We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot to get away and relax”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royalty Maples Cottages and Motel
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Charlottetown
Reviewed June 29, 2011

My wife and another couple booked a weekend here this month in a cottage and we couldn't have asked for anything more. We were in a cottage with 2 bedrooms which had a nice large new deck on the front of it. (Lacking some patio furnture) but apparently its coming soon. This place isn't the delta or best western or something it is older but everything was spotless ITS A COTTAGE! I believe we paid $99 per night for our own cottage where we were able to sit in relax be a little louder and not have to worry about a person on the other side of the wall. It was just the weekend the four of us were looking for. Minutes from town yet when your there you feel like you are away and have that relaxed nothing to worry about feeling. We usually visit the island a couple times a year I think we have found our spot!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bwcarlson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 66 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2011

We booked a 2 bedroom cottage online. When we arrived, we were met by a surly woman who had no knowledge of our reservation, saying she only handles telephone reservations, and she doesn't know where the Internet reservation person is.

So she takes us into a 2 bedroom cottage. The table is turned up on the sofa, the beds aren't made properly, the kitchen chairs are in the bathroom (because she says the carpets were just cleaned). The wallpaper is peeling off the walls, there's crown molding stood in a corner instead of on the wall. There's dump trunks outside putting new gravel in the driveways of the cottages, which means lots of exhaust, lots of noise. "We're getting ready for a busy tourist season", is the excuse the woman gives us. Newsflash! Tourist season started a month ago!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nepthys001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyaltyMaples, Owner at Royalty Maples Cottages and Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2011

Dear Nepthys001

Thank you for taking the time to inform us about your experience at the Royalty Maples Motel & Cottages. We apologize about the confusion regarding your reservation and the unfortunate busy state the property was in when you arrived.

With respect to the placement of furniture in the cottage; the carpets in the entire property had been professionally shampooed that morning. The time that you arrived, which was at the correct check in time, we were in the process of putting each room back together. Although it was a nice day the carpets seemed to have been taking a bit longer to dry so we held off an extra hour before putting the furniture back into their proper places.

Although it might not have appeared that way when you arrived, we do realize that tourist season does start to pick up during the month of May. This year especially the weather has not cooperated with everything we would have like to got done prior to the busy season. A number of our outdoor projects were delayed and the first opportunity (like the nice sunny, dry day you arrived on) we were taking full advantage of it.

We hope you will try us again in the near future we purchased this property January 2010 and have a number of improvements planned for the upcoming years. 2010 has been a year of catching up on a number of maintenance issues from years prior. This current year we were mainly focused on exterior of the property replacing unsafe decks, drafty doors, painting and roofs. For next year for next year we have a number of interior renovations planned. We understand this is an older property but with that being said we strive for complete cleanliness and to have our units in all proper working order. You keep up to date on what is happening at the Royalty Maples by following The Royalty Maples Motel and Cottages on Facebook

We appreciate everyone taking the time to voice all comments as it helps us strive for that level of complete guest satisfaction we and each property should aspire to.

Chris Daley
Royalty Maples Motel & Cottages

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2011

I stayed at this place about 10 years ago and found it to be extremely nice. My sister was visiting me in Halifax from Ontario and my daughter and I booked a 2 bedroom cabin. Upon arriving there was no one in the office but were at one of the cabins where they were replacing the steps. We were given the key to the cabin. Upon arriving the steps were falling down but when we entered the table chairs were all ripped. The bathroom had a white toilet with a toilet seat that was too small. The bathtub and sink were pink and they were filthy, especially the bathtub. The towels were stained and the sheets on the bed had rips in them. Needless to say I was completely embarassed by this and for $99.00 per nite they should have been paying us to stay there. When we went to the office and spoke to the lady she said they were doing renovations that weekend. She did show us another cabin which was in the same condition. The only renovations they were doing was the steps. I cancelled and told here it was not possible for us to stay in that filthy place. We had to cut our trip short and returned back to NS the same day. I have pictures to prove what I am saying.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sami0072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2011

Clean, simple, quiet and extremely affordable! We stayed here last summer on our first visit to Canada and thoroughly enjoyed it. It is nothing fancy but has everything you could need to spend anything from a night to a month.It is a great base to tour the Island from. We would venture out each day and rent a bbq in the evening to cook whatever Island meal we could come up with while we were out sightseeing. Make sure you ask the owner for a recipe to cook lobster. We purchased some lobster off a local fisherman one day while we were out and did not have the slightest idea of how to cook it.. A quick trip up to the office and in less then 20 minutes we were eating one of the best lobster suppers I have ever had (for a fraction of the cost of some of the tourist trap lobster dinners). After dinner on the patio with a few of the local Gahan Brewery Beer was the recipe some of the most relaxing evenings on our trip!(Island red Beer if only they sold that over here....) Only a few minutes drive to downtown it still has that country feeling but with absolutely everything only minutes away. If we ever make it back to Canada and PEI I hope this place is still the exact same way!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mookjai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2010

Located at the intersection of two busy highways, Royalty Maples is convenient to Charlottetown. We brought bikes and rode the Conferation Trail downtown. The trail is about a half mile away, across one of the busy streets. Also convenient to Walmart, Home Depot, movie theatre, and other strip mall attractions.

Cottages are very clean, but old. Some floorboard would feels rotten, but is clean and painted. Interiors quite dated.

Staff seems responsive to problems.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank waynethayer0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2010

From reviews and looking at costs of the chains in Charlottetown this became a good option.
Room was somewhat rustic, dated furniture and 19" tv with a remote that didn't work (service said it was a problem with all of them). Great option for people who want to save some dining out money as each room (and cottage) is equipped with full stove, fridge and sink and utensils, cookware and coffee machine. You can save yourself $20 a day on breakfast by bringing your own thing or shopping just down the street at the Atlantic Superstore or Sobey's.
About 2 miles down very traffic-congested University Ave to downtown Charlottetown.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fflbrgst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

This is a wonderful place to stay right near town. The motels need a little updating but the cabins are wonderful! My family had a great stay here, and I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mandarb11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
2.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Cornwall
448 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown
0.5 mi away
Rodd Royalty
Rodd Royalty
#13 of 24 in Charlottetown
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Queens Arms Inn
Queens Arms Inn
#21 of 24 in Charlottetown
122 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 24 in Charlottetown
777 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 24 in Charlottetown
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royalty Maples Cottages and Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royalty Maples Cottages and Motel

Address: 89 Malpeque Rd, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1E 1S3, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 24 Hotels in Charlottetown
Price Range: $60 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royalty Maples Cottages and Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Charlottetown, PEI The Royalty Maples Motel & Cottages comprise of 10 cottages, 4 Bedroom Vacation home, 6 motel units and 2 – 3 way serviced motor-home/camper sites. All units include complimentary High Speed Wireless Internet Each motel unit includes cable TV, double hide-a-bed, queen bed, and a fully equipped kitchen and bath. The 1 and 2 bedroom cottages each have 2 Queen sized beds, hide-a-bed, full kitchen and full bath. Each unit has a fully equipped kitchen to make your stay even more affordable or to produce that special home cooked lobster dinner. As well we have BBQ for rent to help create that full cottage experience. When time allows take advantage of our well-maintained spacious grounds to play lawn games, beach volleyball or just sit back and relax in the sun. We are close to all amenities, including restaurants, beaches, shopping, golfing and the Charlottetown Airport. With the Charlottetown Mall virtually across the street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Royalty Maples Cottages and Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royalty Maples Cottages Hotel Charlottetown
Royalty Maples Cottages And Motel Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing