We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A gem!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hotel on Pownal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Hotel on Pownal
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A gem!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

Each and every step was a wonderful surprise. From the umbrellas at the hotel front door (which we didn't need to use) to the extra care the linens were arranged on the bed (lots of big fluffy pillows) Wine opener and coffee machine (keurig) to the large flat screen TV plus an MP3 player for your iphone. The continental breakfast was the best i have had for years... good coffee, homemade cinnamon buns and scones and fresh fruit, etc etc. What can i say.... somebody took the time to think of everything.... must have been a woman.

Julianne and Jack

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    126
    41
    5
    2
See reviews for
57
133
23
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Spent a night at the Hotel on Pownal and what a nice surprise! Beautiful suite, comfy bed, great staff and breakfast. Grew up close to Charlottetown and this property previously not much to look at but under new ownership and refurbished it has the boutique hotel feeling. Walking distance to tons of great restaurants and shopping. Perfect. Love it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ksamuel, Manager at The Hotel on Pownal, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback in regards to your recent visit to our Hotel. To receive comments like yours is what we strive for in the hospitality industry. Your feedback tells us that we are on the right track to ensure every guest has a great stay.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and truly hope to welcome you back to the Hotel on Pownal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

This is a modern hotel very close to the historic district in Charlottetown. Conspicuously friendly staff who were keen to help us make the most of our visit, despite the off-season feel to the area. The room was large, with a very comfortable bed and well-maintained bathroom, although we did have a bit of a struggle to get the room cool enough for sleeping in. I do hate hotels that make it difficult to get bedrooms below 20C - personally, I prefer about 15C and certainly not 25C. Excellent breakfast buffet with a wide range of choices and good quality offerings. The parking could get a bit tight in the daytime because the conference has a small conference suite and the users often filled up the spaces, which were quite tight and without a lot of room to manoeuver - not a good place for an SUV or a van.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Sherriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

I had a very positive experience at the Hotel on Pownal, and I was very pleased with the value. I had booked online through another site and upon check-in I was upgraded from a double to a king. The room was spacious and comfortable. I enjoyed the Keurig coffee maker in the room, and the ability to make a quick cup of coffee in the morning without the hassle of setting up the coffeemaker. The only negative was that the fridge was a touch noisy at a few points during the evening.
They had ample parking, which is very close to the hotel. The continental breakfast was nice, and I had no problem taking my breakfast to my room to continue working in the morning.
The staff were very accommodating and allowed late check out. I was very happy with my stay. I found the hotel to be quiet. It also seemed that small details had not been overlooked. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gxqpp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Great location close to everything in this fantastic little city. Unique design and clean. Staff was courteous and friendly. Choose a drive up and then realized there was rooms with balconies, probably would have chosen one of those. Will stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ksamuel, Manager at The Hotel on Pownal, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for your comments it means so much to our team here at The Hotel on Pownal and we will make sure that the they all know of the great role and hard work they play.

Let us know when you plan to revisit we would love assist with your plans.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
149 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Enjoyed that this place had a fresh vibe. Staff were nice, parking easy, liked the coffee and cookies and breakfast area. There were two things that were not satisfactory. Poor sleep quality: Our room was right by an exit door of the main part of the hotel (just up the stairs from the lobby) and the door started slamming hard early in the morning so we were not able to sleep at all in the morning after about 5 am or so. Also several groups of chatters congregated by the door and chatted loudy for a while before exiting and allowing the door to slam behind them. Also, the only window in our room looked out to a roof and brick wall so the room was very dreary. I told management about my issues and some suggestions on improving the sleep quality in a survey and was impressed that I later received a letter at home thanking me for the information. I will be even more impressed if I ever return and note that they have taken the suggestions and made these improvements to their otherwise satisfactory hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nerzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ksamuel, Manager at The Hotel on Pownal, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you again for your feedback in regards to your stay in June at the Hotel on Pownal.
Though overall your visit with us was a positive experience, I apologize that the room you were assigned was located close to the exit/entrance door keeping you up. As part of our ongoing commitment we are currently adding hydraulic closures to all doors to slow and quieten the doors to fix the noise problems.
Our guests enjoy the Hotel’s convenient downtown location. However, the Facility is nestled among other buildings and views from some rooms are dictated by our landscape but we are looking into ways of improving rooms with limited views.
Thank you for your comments and I look forward to be able to welcome you back to PEI and the Hotel on Pownal in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Friendly service! Fresh baked cookies on arrival:) rooms are clean and comfy. Great location and neighborhood. the front desk was very helpful finding and making us reservation for a great seafood restaurant. All around great!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlalovescarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.1 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Rodd Royalty
Rodd Royalty
#13 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
0.3 mi away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward
Delta Hotels Prince Edward
#4 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rodd Charlottetown
Rodd Charlottetown
#9 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel on Pownal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel on Pownal

Property: The Hotel on Pownal
Address: 146 Pownal St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 3W6, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Charlottetown
#4 Family Hotel in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Hotel on Pownal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a marked fresh, urban style, The Hotel on Pownal is a modern boutique hotel ideal for those who shy away from conventionality. Located in the heart of downtown Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island on historic Pownal Street, we're within a breath of shopping, fabulous dining, and the beautiful Charlottetown waterfront & boardwalk. We invite you to stay at The Hotel on Pownal - Urban Comfort & Conference Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your The Hotel on Pownal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Islander Guestrooms Hotel
The Hotel On Pownal Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing