We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good music”

Water St. Fish & Chips
Ranked #39 of 252 Restaurants in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Description: Situated in historic Charlottetown, Water St. Fish & Chips prides itself in providing customers with a taste of Prince Edward Island. Supporting local farmers and fishermen, we use only the finest ingredients and handed down recipes for a combination of flavors that satisfy your every craving.
Charlottetown, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good food, good music”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

After dropping in to their levee on New Years Day, we said we would return for dinner one evening and we did. It's good pub food with lots of variety on the menu and the prices are excellent. We enjoyed the live music too. My only suggestion would be there should be more than one kind of wine to choose from. We will return.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank countrycc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    53
    21
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Fish & chips i've ever tasted!!!!”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

It was after 2pm and we need a place to eat there were not to many people inside but went in any way and i'm so Best Fish & chips i've ever tasted!

Our server was young but knew the fish types very well!
The serving Was huge and you leave very full but very happy Well worth a vist!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MizSazzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fish and chips? Search no more.”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Across the street from the Prince Edward Delta hotel, the restaurant advertises in the window "the best fish and chips in town". Did not really try any of the others in Charlottetown, but it would be hard to imagine to find one better. The cod is just delicious and we had the best chips, ever. The waiter claimed that the potatoes were still in the ground a week ago, and they were certainly not the frozen variety. The staff is friendly and helpful to visitors, a big plus. Would not hesitate to return.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WBK62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Oil and Fish”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This restaurant is close to the Delta and the water front which makes it a prime target if you need to eat and are not sure where to go.
The exterior and interior are inviting but I was concerned because there really were no patrons inside.
The portions are large. There is no denying a value proposition here. The downside is that everything we had - the fish, fries, onion rings - were loaded with oil. It was heavy to me and off putting. The coleslaw was acceptable. The mushy peas were fine (cold). The tarter in the squeeze bottle was runny and unattractive.
Service was truly pleasant.
The washroom was very small. I was worried about getting hit by someone coming in while at the sink because the door opened so far into the bathroom.
Try it only if you love fish and chips.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank synToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best Fish & Chips!”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We happened to walk past this place and figured we'd give it a try. We were both hungry from a day of driving into Charlottetown from Halifax. We each ordered the 1 piece fish & chips - oh my goodness the size of the fish!! It was the size of what I would expect 2 pieces to equal out to! This was the best fish and chips I have ever had...The place is nothing special - it looks like a typical pub, but our meals were awesome!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank blu_eyes00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Water St. Fish & Chips also viewed

Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to Water St. Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing