We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and accomandations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hotel on Pownal
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2014

This Hotel us well situated in downtown Charlottetown. Everything is only a walk away. The
service to this Hotel was a wow! Every 5 to 6 the Hotel is offering you a glass of wine or a beer!
Rooms a clean and well equiped. This place will be my first choice in Charlottetown!

Le service est vraiment super! Le personnel est très accueillants et chaleureux. Tout les soirs
de 5 à 6 l'hôtel vous offre soit un verre de vin ou une bière! Quelle idée géniale! Les chambres
sont propre et bien équipées.
Cet Hotel est mon premier choix à Charlottetown!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ksamuel, Manager at The Hotel on Pownal, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Thank you for sharing your Hotel on Pownal experience on this site.

I am certainly happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to providing you with many more memorable experiences. Business travel can certainly be hard on a person. It is our mandate to ensure you feel like you are at your home away from home from the second you arrive at the Hotel to the second you leave our parking lot.

We are certainly privileged to have guest like yourself stay with us. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (388)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 388 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2014

We stayed one night at this hotel and were very pleased. The modern hotel décor in the lobby carries throughout the hotel and in the rooms and the hotel has an urban feel. The staff are beyond friendly - even gave a tour of the hotel to our room upon check in. The beds were very comfortable and bath towels were plush. Water pressure for showers was good. Breakfast was included and there was a hot egg dish (as well as the regular breakfast fair) that was very tasty. Parking was free- and so was Wi-Fi - which was awesome! We found the room rate reasonable. As others have stated there was no elevator in the building, but this did not pose a problem for us. The hand towels and face cloths (contrary to the bath towels as mentioned above) felt quite scratchy - it was a noticeable difference from the bath towel. When we noted this we used the bath towels for everything we needed and they were great. One quirk that we didn't expect was that our room had 3 doors: one door from the hotel interior hall, one to the outside and one to a connecting room. You might want to ask about this when you reserve if you are travelling with children or travelling alone. There was a fridge in the room which was very convenient. Overall we had a great stay. I have stayed at other hotels in Charlottetown and this hotel is a welcome addition to the accommodation selection in PEI. I would definitely stay here again when next in Charlottetown.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank EastCoastCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ksamuel, Manager at The Hotel on Pownal, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Thank you for sharing your Hotel on Pownal experience with other travelers on this site.

I appreciate your positive feedback in regards to your stay with us especially our staff members, welcoming decor, comfortable beds, wireless internet, parking ,and deluxe continental breakfast offering.

For added convenience, some of our room types do offer connecting door as well as exterior and interior access doors. However, for single travelers, rooms with just one interior door are available as well.

Thanks again for your feedback and I look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Excellent hotel within walking distance of everything. Room was very clean and the bed was very comfortable. All of the staff was friendly and professional. I thought that the free continental breakfast was amongst the best I had ever had, with lots of variety, including fresh fruit. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank NBMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ksamuel, Manager at The Hotel on Pownal, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Thank you for staying with us and leaving your feedback on this site.

I am glad that you enjoyed our services and amenities at the Hotel especially our deluxe continental breakfast offering and friendly staff.

Again thank you for your positive comments and I look forward to welcoming you back to our lovely location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Booked online, got a great rate and when we checked in the room greatly exceeded our expectations based on the reviews we'd read. Our room was quite large and well appointed and most importantly for me - clean. There is no elevator though so be aware of that when booking - all rooms are up at least one flight of stairs from the front desk. The continental breakfast was really good. They had the usual options - toast, bagels, cereal, fruit, but they also had a hot egg dish that was very tasty. The hotel is perfectly located for theatre, shopping and dining. It's a bit of a walk to some of the other tourist areas but a beautiful walk none the less. And last, but not least, they have fresh baked cookies and tea or coffee available for free each afternoon. Who doesn't love fresh baked cookies?!? We'll definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AddieMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

This establishment and its front office staff exceeded all our expectations for a hotel in Charlottetown. From the upscale room accommodations through to the morning breakfast; all was a notch above anything experienced to date on PEI.
What really stood out was the attentiveness of the front office folks. Any query we had was handled with a smile and a 'can do' willingness to make our stay most pleasant. We had booked 5 rooms and all of our relatives were equally impressed with the Hotel on Pownal.
I do not normally bother with writing reviews; this time it seemed appropriate to do so.

T. P.
Orleans, ON

Room Tip: Note that there is no elevator so carrying luggage upstairs is factor to consider when requesting a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ksamuel, Manager at The Hotel on Pownal, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Thank you for leaving feedback in regards to the Hotel on Pownal on this site. Knowing that it is unusual for you to do so makes this review even better.

Aside from our wonderful location, deluxe continental breakfast, and nicely appointed accommodations, it is our staff members that make this Hotel special. I am so glad that each and every one of them left you with wonderful memories of the Hotel on Pownal.

Thank you again for your many kind words and hope to be able to welcome you back to the Hotel and PEI in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

What a find this hotel was. We were greeted with smiles by the excellent staff, the room was great, very well appointed and there was even a happy hour in the lobby with wine and beer being served to the guests. This hotel is walking distance to all the wonderful restaurants that Charlottetown has to offer. Breakfast the next morning was also excellent. They will even package up a breakfast to go for travelers who are in a hurry.

Room Tip: We didn't choose a room per se; the room we were given was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123Catherine321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ksamuel, Manager at The Hotel on Pownal, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experiences at the Hotel on Pownal on this site.

It is certainly nice to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to visit some of our local restaurants in the City. I am glad our staff made you feel at home and that the breakfast and guest reception were a hit.

I look forward to be able to welcome you back to the Hotel on Pownal to provide you with more memorable experiences in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here once before and found my room a little small. This time out I called and told them that the room was too small and they were more than happy to help me out. This time I got a suite. It had a stove, refrigerator, toaster etc. There was a small kitchen (but no table), bathroom , living room and a nice sized bedroom. Overall the hotel itself is very modern and really nice inside. The bed was super comfie and I found it a quiet hotel. I was very happy this time out. Glad I came back. I would return to the suite size room. Great location- right across from the Pilot House restaurant which is excellent.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank ldruken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ksamuel, Manager at The Hotel on Pownal, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Thank you for taking a moment to express your stay on this site to other travelers.

Your comments are certainly appreciated. I am glad to see that you choose the Hotel on Pownal for a second stay and enjoyed your larger room. It is always a good thing when you, the traveler, let us know how you feel allowing staff members to act and achieve a positive outcome.

Thanks again and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Island and the Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.3 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 24 in Charlottetown
674 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Sonata Inn
The Sonata Inn
#5 of 24 in Charlottetown
367 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 24 in Charlottetown
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 24 in Charlottetown
775 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown
0.5 mi away
Sydney Boutique Inn & Suites
Sydney Boutique Inn & Suites
#12 of 24 in Charlottetown
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel on Pownal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel on Pownal

Address: 146 Pownal St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 3W6, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Charlottetown
#4 Business Hotel in Charlottetown
Price Range: $89 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Hotel on Pownal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a marked fresh, urban style, the newly renovated Hotel on Pownal is a modern boutique hotel ideal for those who shy away from conventionality. Located in the heart of downtown Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island on historic Pownal Street, we're within a breath of shopping, fabulous dining, and the beautiful Charlottetown waterfront & boardwalk. We invite you to stay at The Hotel on Pownal - Urban Comfort & Conference Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Hotel on Pownal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Islander Guestrooms Hotel
The Hotel On Pownal Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing