We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, good location”
Review of Banbridge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Banbridge Inn
Ranked #11 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed at the Banbridge Inn for one night during our visit to Charlottetown. We chose it based the positive reviews we'd read on TripAdvisor, and were able to book our room at a discounted cost because of a deal the motel was advertising on their TripAdvisor page. Upon check-in, the owner upgraded our room to a suite for the same cost as our initial booking, which was pretty awesome. We were very happy with the suite - it had a full kitchen, small living area, bedroom & bathroom. The property is a bit older, but everything was very clean and comfortable, and the grounds were very nicely maintained. It's about a 5-minute drive to downtown Charlottetown, and very close to dozens of restaurants, coffee shops, and grocery stores. We were very happy with our stay here!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjrb88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
banbridge, Owner at Banbridge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

We do regularly offer specials for our guests that find us on TripAdvisor. Check our page on the TripAdvisor website often as we frequently change our offers and announcements. I am glad you enjoyed the room, the grounds and the location. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about the Banbridge. We hope you will come and stay with again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

216 - 222 of 262 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2012

Not knowing where to stay in Charlottetown, we chose the Banbridge based on the external appearance. It looked well maintained. It was a good decision. The owner was friendly and helpful and we rented a full suite for a pretty reasonable rate. The layout of the suite was perfect with a living area and kitchen and bedroom separated from them so one of us could sleep while the other watched TV or did whatever we wanted. We decided to stay for several days and used it as a base while we biked the nearby rail trail that takes you all over PEI. We could ride our bikes everywhere we wanted to go and had access to all the local stores, big box stores and restaurants. Even biking into Charlottetown was easy with lots of college students making biking visible and safe. The motel was as clean and well kept on the interior as on the exterior. We used the gas grill to make steaks and met some wonderful other guests. I would highly recommend the Banbridge Inn for anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
banbridge, Owner at Banbridge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

I am glad you enjoyed our suites…and our island. Yes, our location and our suites make the Banbridge a great “base camp” for day trips in every direction. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Immaculately clean, meticulously maintained and owned/operated by a friendly and helpful man named Sean who took over the business from his parents in 1989. Very comfortable bed and a terrific kitchenette. Flat screen TV, fold out couch, a bathroom that's clean enough to double as a surgical operating theatre and fast, reliable wifi. What's there not to like? Contrary to one reviewer here, the doors don't open onto the roadside, this place feels incredibly safe (all of PEI does) and the Banbridge actually is an inn. Although breakfast isn't included, there's a Tim Hortons in sight down the road. All in all, I'd certainly stay again. There's a legitimate reason the Banbridge is rated so well.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
banbridge, Owner at Banbridge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Thank you so much for your kind words! More importantly, thank you for your thoughtful and descriptive review. It will certainly be helpful to those travelers that are looking for an accommodation like ours. Yes, we definitely like to maintain a high level of cleanliness at the Banbridge but the only “surgery” being performed here will perhaps be on a PEI lobster (cooked right on the wharf) with some fresh PEI potatoes. I hope you will come and stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

This Inn is very pretty on the outside, very clean interior and very informative staff.
We stayed in a housekeeping unit which had more than we required for 1 night - would be great for guests staying longer. We were pleased with the room, with the exception of no TV in bedroom - only in sitting room where the pull out was for children, who went to bed early so TV was shut off... Also no A/C in main area only in bedroom so those sleeping on pull out found it warm, although a very powerful ceiling fan was in kitchen area. (Again we are spoiled as we have A/C residence). Lots of neighboring sound in the morning but we are early risers so this was not an issue for us... (we were right beside laundromat so this may have been the issue)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
banbridge, Owner at Banbridge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. I am so glad that you enjoyed your room! We have toyed with the idea of putting more TV’s in the suites but most of our guests tell us that they are on vacation to get away from that sort of thing.

And yes, your room was right next to the laundry. It’s for this reason that our staff doesn’t start until 9:00 am. Often people have gone long before that but we don’t like them to start any earlier so that we don’t disturb those that like a later start to the morning. I am glad it was no bother to you.

It was a very hot summer on Prince Edward Island this year and everyone’s A/C was working overtime for sure. I think you will find that if you put that air conditioner on and leave the bedroom door open it will keep the whole suite comfortable cool. It’s actually rated for a room twice that size. A tip for your next stay…which I hope will be soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We were incredibly disappointed that Banbridge did not live up to its name or #2 top rating on Trip Advisor. It is actually a motel on the side of the highway. The rooms are basic with outdated bedspreads and televisions. All units have doors that open to the parking lot and roadside. I did not feel safe, simply based on the layout and location. No breakfast. The staff was very helpful in recommending a great breakfast location (PEI Preserve Company) on the way to the north coast.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank KangarooGal11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
banbridge, Owner at Banbridge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

That’s right. We are not an Inn. There is actually a separate category for B&B’s and Inns on TripAdvisor. We are located in the hotel/motel section of TripAdvisor along with other motels like Comfort Inn, Holiday Inn, and Days Inn etc. The only difference being that we are a smaller, family owned motel. I wish you had mentioned this upon check-inn. There are many beautiful historic Inns in the Charlottetown area and I would have gladly helped you find the type of accommodation you were looking for. I certainly hoped you enjoyed the rest of your stay on our island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We've just returned from spending a week at the Banbridge Inn - we took a group of about 12 couples as the guys were playing in a mens baseball tournament. The Banbridge was just perfect for us.... we primarily stayed in their suites and made great use of the well equipped kitchens and full fridges. The buildings have a lovely veranda that we all used to mingle and socialize and just relax at the end of each day! The green space, BBQ and picnic tables also gave us room to gather and BBQ as a group and space for the few children we had to run! The rooms were immaculately clean and the property is exceptionally well maintained. The best part though are the owners - Sean and Gael were fantastic tour and dining guides and they didn't steer us wrong all week! Everyone in our group thanked me for finding this gem of a property - but the real thanks goes to Sean and Gael for running such a great inn!

Room Tip: Suites #11 and #12 are further from the road so a little more private.... but the whole property is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
banbridge, Owner at Banbridge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

I am so glad that you enjoyed your time here. We certainly enjoyed having you and your group stay with us. It was great to meet you all and it was fun to follow the progress of your very competitive team throughout the tournament. I am so happy that you enjoyed our dining and touring suggestions. Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments. I Hope some of you will find your way back to Prince Edward Island and come stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

The Banbridge Inn is perhaps a more simple accommodation that some on the island - no pool, no restaurant - but it was comfortable, safe, and reasonably priced. We could have stayed across the street for a lot more. The shower was strong and there was plenty of hot water. The two beds were comfy and the area was quiet. Can't beat it. We would stay there again anytime.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAHust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
banbridge, Owner at Banbridge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Yes, new mattresses! Thank for noticing and thanks for taking the time to share your impression of the Banbridge Inn with others.

We are of the opinion that people want a good bed and a hot shower in a clean (and quiet) room and that’s what we strive to provide. It shouldn’t be that difficult for a hotel /motel to provide these basics. And it’s not! You just have to make it a priority. Unfortunately, more often than not, one gets disappointed in one or more of these essentials when traveling.

I have often said to my wife and children when staying in a fancy hotel in some city: “Why are these beds not nearly as comfortable as the beds in our little motel on Prince Edward Island!”

Oh well…I am glad you had a comfortable sleep, a good hot shower and a clean and quiet room at the Banbridge Inn. Come stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
1.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Cornwall
446 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
766 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rodd Royalty
Rodd Royalty
#13 of 23 in Charlottetown
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown
2.5 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
465 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banbridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banbridge Inn

Address: 105 Capital Drive, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1E 1E8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Charlottetown
Price Range: $146 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banbridge Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our charming atmosphere and attention to every detail guarantees your stay will be comfortable and unique. We feature tastefully decorated and well equipped suites that are ideal for self-catering holidays, extended stays or just the night. Cozy standard rooms are also available. Our convenient location, comfortable rooms, and reasonable rates make Banbridge Inn a great choice for your vacation. Come stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Banbridge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banbridge Inn Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing