We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”
Review of Splendid Essence

Splendid Essence
Ranked #34 of 247 Restaurants in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Taiwanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: The Splendid Essence is a congregation of all kinds of beauty and splendor inside an exquisite cottage.The restaurant on the first floor offers trendy and gourmet vegetable dishes and an assortment of Chinese teas and beverages in a cozy and congenial atmosphere. The bright and delightful space on the second floor offers facinating classes, lectures and exhibitions to enrich your life.The third floor is an elegant Buddhist praying hall.
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

After a busy week and some grocery shopping we decided to try our favorite restaurant in Charlottetown. We again realized the reason why we enjoy it so much. The people are friendly and helpful and the food is exceptional.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ArtLover14Ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    17
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rothesay, NB Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wow ...”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

On a recent trip to Charlottetown, my traveling companions and I stopped for lunch at Splendid Essence. I had read many of the restaurant's previous reviews on this site and felt it was worth a try. We were NOT disappointed. The restaurant is cozy and funky and when we walked in we were immediately greeted with mouthwatering aromas which for us, signaled that we were in for a treat. Our server was amazing. She was able to answer all of our MANY questions about the menu and was kind enough to make some recommendations for us as well. The food was fresh and oh so tasty. Between three of us we ordered 5 different items and all were fabulous. If you are looking for fresh food full of taste and flavor at a great price, you can't go wrong with Splendid Essence - and you do not have to be vegetarian to enjoy this food!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank shezapickytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieppe, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A very pleasant surprise!”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Searched for vegetarian fare in Charlottetown, and found this wonderful gem of a restaurant on TA. The food was incredible, the service impeccable, the menu choices were abundant, and the ambience was peaceful and zen-like in a quaint cottage sytle buildng. Prices are very reasonable. Try the teas, Ten Perfections, and Seasonal Stir-Fry. A must visit for anyone seeking healthy vegetarian options.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
90 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“If you are looking for vegetarian Chinese food, this is the place.”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Since we had a lot of vegetarians in our midst during our recent trip to the Maritimes, I researched TA to find restaurants that offered more vegetarian options. Splendid Essence was one such find, but it surpassed our expectations. Food was very tasty and very different from the usual Chinese fare we see in restaurants. Various teas offered were also very good. And the service was very friendly and fast - we dd go at a time when there were fewer patrons in the restaurant. To top it off, prices were very reasonable. If we are ever in Charlottetown again, will definitely visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SMP1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Chinese vegetarian”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

A good representative dish in Chinese restaurants is string beans. If they can do good string beans, the food is usually good overall. Splendid Essence makes them perfectly, along with the other dishes I tried, which were tofu-based and vegan.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank dagmaragogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Splendid Essence also viewed

Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to Splendid Essence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing