We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hotel on Pownal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Hotel on Pownal
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
Jackson Heights, New York
Level Contributor
159 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Stayed here several times when in Charlottetown, and haven't been disappointed. Lovely rooms, gracious and friendly staff - very welcoming. had a few lovely glasses of wine in the lobby and nice chats with the staff; felt very much at home. Great location if you want to be close to everything in Ch'town. Have stayed in other places in town which haven't been nearly as nice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    126
    42
    5
    3
See reviews for
59
134
24
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
167 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

This is basically an up market motels in down town Charlettetown.. Rooms are a good size. Our room however contained a portable air conditioner which was extremely noisy so sleeping was a challenge. The room did not contain a fridge. Breakfast, which was OK, was included in the price as was parking and wi fi. This property is still seriously over priced.

Room Tip: Get one without a portable air conditioner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peter_sue20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

The Hotel On Pownal certainly has an excellent marketing team...I'll give them that.
What I saw and booked on-line was definately NOT what we got. We had driven 2000 kms and just wanted a nice, comfortable room to sleep in for our three night stay. To start, a shoebox of a room that we had to climb two sets of stairs to get to...no elevator...carrying a carload of stuff. If we were both walking around in the room at the same time we were tripping on each other...literally. A window air conditioner that was covered by curtains so that we either got zero air or had to move a chair over to raise the curtains to get airflow. Don't look out the window either! Unless you would like to see an alleyway filled with garbage cans. Our wi-fi did not work at all the first night and by the second night, the connection was only strong enough sitting right at the door, just inside the room. When we spoke to the hotel staff about this, they just shrugged and said they had no one on staff that knew what to do. The deluxe breakfast was just any other ordinary complimentary breakfast and far from their advertising of "deluxe"...nothing special...except for the dust bunnies on the shutters above the toaster. Save your money people and book somewhere else! Luxury hotel prices for a motel room just don't cut the mustard! Although a beautful island and the people we met were amazing, I would rather sleep in my car than stay at the Hotel on Pownal again.

Room Tip: Just don't get a room there and you will be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ksamuel, Manager at The Hotel on Pownal, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Thank you for your comments in regards to your recent visit to PEI and the Hotel on Pownal.
The Hotel on Pownal was completely renovated but as it is not a brand new build; original room dimensions were retained. As such, the Hotel offers different size rooms. Our traditional rooms with one double bed are our smallest room product but are also the most economical given our downtown location. Our convenient downtown location also means that the Hotel is surrounded by other buildings dictating some of the views from our guestrooms.
The Hotel is currently reviewing all air-conditioners in the building and replacing them with stand up units instead of the window mounted variety. This eliminated the curtains restricting air flow. A number of rooms have already been upgraded with the new units with all room to be completed by the end of 2012.
As the Hotel only has two guestroom floors, it does not have an elevator. However, assistance with luggage is a service we can provide for each and every guest staying with us and staff members are always eager to help anyone needing help to get to their room. Guests may also request to be accommodated on the main floor if stairs are an issue.
The Hotel did experience wi-fi issues during the time of your stay. Since then, our wi-fi provider has addressed the problem and internet capabilities have been fully restored. I apologize that internet service was not fully functioning during your stay.
Our breakfast is a, “deluxe” version as hot egg items are offered in addition to a normally, “cold” continental breakfast. However, breakfast items can always be improved upon. Any suggestion you may have would be more than welcome.
Thank you again for staying at the Hotel on Pownal and wish you all the best on your future travels.
Sincerely,
Dirk Wolters
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed here for two nights on our family trip with 3 kids. The first night we booked the family suite which had one room with two doubles and an adjoining room with a queen. The second night we had a smaller room with only two doubles. The room with two doubles woud be fine for a family of four and the family suite was perfect for the 5 of us. The hotel is an old school motel which they have refurbished. They have done a great job with what they had. It could be nicer if they had done a bigger renovation but we really liked it. The continental breakfast in the morning was good . The service at the hotel was the best we had on our trip, and they went out if their way to make sure we had a good stay, thank you to the staff.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Okotok-family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calistoga, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights. An excellent experience. The room was great. Lobby area is spacious with newspapers and sitting areas. Almost a full breakfast included in the room stay. The location is perfect for walking to many of Charlottetown's best restaurants and historic buildings

Room Tip: Hotel is on two stories. We stayed on the first floor, which opened right onto the sidewalk by the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CalistogaCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ksamuel, Manager at The Hotel on Pownal, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
Thank you for all you great comments, we appreciate all feedback and we will pass it on to our dedicated and fantastic team.
Many thanks again.

Keith Samuel
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corning
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed here over night traveling through P.E.I.

The location is perfect. We could walk to a variety of restaurants from low end to very posh righ from our hotel. Just parked our car in the free lot and were set to go.

As mentioned on this site we, too, had a small room. But it was our choice. By following recommendations on Tripadvisor, we received a remarkably low rate that included a very satisfactory above average continental breakfast, free parking as stated, and free wi fi. We had a double bed, not queen, but were quite happy with its quality. This hotel is a step above a B&B, but at B&B rates

The front desk staff was very helpful.

This place fills fast for the above reasons. We recommend you book ahead. Check the usual websites for bargain rates.

Room Tip: There are smaller economical rooms available. Ask first for the rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drfootolympic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

The best part of this hotel is its location, within walking distance of most sights and the waterfront. The room isn't particularly large, but was sufficient, although the bathroom was a decent size. Our rate came with breakfast, which was a typical continental buffet (toast, cereal, pastries), with one or two hot options (like french toast). Free wifi and parking. The air conditioner was old and noisy, but luckily it cooled down enough at night that we didn't need to run it overnight. Would have liked to have seen a fridge in the room. Overall I'd say it's good for short stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edrial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.2 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward
Delta Hotels Prince Edward
#4 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rodd Charlottetown
Rodd Charlottetown
#7 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
#11 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel on Pownal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel on Pownal

Property: The Hotel on Pownal
Address: 146 Pownal St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 3W6, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Charlottetown
#4 Business Hotel in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Hotel on Pownal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a marked fresh, urban style, The Hotel on Pownal is a modern boutique hotel ideal for those who shy away from conventionality. Located in the heart of downtown Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island on historic Pownal Street, we're within a breath of shopping, fabulous dining, and the beautiful Charlottetown waterfront & boardwalk. We invite you to stay at The Hotel on Pownal - Urban Comfort & Conference Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Hotel on Pownal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Islander Guestrooms Hotel
The Hotel On Pownal Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing