We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Worth the Money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Canada's Best Value Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Canada's Best Value Inn & Suites
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Charlottetown
Digby, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worth the Money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Room was OK. It was clean and the bathroom was nicely updated. The beds were old and hard, thank goodness there was 2! Furniture itself was outdated and past its prime anyways. But it was clean. There was a nice outdoor pool and sitting area. There was also a resturaunt on site but we ate elsewhere, We enjoyed the continental breafast in the morning, it was wonderful. You could make your own pancakes!

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a room close to the desk. We stayed in the seperate building out back and it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 7600laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy L, Manager at Canada's Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for adding your comments on your recent stay with us. I agree in that our Queen rooms are more spacious and have the extras that our doubles do not have. We get alot positive feedback on our patios and layout of our Queens. Our double rooms are smaller but they get the same attention to detail as far as cleaning as any room. We do get alot positive comments on our breakfast and pub. I hope to see you back with us on your next visit to pei.

Nancy Leslie...Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    62
    34
    8
    16
See reviews for
69
61
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Swindon
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

A basic room, but everything was in working order and the staff were helpful and polite. What more could you ask for? The breakfast was very good, especially the waffle machine! The on-site bar/restaurant was excellent for basic food e.g. burgers and pizza.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robertsladeuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy L, Manager at Canada's Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to add your comments. I am glad you enjoyed your recent stay with us. The waffle machine is a big hit with alot of our guests and our pub draws both the hotel guests and alot local workers. I hope your next visit to PEI you will look us up.

Nancy Leslie...Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pearl, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights. Check in was a breeze and the staff were friendly. I like that we could park right in front of our room. The beds were comfortable and the air conditioning worked well. The bathroom was one of the nicest ones I've ever seen. I found the room to be very clean and updated. The pool was okay, but we couldn't find any pool towels. It's in a great location. There was a flat screen tv, microwave, sink and hair dryer. We would definately stay there again if we go back to PEI.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy L, Manager at Canada's Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for adding your comments on your recent stay with us. Our owners have put alot work in upgrades over the last couple years and its nice to see comments like this. Customer service is also a standard we hold everyone accountable for every day. We do have a bin in the pool area with clean towels however the signage we may have to look into to ensure all guests know they are there. Location is a big drawing facor that we gets lots of positive feedback. I do hope your next visit to PEI you will look us up again.

Nancy Leslie
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ma
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Hotel was wonderful. You offer continental breakfast, be prepared to deliver. Too tiny space,....
No morning newspapers, anywhere. Not at the front desk, the breakfast room, not even any newspaper machines outside the front door, I have coins, I can buy a newspaper, it 's not a contest. A nice budget hotel, be one.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank racer29fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy L, Manager at Canada's Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to add your comments on your recent stay with us. We are taking your comments into consideration and looking at re-arranging the breakfast for a better flow.
It is unfortunate that on your days with us, our newspapers were in great demand as usually
there are still some left at the end of breakfast as we realize that having a cup of coffee and reading the paper is a great way to start your day. Again, I am glad your overall stay with us was good and hope when you venture back to PEI, you will look us up.

Nancy Leslie
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Right from the booking on the telephone with Doug to our checkout the staff were amazing!
We had a King suite and it was absolutely beautiful and reasonably priced...I felt like the staff were family, they went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Special thanks to Doug who made sure we had everything we needed and went out of his way to accommodate, and to the breakfast staff who were very patient even though many ppl were still getting the complimentary breakfast well past the 10 am cutoff! The best staff in a hotel that we have encountered yet.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy L, Manager at Canada's Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you so much for adding your comments to the site. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I will be sure to pass on to Doug your kind words. We are constantly reviewing our ways to make sure our guests get the best possible service while staying with us. We do get alot of compliments on our spacious King Suites. Thanks again and be sure to look us up on your next stay in PEI.

Nancy Leslie
Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I spent 3 weeks at this hotel. It was an awsome experience. All the staff I came in contact will were polite and friendly and went above and beyond for our family. Doug and Sheila on the front desk were the best. Dave, Grant and John with maintenance was also available and eager to do anything we needed. Dave the cook, delivered amazing meals on a daily basis. Housekeeping staff were awesome. The staff at the Jug restuarant and pub were second to none. I enjoyed my stay and would recommed this hotel and staff highly

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy L, Manager at Canada's Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you very much for your kinds words. The staff here are very eager to please our guests. Our pub has received many verbal compliments and is known all over PEI for its food quality. Its nice to show our staff thou, that out guests complimented our menu as well as rooms and service. Doug and Shellagh are top clerks at making guests feel at home. Dave, our head Chef takes pride in his job and every meal he makes, he delivers like he was serving VIP's. Our maintenance department also does not like to see any guest unhappy and will go out of their way to ensure everything is to your satisfaction. We really do enjoy getting to know our guests and try to make them fell like its their home away from home. We all hope to see you back here on your next visit to PEI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

My family and I stayed at the hotel and found the staff to be the best we have ever met. They were helpful friendly and went above and beyond. I would like to thank the entire staff for our wonderful stay especially Grant from maintenance.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweetkitty67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy L, Manager at Canada's Best Value Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind words regarding our staff and hotel. We take great pride in trying to please our guests. I will be sure to pass on these comments to everyone. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back on your next visit to PEI
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.1 mi away
Rodd Royalty
Rodd Royalty
#11 of 24 in Charlottetown
4.0 of 5 stars 484 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#16 of 24 in Charlottetown
3.5 of 5 stars 185 reviews
2.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
#12 of 24 in Charlottetown
4.0 of 5 stars 232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown
2.5 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 24 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 stars 625 reviews
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Charlottetown
BEST WESTERN Charlottetown
#19 of 24 in Charlottetown
3.0 of 5 stars 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canada's Best Value Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canada's Best Value Inn & Suites

Property: Canada's Best Value Inn & Suites
Address: 20 Capital Dr, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1E 1E7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Canada's Best Value Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful property is newly-renovated (2010) to meet the needs of all travelers to Prince Edward Island. Standard rooms, standard suites, and jacuzzi suites are available. Continental breakfast and free wi-fi are included. On-site restaurant/pub is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Canada's Best Value Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canada`s Best Value Hotel Charlottetown
Canada`s Best Value Inn And Suites
Rodd Confederation Hotel
Canada's Best Value Inn & Suites Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing