We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay,Excellent Deal, A True Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Canada's Best Value Inn & Suites
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Reviewed August 23, 2010

After spending my first night in Charlottetown at one of the other Inns, I decided to check out Canada's Best Value Inn. The Inn we had stayed in prior to was no frills,with a small TV and no pool. When I inquired about vacancies at Canada's Best Value Inn, the hostess was quite polite and mentioned that there was a few vacant rooms available. I mentioned that my partner wanted a clean spacious room. The room we selected had two queen size beds, and a 32" TV. The Inn also had an outdoor pool, free parking, free complimentary breakfast, a fridge in your room, all for the price of $99 per night which I thought was reasonable. My partner and I decided to check out our room and we were quite impressed and happy so I decided to go back to the front desk and book it for three nights instead of one. In addition, there was free internet but it was somewhat slow.
Canada's Best Value Inn also had a secret eatery in the basement called The Jug. The Jug was an incredibly friendly place with decent prices. A pitcher of Alexander Keith's draft beer costs $ 12.75. It also has daily specials. Fish and chips ( three pieces of haddock and fries with cole slaw cost just under $ 12 which is an very good price. The fish was excellent as was the texture of the batter. The only thing they did not have was malted vinegar. My partner ordered their chicken sandwich on a bun and she mentioned to me it was the best she had ever had....and she has been in some of the best restaurants in the world. I took one bite of her sandwich and I must concur, it was incredibly tasty. On the Thursday we were there, the special was spaghetti with garlic bread....the cost...$ 3.50...unbelievable.......and great for families who are on a budget. By the way, on Friday they had "all you can eat" steamers - 4 p.m. to 7 p.m.....FREE. Would I recommend this place to my friends? ABSOLUTELY....it was an amazing experience.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuanBigJuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 245 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2010

We booked online and were not advised that the hotel was undergoing renovations at the time. we booke dthe room with a jacuzzi-which was nice and large BUT really bad lighting. They apparently have not heard of black out drapes because they had filmy see through drapes--we were at the front of the hotel with the sign right outside our window so we had that light shining in all night long. There was a little patio off our room where we could sit but again it was at the front of the hotel so we got all the noise from the traffic. Also it was on the 2nd floor--this would not have been a problem it there had been an elevator. We had to lug 2 large suitcases, cooler, and all the rest of our various stuff up and down the stairs. Also there was only a small 3 drawer dresser to put all our clothes in--we ended up living out of the suitcases.
It was close to everything and there was plenty of parking so that was good but the 'continental breakfast' was definately worth missing. The room where it was held was constantly messy and dirty and they had run out of everything no matter what time you got down there. We only tried it once and then paid to eat out the rest of the time.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelmama1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

Booked this place online, and if all of the information had been disclosed at booking, I would not have stayed there. Turns out that half the rooms in the property have been renovated, the other half not. Be forewarned, if you prepay your reservation, you'll find yourself in an unrenovated room, dating from the 1950s. The beds have changed, the rooms are dated, and for the price they are charging, it's a rip off. While having breakfast every morning, the same scene played out repeatedly, with guests coming up, complaining, and leaving. The staff listened to their concerns, but it seems that management has figured that they can milk the customer. Stay elsewhere, you'll be happier.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ttaylo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
memcinnis, Manager at Canada's Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property!
When booking online, it is always recommended to call the hotel to make any special requests such as kitchenette, jacuzzi, or two queen beds. Front desk staff would NEVER hold back ANY information about the hotel, especially when it comes to the condition of our renovated/non-renovated rooms. All guests who phone in a reservation and request the room with the cheapest rate are informed of the condition of the economy rooms -- they are dated, but are clean and well-worth one of the cheapest rates in Charlottetown.
If guests prepay online for one of the economy rooms with two double beds (at our lowest rate) they will find themselves placed in one of our economy rooms in the not-yet-renovated section of the hotel. We have many guests who prepay online, choose a room with two queen beds, kitchenette, jacuzzi, etc. (at a higher rate) and are placed in the appropriate room.
Prepaying does NOT always place you in a non-renovated room. If you're considering booking online, PLEASE consider phoning the hotel to get any information you may be uncertain about!
Thanks again for the review.
Kind Regards,
Canadas Best Value Inn -- Charlottetown, PE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2010

My husband and 10-year-old son stayed in a recently renovated kitchenette unit. For the price ($109), it was perfect. Even though the exterior looks outdated, the interior is completely redone. Very comfortable beds, flat-screen TV, clean room. Lots of closet space, mirrors. Ideal for sports teams as there is complimentary breakfast and open area outside to play. The children enjoyed the outdoor heated pool but complained that the bottom felt slimy. Would definitely recommend. However, make sure you ask for renovated room. I would never stay in the older units; they're pretty scary.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klcrossman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
memcinnis, Manager at Canada's Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2010

Thank you for writing a review of our property. We appreciate very much that you would take the time to write positive comments, especially since we have worked so hard throughout the Spring months to make extensive improvements to our accommodations.
Don't be a stranger! We look forward to seeing you back on the Island!
Kind Regards,
Canadas Best Value Inn -- Charlottetown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

When we got to our room, I come out of the washroom and several workmen were on our second floor balconey.. quite un-nerving.
then at 1 a.m. a fight broke out between a man and woman in the next room. the physical confrontation and screaming continued even after the front desk clerk visited the room twice.. Instead of kicking the people out she kept talking to them.. around 4 the noise stopped. In the morning the clerk said she didn't want to kick them out.. So she would rather have them come back then other guests.. make sense... not.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weddy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2010

We stayed there 2 nights. Close to downtown with car, but too far to walk. Cheapest deal in town for 89.99 a night. We stayed in a newly renovated room. From the outside this looks like a motel, inside looks like a very nice hotel room. Great beds, great window coverings, great colors. Kitchenette with fridge, microwave, sink, coffeemaker and tea. Nice, modern bathroom but without any towel holders and an old sink faucet.. Mirrors everywhere, great. Lighting in bedroom totally inadequate. Best thing is the little patio in the back of the room, with sliding door, table and two chairs. However, the view is not great but at least it was green and clean. Super TV. Desk with chair was good. Little table with 2 chairs also in room. Still spacious. Air conditioning good but loud. Breakfast mediocre. Reception staff unfriendly and clueless. Would go there again for room and price. Had no problem with road noise or neighbors.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ocea_nixe3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mathomson18, Manager at Canada's Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2010

Thank you so much for your honest and in-depth review of our hotel. We appreciate your comments and will use them to better our service in the future.
It's great to hear such positive feedback on the newly-renovated rooms. The new owners and their employees have all worked very hard over the past few months to have them ready for the Summer season! There are still a few small steps to take, but the progress is more than apparent.
With new owners and renovations come new sytems, policies and employees. We regret that the front-desk staff did not leave a good first impression for your stay, but we are certain that with time and experience these newcomers to our family will develop into high-quality representatives of the hotel.
We look forward to seeing you down the road!

Kind Regards,
Canada's Best Value Inn -- Charlottetown, PE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled solo
Thank Audreylkparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kbmcinnis, Front Office Manager at Canada's Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.1 mi away
Rodd Royalty
Rodd Royalty
#12 of 23 in Charlottetown
571 reviews
2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Cornwall
446 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#15 of 23 in Charlottetown
285 reviews
2.4 mi away
Charlottetown Inn & Conference Center
2.3 mi away
Rodd Charlottetown
Rodd Charlottetown
#8 of 23 in Charlottetown
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canada's Best Value Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canada's Best Value Inn & Suites

Address: 20 Capital Dr, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1E 1E7, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Charlottetown
Price Range: $60 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Canada's Best Value Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful property is newly-renovated (2010) to meet the needs of all travelers to Prince Edward Island. Standard rooms, standard suites, and jacuzzi suites are available. Continental breakfast and free wi-fi are included. On-site restaurant/pub is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Canada's Best Value Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canada`s Best Value Inn And Suites
Canada`s Best Value Hotel Charlottetown
Rodd Confederation Hotel
Canada's Best Value Inn & Suites Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing