We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Victorian Inn and Great Breakfasts!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fairholm National Historic Inn
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Beautiful Victorian Inn and Great Breakfasts!”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Fairholm Aug 29 - Sep 1, 2013. We loved the Inn - a beautifully restored Victorian Home. The decor is gorgeous, the antiques are exquisite, and all of the rooms I saw were well-appointed and cozy. Every morning there were blueberry muffins and cheese/bacon biscuits waiting with coffee and juice. We were always offered choice of two hot gourmet breakfasts, and they were delicious. The Innkeeper is warm and friendly, and goes out of her way to help with plans for the day, dinner recommendations and reservations, etc. The other staff who come in daily are equally as helpful, and all take great pride in the history of the Inn. The Fairholm could not be a better location for doing anything in Charlottetown you want, by foot. PEI is a wonderful place to explore by car. We look forward to being able to return to the Fairholm one day.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairholminnkeeper, Manager at Fairholm National Historic Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us and do hope to see you again. Thank you for the kind words, all of us here do take pride in our jobs and this house. We want you to feel at home and comfortable during your stay and anything that we can do to help you with that is our pleasure.
We do agree that PEI is a great place to come and see and explore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    43
    13
    8
    4
See reviews for
49
179
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

The house is stunning, good location. Close to d
Historic downtown. It is located across the road from salvation army and there are questinable people hanging around at all hours. I honestly felt a little uneasy walking there at night despite the reassurances that charlottetown is a safe place. We also had hard time locating the manager even though we spent 5 nights at the B&B. She did not come in in the mornings during breakfast which was dissapointing. Staying at Bed and brekfast You kind of expect being able to chat with the innkeeper and get recommendations on places to go. The other lady who was serving breakfasts was very friendly, but absolutely clueless about the island. She could not give any recommendations about anything including the beaches, restaurants etc. Food was pretty good. fresh and tasty.
Our room was spacious and clean. The shower worked fine, but the window air conditioner was noisy and it actually kept me up. The rest of the house is not air conditioned and it was very muggy and humid everywhere outside the bedrooms even though it was not too hot outside. There was a dead bug in front of our room and it interestingly remained there for the whole 5 days of our stay.
To sum it up: it is a stunning, stunning house. But it is lacking the soul and the warmth. It felt more like a hotel, than a bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElegantTraveller18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairholminnkeeper, Manager at Fairholm National Historic Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
While we thank you for your review we are slightly concerned with your remarks. I am available 24hrs for any questions you may have and to recommend places to see and eat. I live on site and cook breakfast 3 out of 5 mornings. All of our staff is knowledgeable on the Island and we often refer to each other if needed. All of us take great pride in our jobs and this house. We are centrally located with the downtown and we are one of if not the oldest properties in the city. Being a national historic site we are unable to put in central air conditioning and as a result we have air conditioning units in the rooms. We keep windows open and allow for any natural breeze to blow through the rest of the house.
We do hope that you will return and have a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Our 5 night stay at the Fairholm was most comfortable. The staff was gracious and accomodating and the Inn is lovely. Free on-site parking, well situated in the historic part of the city so that you can walk everywhere, great individually prepared breakfasts, it doesn't get much better than this. They are building an outdoor pergola with a firepit so hope we can return some day and enjoy it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 68Lee1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairholminnkeeper, Manager at Fairholm National Historic Inn, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for the review of you visit with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to return to see our finished pergola. We do like that we are located so close to the downtown as it allows our guests to walk around and not have to worry about finding a place to park and really nice for those that don't rent a vehicle.
We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

My husband and I spent 4 nights at The Fairholm at $259 per night. The location was very good and the old home attractive. The inn keeper was very nice and helpful although she wears too many hats. She was the cook, the server, the bed maker, the fixer of anything broken. Not a single phone in the house worked. The shower in our room was an add on and only worked at a trickle - took forever to shower. The breakfasts were nothing special. The Fairholm certainly has potential but as it is now we would not go back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gigiandjerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairholminnkeeper, Manager at Fairholm National Historic Inn, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
While we thank you for your review we are sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us as we thought you did. During your stay with us I did have a staff member out for a couple of days and that resulted in me doing a few extra duties. Being a small staff we all have to pitch in and help out. We were unaware of the shower not working during your stay and it has since been fixed and working properly. We always ask if everything is ok and if you require anything as we are here to help and make your vacation enjoyable. Our phone system is being looked at and we do have a working phone on site that is available for all of our guests to use and this is something that we are working very hard to resolve.
I am open to any suggestions for breakfast that you may have. I am always looking for ways to improve and grow.
I do hope that you will consider coming to stay with us again and see how we have worked to improve.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We recently spent two nights at the Fairholm in the Lucietia Starr Suite. It was a huge, clean room with a modern bathroom. Judy greeted us and made us feel at home. Rebecca, the Innkeeper, took care of us too. We couldn't have asked for better service. It was the only B&B that had homemade muffins, cookies, and bread with coffee and tea available all hours. In addition, there was an ice machine available with a refrigerator to cool our drinks. Breakfast was scrumptious and Rebecca fed us early on our last day so we could catch the ferry. The Inn itself is gorgeous and beautifully restored. Yes, you pay a little more, but it's worth it and compared more favorably to our Inn in Halifax. The location was excellent, within walking distance of the historic downtown and a short drive to the National Seashore. PEI was our favorite stop on our trip, a place we'd like to return. The Fairholm helped make it a special place for us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PM45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairholminnkeeper, Manager at Fairholm National Historic Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and that you loved PEI (we do to!). We all love food and know that having fresh baked treats for our guests is just one small thing that we can offer you especially after a long day of traveling and/or touring.
We try to make your experience at Fairholm a homey one, we are opening our home to you and want you to feel welcome and comfortable.
Hope that you do return to visit with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

What a lovely home that has been modernized yet stayed true to the historic time in which it was built. The owner has done a fabulous job making his guests feel welcome and comfortable. Our room was considered the smallest yet it was grand. The soaking tub was a welcome respite after our long drive. The breakfast was delicious and the staff so friendly. Having our wine in the evening while relaxing on the front lawn was divine.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patti B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairholminnkeeper, Manager at Fairholm National Historic Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do agree that the house has been beautiful restored. We do hope that you will be able to return and stay with us again.
Happy to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast and that you were able to relax in the front yard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Good Points: Beautifully restored historic building, great location in downtown Charlottetown, delicious food, and in particular, a staff member, Judy, who was so friendly and incredibly helpful.

Disappointing: Perhaps we missed the fine print. Did the website say "Last ones in get the Brecken suite?" That seemed to be our fate, though we had booked the Emslie suite for our first night. I would rate our stay "excellent" except for the first night of our four night stay. We booked our first night in the Emslie suite, to celebrate my husband's birthday, and our three subsequent nights in the Ben Rogers suite, based upon availability. Upon arrival we were greeted by the inn's resident manager, Becca, and were told that our suite for the first night had been changed. No prior communication, explanation or apology. We were disappointed because we had specifically chosen and booked the Emslie for our special occasion. We expressed our disappointment and asked for an explanation. We were told that another guest had booked the Brecken for one night and the Emslie for three nights. When they arrived and had viewed the Brecken suite they decided they did not want to change rooms and wanted the Emslie for all four nights so the inn accommodated their request by changing our reservation. This was done without communicating with us and we feel it was unprofessional, especially given that part of the "charm" of a B&B is choosing your own room. When we politely tried to push back we were matter-of-factly told that there was nothing the manager could do, it was only one night and we were changing rooms the next day anyway! (One is tempted to wonder whether the folks who had actually booked the Brecken suite for that night had also been given this helpful explanation...) We were so disappointed that we strongly considered seeking a motel for that night, but had tickets to the musical nearby... When that evening we asked for a restaurant recommendation on our way to see "Anne" we were told: ''They are all good down that way."

Thoughts on the Brecken suite: The Brecken suite, though billed as the inn's nicest room, is the converted attic of the home. The air conditioner is excessively loud, the smoke detector was missing (wires were hanging from the ceiling), and the stairs to reach it are many.

In summary, we had a lovely time at The Fairholm National Historic Inn, in charming and historic Charlottetown and among the warm, welcoming people of beautiful PEI. I would recommend that you stay here but you may end up in a room you did not book!

Room Tip: The Ben Rogers was charming, the Brecken a converted attic, and, we never did see the Emslie, though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GDK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairholminnkeeper, Manager at Fairholm National Historic Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for your review and we do value your feedback. We try to make sure that all of our guests are happy during their stay and that they do receive the rooms that they have booked. Changing rooms is not something that we do however under some circumstances it does become necessary. The Brecken suite is a very lovely room and personally one of my favorites in the house the other being the Ben Rogers. I personally treat all of my guests with respect and do my absolute best to make your stay is enjoyable.
We are aware that the air conditioner can be a bit loud however during your stay it was very warm and humid and needed to be on. The smoke detector was down due to the fact that the humidity was setting it off because the air conditioner was not being used by the previous guests. It has been reinstalled and working properly.
I agree that Judy is excellent with her advice and very helpful to all of our guests. We are very lucky to have her.
We do hope that you will come back and stay with us again. All the best Fairholm staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.3 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
604 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
720 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward by Marriott
0.3 mi away
Rodd Charlottetown
Rodd Charlottetown
#8 of 23 in Charlottetown
481 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dundee Arms Inn
Dundee Arms Inn
#14 of 23 in Charlottetown
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairholm National Historic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairholm National Historic Inn

Property: Fairholm National Historic Inn
Address: 230 Prince St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 4S1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairholm National Historic Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5 Star Inn and National Historic Site, Fairholm is a 1838 Mansion restored to its original splendor. Spacious and unique rooms with superb architectural detail all feature private baths, fireplaces, original antiques and hardwood floors. A short walk away from the waterfont, theatre and downtown shops and restaurants. Free wi-fi and parking. Delicious full hot breakfast for two is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fairholm National Historic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairholm National Historic Inn Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing