We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royalty Maples Cottages and Motel
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Fredericton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent!!!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

We had 8 family members from 9 to 90. We all enjoyed out stay. 3 of the family are from England. For one, it was his first trip. The cottages are neat and clean. If we didn't have it, the staff got it for us. These cottages are minutes from everything in Charlottetown, and a great spot to situate for Island tours. A few minutes from the Beach. Half an hour of less from Cavendish.

Our next Island tour will definitely be from Royalty Maples Cottages. Did I mention the friendly staff???

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jozel_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    17
    10
    3
    9
See reviews for
20
24
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

We stayed in a motel unit for two nights at the beginning of our visit to PEI and again for two nights at the end. The first time we stayed we got unlucky and had noisy neighbors playing music or video games until late at night. This is not really the fault of the motel management except that I didn't see anything about quiet hours anywhere. And the walls are paper-thin. The motel is a bit out of town near some main roads, so it seems to draw an odd crowd. However, the second time we stayed it was perfectly quiet.

A bigger issue is that housekeeping in the motel unit was rather inconsistent. On our first stay, there were no bars of soap provided; we assumed this was standard (most of the place is cottages, after all) and went with it (there is a grocery store nearby) - but the second time we stayed there were bars of soap, and the second night there was even shampoo! Also the second time when we arrived there were no towels in the room so we had to ask for them. The housekeeper also threw away my shower cap between the first and second nights, which I was not pleased about - it was not something the motel had provided (I had gotten it from a different hotel, so it was the clear, cheap kind) so they should not have touched it.

The staff is very friendly and they also stored two suitcases for us between our two stays, so overall it is a decent place. Just not the highest standards around.

Room Tip: An end unit in the motel will ensure that your bed is against an outer wall instead of a shared wall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbstraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2011

Stayed at the Royalty Maples for 5 nights while visiting from Australia. We toured the Island and found this spot to be highly accessbale to everything on PEI. First 3 nights in a cottage and 2 nights in the motel. Overall this is a very well kept property. It says its a 2.5 star which probably explains why the units are a litte dated but the conveinece of the location, having your own kitchen and the CLEANLINESS makes it easy to look beyond. We did enjoy the cottage a little better then the motel but we knew this when we arrived at the property that all the cottages were booked for nights 4 and 5. It was nice to have the extra space in the cottage I believe we paid $119 and then $89 for a motel room with a kitchen I don't think you can go wrong with these rates in Charlottetown after we noticed what a few of the other properties were charging. Especially to have your own cottage in a city for $119...Correct me if I am wrong but would say it is a rare opportunity. Check out time says 10am but we were told we could take our time and stay until 12pm or so if needed. WIFI worked better then any other property we had stayed at on our month Vacation. At checkin we asked for a few recomendations on places to eat and everyone of them proved to be excellent. We highly recommend just like we were told Water Prince Corner Shop, Gahan Microbrewery and Simms Steakhouse.

Thank you for the wonderful stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jmccoy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

My wife and another couple booked a weekend here this month in a cottage and we couldn't have asked for anything more. We were in a cottage with 2 bedrooms which had a nice large new deck on the front of it. (Lacking some patio furnture) but apparently its coming soon. This place isn't the delta or best western or something it is older but everything was spotless ITS A COTTAGE! I believe we paid $99 per night for our own cottage where we were able to sit in relax be a little louder and not have to worry about a person on the other side of the wall. It was just the weekend the four of us were looking for. Minutes from town yet when your there you feel like you are away and have that relaxed nothing to worry about feeling. We usually visit the island a couple times a year I think we have found our spot!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bwcarlson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2011

We booked a 2 bedroom cottage online. When we arrived, we were met by a surly woman who had no knowledge of our reservation, saying she only handles telephone reservations, and she doesn't know where the Internet reservation person is.

So she takes us into a 2 bedroom cottage. The table is turned up on the sofa, the beds aren't made properly, the kitchen chairs are in the bathroom (because she says the carpets were just cleaned). The wallpaper is peeling off the walls, there's crown molding stood in a corner instead of on the wall. There's dump trunks outside putting new gravel in the driveways of the cottages, which means lots of exhaust, lots of noise. "We're getting ready for a busy tourist season", is the excuse the woman gives us. Newsflash! Tourist season started a month ago!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nepthys001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyaltyMaples, Owner at Royalty Maples Cottages and Motel, responded to this review, July 13, 2011
Dear Nepthys001

Thank you for taking the time to inform us about your experience at the Royalty Maples Motel & Cottages. We apologize about the confusion regarding your reservation and the unfortunate busy state the property was in when you arrived.

With respect to the placement of furniture in the cottage; the carpets in the entire property had been professionally shampooed that morning. The time that you arrived, which was at the correct check in time, we were in the process of putting each room back together. Although it was a nice day the carpets seemed to have been taking a bit longer to dry so we held off an extra hour before putting the furniture back into their proper places.

Although it might not have appeared that way when you arrived, we do realize that tourist season does start to pick up during the month of May. This year especially the weather has not cooperated with everything we would have like to got done prior to the busy season. A number of our outdoor projects were delayed and the first opportunity (like the nice sunny, dry day you arrived on) we were taking full advantage of it.

We hope you will try us again in the near future we purchased this property January 2010 and have a number of improvements planned for the upcoming years. 2010 has been a year of catching up on a number of maintenance issues from years prior. This current year we were mainly focused on exterior of the property replacing unsafe decks, drafty doors, painting and roofs. For next year for next year we have a number of interior renovations planned. We understand this is an older property but with that being said we strive for complete cleanliness and to have our units in all proper working order. You keep up to date on what is happening at the Royalty Maples by following The Royalty Maples Motel and Cottages on Facebook

We appreciate everyone taking the time to voice all comments as it helps us strive for that level of complete guest satisfaction we and each property should aspire to.

Chris Daley
Royalty Maples Motel & Cottages
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Charlottetown hotels

Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2011

I stayed at this place about 10 years ago and found it to be extremely nice. My sister was visiting me in Halifax from Ontario and my daughter and I booked a 2 bedroom cabin. Upon arriving there was no one in the office but were at one of the cabins where they were replacing the steps. We were given the key to the cabin. Upon arriving the steps were falling down but when we entered the table chairs were all ripped. The bathroom had a white toilet with a toilet seat that was too small. The bathtub and sink were pink and they were filthy, especially the bathtub. The towels were stained and the sheets on the bed had rips in them. Needless to say I was completely embarassed by this and for $99.00 per nite they should have been paying us to stay there. When we went to the office and spoke to the lady she said they were doing renovations that weekend. She did show us another cabin which was in the same condition. The only renovations they were doing was the steps. I cancelled and told here it was not possible for us to stay in that filthy place. We had to cut our trip short and returned back to NS the same day. I have pictures to prove what I am saying.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sami0072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2011

Clean, simple, quiet and extremely affordable! We stayed here last summer on our first visit to Canada and thoroughly enjoyed it. It is nothing fancy but has everything you could need to spend anything from a night to a month.It is a great base to tour the Island from. We would venture out each day and rent a bbq in the evening to cook whatever Island meal we could come up with while we were out sightseeing. Make sure you ask the owner for a recipe to cook lobster. We purchased some lobster off a local fisherman one day while we were out and did not have the slightest idea of how to cook it.. A quick trip up to the office and in less then 20 minutes we were eating one of the best lobster suppers I have ever had (for a fraction of the cost of some of the tourist trap lobster dinners). After dinner on the patio with a few of the local Gahan Brewery Beer was the recipe some of the most relaxing evenings on our trip!(Island red Beer if only they sold that over here....) Only a few minutes drive to downtown it still has that country feeling but with absolutely everything only minutes away. If we ever make it back to Canada and PEI I hope this place is still the exact same way!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mookjai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown
2.9 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rodd Royalty
Rodd Royalty
#12 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Sonata Inn
The Sonata Inn
#5 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royalty Maples Cottages and Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royalty Maples Cottages and Motel

Property: Royalty Maples Cottages and Motel
Address: 89 Malpeque Rd, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1E 1S3, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royalty Maples Cottages and Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New for 2016! Brand new Wifi System for the entire property with additional access points. An exterior renovation has been completed on the Motel making way for larger private decks with patio sets. All of of bathrooms are now 100% renovated with new tubs, toilets, vanitys, bathroom fans and fixtures! 1 Bedroom Cottages now all have larger more private decks to accomodate more then 2 people. Property recieved major renovation in 2014 and more was completed in 2015 and 2016. Nestled in Charlottetown, PEI The Royalty Maples Motel & Cottages comprise of 10 cottages and 6 motel units. All units with complimentary High Speed Wireless InternetEach motel unit includes cable TV, double hide-a-bed, queen bed, and a fully equipped kitchen and bath. The 1 and 2 bedroom cottages each have 2 double beds, hide-a-bed, full kitchen and full bath. Each unit has a fully equipped kitchen to make your stay even more affordable or to produce that special home cooked lobster dinner. As well we have BBQ for rent to help create that full cottage experience. When time allows take advantage of our well-maintained spacious grounds to play lawn games, beach volleyball or just sit back and relax in the sun.We are close to all amenities, including restaurants, beaches, shopping, golfing and the Charlottetown Airport. With the Charlottetown Mall virtually across the street, shopping is just a walk away.The Royalty Maples is proud to be Pet Friendly so feel free to bring along that special travel companion Office Hours: 8:00am - 10:00pm Daily. Check in: 2:00pm Check out: 10:00am ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Royalty Maples Cottages and Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royalty Maples Cottages Hotel Charlottetown
Royalty Maples Cottages And Motel Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing