blockhouse Point Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing