We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really??”

Water St. Fish & Chips
Ranked #39 of 242 Restaurants in Charlottetown
Price range: $5 - $18
Cuisines: Seafood, Canadian, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Situated in historic Charlottetown, Water St. Fish & Chips prides itself in providing customers with a taste of Prince Edward Island. Supporting local farmers and fishermen, we use only the finest ingredients and handed down recipes for a combination of flavors that satisfy your every craving.
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Really??”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Wow, don't quiite understand how someone could be serving tables in a fish and chip restaurant and not know what cod is while at the same time being blissfully unaware that there is a huge province wide burger promotion going on which the restaurant is a part of. Fish was ok but very greasy. fries were fine. tartar sauce was just plain gross. you squeeze it out of a ketchup bottle and it is so watery it just makes a lake at the bottom of your plate which engulfs everything on it. So now I am eating french fries soaked in this white liquid. nice. All I can do is shake my head and move on. 2 stars for edible food but thats about it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank restaurantguy155023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    49
    18
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fish was good too bad about everything else.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

I ordered the haddock which was good until the grease made the paper on the plate tear and become part of the dinner. There was no coleslaw like in the picture here on your site. The tarter sauce which is in a squeeze bottle was so thin it was just nasty. Asked about dinner roll or biscuit and was told that was extra. The worst however was the service, she would drop stuff and run with no communication , served my husband everything first, (not sure what happened to ladies first) could not answer anything we asked concerning the menu. Just a very bad experience.

Will walk down the street next time for fish and chips.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very good fish and chips”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We both had the haddock fish and chips. The batter is a nice light and airy english style without the heavy, doughy batter that a lot of places try and pass off on their fish. Had a side of onion rings too that were the same light batter and were very good.

Be warned however, the 2 piece haddock is a LOT of food, so make sure you know what you're getting into (2 pieces is about a pound of fish before any sides or batter)

The place is very conveniently located right behind the Delta if you're staying there as well.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NathJam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
235 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Everything I had hoped for - food atomosphere and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Fantastic dining experience - The beer was excellent, the service was outstanding and the food was wonderful. The PEI clam chowder was good enough for seconds. They didnt have everything on the menu simply due to season - how refreshing is that?? Highly recommended and I hope to return there soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank leigh b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best fish & chips I've ever had!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

My wife and 2 year old daughter went to supper here in march and it was by far the best fish & chips I've ever had. This is one of our go to restaurants now especially for fish.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vman1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Water St. Fish & Chips also viewed

Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to Water St. Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing