We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food;great atmosphere!”
Review of The Churchill Arms

The Churchill Arms
Ranked #17 of 251 Restaurants in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Prince Edward Island's only authentic British Pub, located in Charlottetown. Our Pub features British Style Curries and Traditional British Dishes. Join us for great Beer, Food and Service!
Charlottetown, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great food;great atmosphere!”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

if you're looking for a great place to eat in Charlottetown,definitely give Churchill arms on Queen Street a try! There is a ton of choices on their menu-curry is one of their specialties, and many people also order the fish and chips.The portions are huge, and they do have lunch size options, which are plenty for even the biggest appetite!
The atmosphere is great-there is any age group, from baby to granny.On Wednesday evening if you're planning to go there-beware! They have the 2 for 1 curry special on then, and the place is jam packed!!
It may not look like much from the outside even if you can spot it(it has a hidden side door that may make you think it's not a place for your average joe), but don't let that fool you!
You'll be glad you ventured here! Many people are addicted to this place, as well as for the food as for the great atmosphere.(Remember it's a pub, so don't expect quiet atmosphere and stuffy waiters! Lively music and often there is live music, as well as trivia on the go there.So if noise is a problem, avoid or go there mid-afternoon, when the lunch crowd has dissapeared, and the supper crowd had not yet landed1)

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelnotoften
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    65
    27
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Charlottetown, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“currie”
Reviewed April 22, 2012

the best currie and chips on pei...the fries are a meal unto themselves

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank kdbrown1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuujjuaq, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Simple Restaurant But An Absolute Delight Every Time.”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

I discovered the Churchill arms about 4 years ago and it is among my favourite restaurants in Charlottetown. I have eaten here too many times to count, usually at least once a month. I have yet to have a bad experience and everyone that I bring here always leaves very impressed and return. It is a quaint little restaurant in the style of a British pub with a great atmosphere and seating. Service is consistently great, as are the prices and specials.

The Churchill Arms hands down has the best curry in the city and I highly recommend you try it. The curry is offered in four types including Madras, Korma, and Tikka Masala, and butter chicken. All are great depending on how spicy you like it. The fish and chips are probably the best I have ever had. You get a massive real fillet that usually is longer than the plate and homemade fries. I don't exagerate the size, two pieces shouldn't even be an option on the menu. Absolutely mouth-watering.

In closing this is an excellent restaurant and worth a visit if you are in Charlottetown. It may not be a super fancy spot, but it more than makes up for that with the food and service. If you want a nice simple spot with a good atmosphere and food, this is the place for you. We will absolutely continue to come back to one of our favourite restaurants again and again.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IslanderOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“MichaelDinesForYou”
Reviewed February 9, 2012

I asked for two pieces of fish and was told ones enough!!!
BOY, Was she right!!!!!!!Fabulous HUGE piece of fish!!!!!
The place to go in P.E.I. for Fish & Chips!!!!

Helpful?
Thank MichaelDiningForYou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Quebec
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bad service and OK food. Not a winning combination!”
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Had read about the Churchill Arms on the Web and my husband was eager to try their much-lauded curry. Unfortunately, the food was just OK which did nothing to compensate for the incredibly bad service and attitude of our waitress, who simply could not be bothered... The pub is small but very quaint and I would go for a pint but would not waste time on a meal unless I had hours to spend... We sat inside but patrons on the patio were largely ignored (even more than us).

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bvandoorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Churchill Arms also viewed

Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to The Churchill Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing