We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gracious home tended to by gracious people.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairholm National Historic Inn
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A gracious home tended to by gracious people.”
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

What a lovely home that has been modernized yet stayed true to the historic time in which it was built. The owner has done a fabulous job making his guests feel welcome and comfortable. Our room was considered the smallest yet it was grand. The soaking tub was a welcome respite after our long drive. The breakfast was delicious and the staff so friendly. Having our wine in the evening while relaxing on the front lawn was divine.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patti B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairholminnkeeper, Manager at Fairholm National Historic Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do agree that the house has been beautiful restored. We do hope that you will be able to return and stay with us again.
Happy to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast and that you were able to relax in the front yard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    43
    13
    8
    4
See reviews for
49
182
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Good Points: Beautifully restored historic building, great location in downtown Charlottetown, delicious food, and in particular, a staff member, Judy, who was so friendly and incredibly helpful.

Disappointing: Perhaps we missed the fine print. Did the website say "Last ones in get the Brecken suite?" That seemed to be our fate, though we had booked the Emslie suite for our first night. I would rate our stay "excellent" except for the first night of our four night stay. We booked our first night in the Emslie suite, to celebrate my husband's birthday, and our three subsequent nights in the Ben Rogers suite, based upon availability. Upon arrival we were greeted by the inn's resident manager, Becca, and were told that our suite for the first night had been changed. No prior communication, explanation or apology. We were disappointed because we had specifically chosen and booked the Emslie for our special occasion. We expressed our disappointment and asked for an explanation. We were told that another guest had booked the Brecken for one night and the Emslie for three nights. When they arrived and had viewed the Brecken suite they decided they did not want to change rooms and wanted the Emslie for all four nights so the inn accommodated their request by changing our reservation. This was done without communicating with us and we feel it was unprofessional, especially given that part of the "charm" of a B&B is choosing your own room. When we politely tried to push back we were matter-of-factly told that there was nothing the manager could do, it was only one night and we were changing rooms the next day anyway! (One is tempted to wonder whether the folks who had actually booked the Brecken suite for that night had also been given this helpful explanation...) We were so disappointed that we strongly considered seeking a motel for that night, but had tickets to the musical nearby... When that evening we asked for a restaurant recommendation on our way to see "Anne" we were told: ''They are all good down that way."

Thoughts on the Brecken suite: The Brecken suite, though billed as the inn's nicest room, is the converted attic of the home. The air conditioner is excessively loud, the smoke detector was missing (wires were hanging from the ceiling), and the stairs to reach it are many.

In summary, we had a lovely time at The Fairholm National Historic Inn, in charming and historic Charlottetown and among the warm, welcoming people of beautiful PEI. I would recommend that you stay here but you may end up in a room you did not book!

Room Tip: The Ben Rogers was charming, the Brecken a converted attic, and, we never did see the Emslie, though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GDK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairholminnkeeper, Manager at Fairholm National Historic Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for your review and we do value your feedback. We try to make sure that all of our guests are happy during their stay and that they do receive the rooms that they have booked. Changing rooms is not something that we do however under some circumstances it does become necessary. The Brecken suite is a very lovely room and personally one of my favorites in the house the other being the Ben Rogers. I personally treat all of my guests with respect and do my absolute best to make your stay is enjoyable.
We are aware that the air conditioner can be a bit loud however during your stay it was very warm and humid and needed to be on. The smoke detector was down due to the fact that the humidity was setting it off because the air conditioner was not being used by the previous guests. It has been reinstalled and working properly.
I agree that Judy is excellent with her advice and very helpful to all of our guests. We are very lucky to have her.
We do hope that you will come back and stay with us again. All the best Fairholm staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Very helpful friendly staff, great food, beautiful facility. But for the price is a bit high as you are paying to stay at the historical place. If one is looking for more modern accommodation, this is not the place for you. We would like to come back to PEI and look forward to stay at the same hotel.

Room Tip: We booked and paid for a King room upstairs, but had to settle for a smaller Queen room downstairs a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fmcsbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairholminnkeeper, Manager at Fairholm National Historic Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for the review. We are very pleased that we were able to accommodate you and your wife in a different room due to the circumstances. We are a National Historic site but do try to offer as many newer amenities as possible without losing the feel and charm of Fairholm. We do hope that you will be able to return and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This restored historic home is just a couple blocks from the heart of downtown Charlottetown. The rooms are comfortable, even luxurious. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. The food is delicious. We felt totally pampered. The only additional thing we could have asked for would be a stronger wifi connection in the room. And maybe written operating instructions for the jacuzzi tub!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairholminnkeeper, Manager at Fairholm National Historic Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and felt "pampered" our goal is to make your stay relaxed and comfortable. We do realize that the wifi connection is difficult in some areas of the house however that does come with the age of the house. Hope to see you again Fairholm staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed here in July and it was excellent. Do yourself a favour and stay here. It is beautiful, comfortable and friendly. Central to everything you would want. Pubs and shops are all within walking distance or you can just sit and relax on the lawn underneath the shade of huge old trees. It was the highlight of our trip.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Justin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairholminnkeeper, Manager at Fairholm National Historic Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review your stay. The old trees surrounding the property do make for nice shaded areas to sit and relax. With the current landscaping we are doing we will have more seating and a nice fire pit to relax in front of.
Being central is very key and does help that you can walk to everything. We do hope that you will return to visit with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This was a real delight. Inn is in old house with old furnishing and feel. Had all the modern amenities. Inn is in downtown Charlottesville. The best part of stay was staff. Becka was there when we arrived and was exceptionally friendly and helpful. As this an old house it doesn't have elevators which would be problem if disabled. For others though would recommend highly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raddocmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairholminnkeeper, Manager at Fairholm National Historic Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Fairholm does try to keep with the history of the house but offer you the general amenities we have come accustom to. Thank you for your kind words, I do love my job and PEI and want my guests to have the best possible experience possible while staying with us. We do hope that you will be able to return to visit with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

The Fairholm is a historical bed and breakfast/Inn with modern conveniences. My husband and I stayed in the Lucietia Starr suite. The inn is beautiful and tastefully restored. I felt as if I had stepped back in time.

Likes: Comfortable queen size bed, easy internet access, air-conditioning (it was very hot and humid while we were there and the air conditioning worked very well), spacious bedroom and bathroom and tub (for 2), nice toiletries (Aveda),very good breakfast, small ice machine and mini fridge down the hall. Good parking and easy access to downtown (walking distance to Victoria Row, waterfront and Confederation Centre for the Arts. Friendly staff. Very clean.

Dislikes: Door to the suite stuck (probably due to humidity and it's a very old place). Two towels and two pillows for two people (I don't count pillow shams as pillows). There was a TERRIBLE smell of trash outside the inn (probably trash on a hot day, it seemed not in keeping for the quality of the place).

Overall - very good, and I would definitely stay again without reservation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VermontStargazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairholminnkeeper, Manager at Fairholm National Historic Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for the review of your stay with us. Glad that you enjoyed your stay and your room. We do try to give you a mix of the "old" with the "new" in our Inn. The weather was very humid for a couple of days and that did cause some problems with the garbage and we are currently looking into a new location to store the bins so as to not bother our guests. We all take pride in our jobs at Fairholm and it is always nice to hear that our guests feel we are doing a good job. We hope that you will return again and look forward to seeing you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.2 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
427 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
627 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward by Marriott
0.3 mi away
Dundee Arms Inn
Dundee Arms Inn
#14 of 23 in Charlottetown
256 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rodd Charlottetown
Rodd Charlottetown
#7 of 23 in Charlottetown
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairholm National Historic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairholm National Historic Inn

Property: Fairholm National Historic Inn
Address: 230 Prince St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 4S1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairholm National Historic Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5 Star Inn and National Historic Site, Fairholm is a 1838 Mansion restored to its original splendor. Spacious and unique rooms with superb architectural detail all feature private baths, fireplaces, original antiques and hardwood floors. A short walk away from the waterfont, theatre and downtown shops and restaurants. Free wi-fi and parking. Delicious full hot breakfast for two is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fairholm National Historic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairholm National Historic Inn Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing