We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great small inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairholm National Historic Inn
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
Overland Park
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great small inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

This was a real delight. Inn is in old house with old furnishing and feel. Had all the modern amenities. Inn is in downtown Charlottesville. The best part of stay was staff. Becka was there when we arrived and was exceptionally friendly and helpful. As this an old house it doesn't have elevators which would be problem if disabled. For others though would recommend highly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raddocmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairholminnkeeper, Manager at Fairholm National Historic Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Fairholm does try to keep with the history of the house but offer you the general amenities we have come accustom to. Thank you for your kind words, I do love my job and PEI and want my guests to have the best possible experience possible while staying with us. We do hope that you will be able to return to visit with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    43
    12
    7
    4
See reviews for
48
177
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

The Fairholm is a historical bed and breakfast/Inn with modern conveniences. My husband and I stayed in the Lucietia Starr suite. The inn is beautiful and tastefully restored. I felt as if I had stepped back in time.

Likes: Comfortable queen size bed, easy internet access, air-conditioning (it was very hot and humid while we were there and the air conditioning worked very well), spacious bedroom and bathroom and tub (for 2), nice toiletries (Aveda),very good breakfast, small ice machine and mini fridge down the hall. Good parking and easy access to downtown (walking distance to Victoria Row, waterfront and Confederation Centre for the Arts. Friendly staff. Very clean.

Dislikes: Door to the suite stuck (probably due to humidity and it's a very old place). Two towels and two pillows for two people (I don't count pillow shams as pillows). There was a TERRIBLE smell of trash outside the inn (probably trash on a hot day, it seemed not in keeping for the quality of the place).

Overall - very good, and I would definitely stay again without reservation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VermontStargazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairholminnkeeper, Manager at Fairholm National Historic Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for the review of your stay with us. Glad that you enjoyed your stay and your room. We do try to give you a mix of the "old" with the "new" in our Inn. The weather was very humid for a couple of days and that did cause some problems with the garbage and we are currently looking into a new location to store the bins so as to not bother our guests. We all take pride in our jobs at Fairholm and it is always nice to hear that our guests feel we are doing a good job. We hope that you will return again and look forward to seeing you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill,Ma
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed 2 nights with family at this beautiful inn in Charlottetown. We had stayed there 4 years ago during an anniversary trip and wanted to return with family this year. We think the inn had changed hands as we didn't recognize the innkeeper as the one who had been there before. When we arrived she was in the yard and said hello, but we didn't know if was her until she followed us inside where she introduced herself. She showed us to our rooms and other than that we never saw her again until we were leaving. The rooms were just as beautiful as we remembered. We stayed in the Emsley suite which had a step down to where the bed was under a huge beautiful brick archway. The step down was adequately lit up with lights but it didn't stop both of us from tripping down so I would not recommend this particular room for an elderly person. The bathroom was lovely and modern. The room had air conditioning and a cute little stove fireplace. The breakfast was in a lovely dining room each morning with beautiful decor and many details, walls, ceiling etc. They were doing some renovating outside installing a stone pathway which made for a little bit of noise each day but it wasn't bad. The innkeeper actually did come into the dining room one morning and apologized for them starting too early. I love this inn or I wouldn't have come back. Its within walking distance to everything and a short 10 minute walk to the waterfront. That part was a little disappointing as there was alot of construction going on down there. Beautiful city, beautiful inn...

Room Tip: We had stayed last time in the suite on the top floor, although its the entire top floor and really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irishprincess2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairholminnkeeper, Manager at Fairholm National Historic Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for the review of your stay with us. We are currently doing some work to the yard and trying to make it as hassle free for our guests as possible. We are glad that you came back for a second time and do hope that you come back for a third visit. The step down to the bed in the Emslie is one that we do stress upon check in as it does blend right in with the floor.
Glad that you enjoyed your breakfast and your experience with us again and we do hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitsett, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

I stayed two nights at the Fairholm, in the beautiful Lucietia Starr suite, and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. When first arriving at the front door, I was prompted by a sign to pick up the phone at the door in order to talk to the innkeeper and to check in. I did so and was promptly greeted by Rebecca, who very graciously welcomed me to Fairholm and showed me around the suite and Inn before handing the keys over to me (you're given a key to your room and a key to the front door, should you need to get in at night when the house is locked). She also prompted me to partake of freshly made lemon squares in the dining room, as well as help myself to tea if I so desired. If any rooms are vacant, the doors are left open and you're free to peek inside the beautifully restored rooms (some with pieces original to the house). Guests are provided with a common refrigerator, a book and DVD library, drinks, and a computer/WIFI. Upon waking up the next morning, I was greeted by the smell of breakfast cooking, almost as if I were visiting family. A full complimentary breakfast is served in the dining room from 8-10am and it is absolutely delicious and beautifully done. On the side board, a breakfast item is provided for those wishing to break their fast before receiving their full breakfast (one morning it was muffins, the next it was biscuits), as well as a choice of juice, coffee, and tea, in addition to two choice of delicious preserves. The tables are covered in white linens and there is real silverware and china on the tables. That first morning, I dined on homemade blueberry pancakes (the staff there come out periodically to see if anyone has sat down, and promptly take your order, giving you two options du jour to choose from), which were delicious. All breakfasts also come with a fresh bowl of fruit (melon, blackberries, kiwi, oranges, strawberries, etc.). The following morning provided a lovely plate of bacon and eggs, with the delicious, fresh fruit bowl. The warm June air blew in the open windows, fluttering the floor-length lace curtains, providing a very graceful, almost nostalgic feel to the very period room. Quiet music plays all of the time in this breakfast nook/parlor (or at least until midnight, when I vacated the parlor after reading for a while), and daily newspapers are provided to guests who wish to regale themselves of happenings in Charlottetown. You are free to come and go as you wish, so there is not that constant feeling of being watched or feeling like you constantly have to greet someone every time you enter and exit the house. The parking lot in the back is secure and easily accessible. In the bath, you are provided with lovely Aveda products, as well as a small trunk of towels. Even your toilet paper is folded into a triangle, adding to the luxurious ambiance. Screens are on the windows, and it's lovely to open them and feel the fresh air of the Island blow in and hear the sounds of the capital at its busy and quiet hours. The rooms are more spacious than the online pictures show, and are really cozy and make you feel like you're at home. Wine glasses and a bottle opener are also provided, should you make it to the Island liquor stores for the spirit of your choice. While here, I made sure I talked to the staff, who were Islanders, to learn about the area and places I should visit. Maps are available in the main hallway (which also acts as a lobby). Overall, my stay was spectacular and I loved every minute of it. The house was built around 1830, but its restoration was outstanding. I currently reside in a house that's almost 120 years old, so am used to creaking floors and sagging walls, but the Fairholm had none of this (thus the reasoning behind my compliments of their restoration crew). The interior was beautiful, and the exterior simple, yet elegant. I highly recommend that you stay here if you appreciate history, beautiful architecture, and a unique Inn experience. If you're looking for a place with character, wonderful ambiance, and excellent customer service, Fairholm Inn is the place to stay. Worth every penny, and then some.

Room Tip: All of the rooms I had the opportunity to glance at were beautiful. If you're looking for a mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kfennell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairholminnkeeper, Manager at Fairholm National Historic Inn, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you so much for you kind review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad that you got to take a look at some of the other rooms as well as they are all different in style yet equally beautiful. Having treats out for our guests is something that we enjoy doing and love to share our recipes with you....We are always happy to talk about the history of the house and PEI and share what we know.
We want you to feel at home when you stay with us and I believe that you got that feeling. We do hope that you will be able to come back to PEI and visit us again at Fairholm, it was a pleasure to have you stay with us and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

As soon as I saw the Fairholme online, I knew we had to stay there. It was every bit as amazing and breathtaking as the photos show. The innkeeper Rebecca was wonderful, very pleasant, helpful, and quiet - we didn't hear a peep. The whole house was gorgeous, beautifully restored with many authentic Victorian details.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed only one night, and we already know that we will be back to stay in a different yet equally beautifully appointed room. Ha ha...we had the whole inn to ourselves and so with the innkeepers blessings, we could meander through the rooms and wonder at the work that was put into woodwork, restoration, design, and decor of this marvelous historic home! Ahhhh, then, add all the conveniences of 2013 very discreetly. Voila ...Masterpiece.
I would be remiss without mentionning our Inn Keeper, Rebecca. She is suited to a tee to be inn keeper...and she makes the job look easy with her casual yet quietly confident aura! Makes a mean veggie frittata too!
Oh.. and one block away from many dining choices for dinner! Even with a cane I could hobble that far and back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lavasuze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Our niece got married at the Fairholme on Dec 29. The setting was beautiful as were our rooms.
Several of us were stranded in Charlottetown because of the snowstorm and Rebecca, the inn keeper, made us feel right at home.

Room Tip: All rooms unique in character and furnishings -there is no "bad' room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominique7339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairholminnkeeper, Manager at Fairholm National Historic Inn, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thank you for your review. It was our pleasure to play host to a wonderful wedding and great guests. We hope that you will return to stay with us again in the future. The weather did play a factor in your weekend but I am happy that we could provide shelter for those of you that needed to stay.
Thank you again and we do hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.3 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Sonata Inn
The Sonata Inn
#5 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.5 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Prince Edward
0.3 mi away
Rodd Charlottetown
Rodd Charlottetown
#7 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairholm National Historic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairholm National Historic Inn

Property: Fairholm National Historic Inn
Address: 230 Prince Street, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A4S1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairholm National Historic Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5 Star Inn and National Historic Site, Fairholm is a 1838 Mansion restored to its original splendor. Spacious and unique rooms with superb architectural detail all feature private baths, fireplaces, original antiques and hardwood floors. A short walk away from the waterfont, theatre and downtown shops and restaurants. Free wi-fi and parking. Delicious full hot breakfast for two is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Fairholm National Historic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairholm National Historic Inn Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing