We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good basic lodging”
Review of Queens Arms Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Queens Arms Inn
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Northborough, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
500 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Good basic lodging”
Reviewed September 30, 2010

The motel is a bit dated, but it is clean, very good beds, has microwave and refrigerator. The price is resonablle. The staff is very nice and helpful. Breakfast is adequate. Good internet.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonSkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    20
    33
    22
    19
See reviews for
36
31
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2010

It's a 3 star place, don't expect alot. Beds were comfortable. Lobby staff were nice. Pool was very warm.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IckyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Breton Island, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2010

stayed at this hotel for the night, got to hotel at 12pm check in wasnt until 3pm, told breakfast was until 11:30, so we left for the day, told them 2 adults 3 kids, 1 shampoo, soap ect. toilet was plugged, breakfast was doughnuts,coffee, toast ect. not anything you would stay for IF it wasn't closed at 10:20 when the kids got there! management was rude & not helpful. 8 people trying check out all at the same time with only one person working front desk, and didn't seem to know there was a mall accross the road, or driving distance to Summerside. would not recomend this hotel to anyone !!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bottom_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Charlottetown hotels

Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2010

We checked in late last night, just looking for a bed for the night. There are five of us, Dad, Mom, two young children and one grown up 'child'. They had a room with three queen beds which worked out fine. Access to the rooms was from around the back of the hotel through an outside door that, although it had the card pass, did not lock. The hallway had a slightly unpleasant odor from some kind of cleaner/deodorizer. The room was spacious, relatively clean and suited our purpose just fine.
The rate was $119, but I got it for $107 (plus tax) by showing my CAA card.
Continental breakfast was available in morning. Very basic. I could tell by looking at the coffee that it was too weak for my taste, but luckily there is a Timmy's across the highway.
Overall, it was okay. I don't know what the rates are in the rest of Charlottetown, but I guess it was reasonable considering we are three adults and two kids.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CN437, Owner at Queens Arms Inn, responded to this review, June 14, 2010
Hi!

I just wanted to thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback and have to admit, the coffee is made on the lighter side so as to suit the variety of preferences for all coffee drinkers out there. Perhaps a stronger brew for the morning get-go?

I'm glad the room suited your needs and the price was to your liking. We promote ourselves as an affordable no-frills alternative to the more expensive, full amenities hotels surrounding us. Our prices are very competitive, in fact the lowest rates in Charlottetown for our star rating!

Your comments about the door and the hall to the room were added to our maintenance list for inspection.

Thank you for choosing the Econo Lodge Charlottetown!

Sincerely,

Georgina Bassett
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 15, 2010

Saturday May 15th, 2010

I see many posts on here by 'management' about changes - ignore them.

We came through in the early morning. We had stayed in an Econolodge near Calgary - the staff was so great and we had a blast. This was the extreme opposite experience but it was the sole reason we picked Econolodge.

The place was so poorly taken care of - for the first time in my life I want my money back.

We showed up late at night, there was one car parked (suggesting only one room was taken). We asked for a room for the night and they sent us 'around back' and gave us confusing instructions to find the room.

Break down:

When we did find the room - the building stank of Paint (they painted that morning in the bathrooms - it was still wet).
- The shampoo and conditioner were missing.
- The floor squeaks (very minor)
- The bathroom floor was covered in dirt, paint and wood chips.
- No garbage bags in either garbage.
- The bathroom garbage was still full
- Old soap bar was sitting in the sink
- The carpet dirty (noticibly) everywhere
- The televisions remote was broken; only changed volume (power, tv, channels, etc didnt work) and most channels were grainy.
- The alarm clock did not work, it wouldn't change (the hour/min buttons were broken).
- Nowhere to plug in your laptop (etc) without unplugging a lamp.
- The overhead light was burnt out.
- The toilet was dirty
- The coffee stir-sticks were dirty, used, and put back
- The staff started slamming doors and cleaning the rooms around us at 8am (minor)

Now the plus sides, it cost 90$, the sheets were clean at least and the lady at the desk (from the night before) was super sweet and nice.

Would I ever stay here again? Not in Charlettetown :) With so many places cheaper and better nearby, avoid this one!

It might have 'new management' but from reading the reviews it has 'the same problems'.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L_Summers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CN437, General Manager at Queens Arms Inn, responded to this review, May 17, 2010
Good morning,

I am writing in response to your review on May 15, 2010. My name is Georgina and I am the General Manager of the motel that you stayed at a couple of days ago. I was disappointed and devastated to learn, through Trip Advisor, of your experience at my motel and have spoken to everyone involved to find out what went wrong during your stay with us on May 14, 2010. Here is what I learned:

1. The room you checked into was out of order. It was undergoing spring cleaning and repairs (why there was fresh paint and caulking, etc in the room). I am sincerely sorry you were checked into a room that was out of service, I apologize for the mistake in not taking the room out of order and had the front desk been made aware after check in, you would have been immediately moved to a clean room.
2. In the morning during check out when the front desk staff asked how your stay was, had they been made aware at that time of your experience, they would have offered a refund and an apology, as no one should have to stay in a room under going maintenance.
3. Out of respect for our guests, our staff do not begin work before 9am. Unfortunately, if other guests were making noise, I apologize and am looking into fixing the doors that were closing loudly.
4. This is a family business. Run by the same family for almost 40 years. I am the daughter of the owner and have returned to take over from previous management. I am dedicated to restoring our motel as the leader in hospitality on Prince Edward Island. Year after year, our guests, our friends who have become family, returned to our motel because we offered excellence in customer service, in affordable accommodations and most importantly, clean, well maintained rooms. Had my phone calls been returned, you would have learned that although the opportunity was not given for us to address your experience, I would like to refund you the entire stay.

Customer satisfaction is paramount and I am truly sorry of your experience. Should you require anything else, please feel free to call me at any time.

Sincerely,

Georgina Bassett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
Reviewed May 2, 2010

Very friendly and helpful staff. An excellent place for an overnight stop. Satisfied our needs.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldfartman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darmouth
1 review
Reviewed March 14, 2010

We booked our reservation online and found that the prices were compartible to all other locations. We found that the rooms were average and very clean. The front desk staff was good with directions and things to do. The continental breakfast was very plain....
We will be back for this summer for the country festival that is in Cavendish, since it is only a 25 minute drive from there and the rates will be a cheaper than staying out there.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miabellachamoun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CN437, General Manager at Queens Arms Inn, responded to this review, March 16, 2010
Thank you for your review dated March 14th, 2010. We are striving to improve our customers experiences and your feedback allows us the opportunity to meet the needs our guests.

Our continental breakfasts are changing. Fresh fruit and yogurt are now offered and we are working on a new breakfast menu in the coming months!

Thanks again!

Econo Lodge Charlottetown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.4 mi away
Rodd Royalty
Rodd Royalty
#12 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#4 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rodd Charlottetown
Rodd Charlottetown
#7 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown
2.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Charlottetown
BEST WESTERN Charlottetown
#19 of 23 in Charlottetown
3.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
2.3 mi away
Suites of Euston
Suites of Euston
#17 of 23 in Charlottetown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Arms Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Arms Inn

Property: Queens Arms Inn
Address: 20 Lower Malpeque Rd, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1E 1R4, Canada (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Queens Arms Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, the Queens Arms Inn has 62 rooms you. Choose between your standard 1 Queen Size bed, 2 double (or queen) size beds or 3 double beds. Relax in a King suite with a Jacuzzi or stay for a while in our 1 bedroom Kitchenette suite. Include in your stay is free continental breakfast, free wi-fi and free parking. Most of our rooms include fridge and microwave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Queens Arms Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Charlottetown
Econo Lodge Charlottetown
Charlottetown Econo Lodge
Queens Arms Inn Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing