We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Waters edge. If its raining”

Water's Edge Resto Bar Grill
Ranked #66 of 247 Restaurants in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $29
Cuisines: American, Bar, Canadian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Drinks, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
77 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Waters edge. If its raining”
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

My wife and i were looking forward to dining in the "new" dining room at waters edge. Kind of a disappointment. The tables are cafeteria style and on row and very dim. The food is acceptable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wadeclements1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben T, Manager at Water's Edge Resto Bar Grill, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. I apologize that our decor may not be up to your liking, we have gone with a more modern and approachable look that many of our guests enjoy. The restaurant lights are on dimmers and I apologize if they were set to low for your comfort. Thank you again for your feedback, and I hope that we have the opportunity to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    33
    11
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Harcourt, Canada
2 reviews
“chowder to nachos”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Went from Maine to New Brunswick,Nova Scotia but the best chowder on our Trip was at the Delta hands down.The nachos were great the meal was so good we had to go back again before we left.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank troy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Texas
Level Contributor
468 reviews
304 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We really loved the creative menu, excellent preparation, delicious food, and attentive service. Their seafood chowder is about the best we've ever tasted. It has won awards, and we can certainly understand why. We heartily recommend it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fbglove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Overpriced Skimpy portions”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Had dinner with my daughter at the By the Water's Edge Restaurant and Pub this evening. We were very disappointed in our meal. My daughter worked in fine dining establishments in Charlottetown for a number of years so we know what fine dining is about and this is not it.
The "complimentary",as the server called it, bread was a deep fried bannock morsel - hardly even a mouthful.

We were shocked when our entrees arrived at our table. Our entire meals served on full size dinner plates took up a five inch circle in the centre. Absolutely pitiful. The food was barely lukewarm. Before ordering, my daughter asked how the ground bison was served. The server described it as sliced and well-presented, not a pattie. When it arrived, it was a round ball sitting in the middle of the plate. The vegetable servings on each plate were scarcely larger than a toonie and my pork tenderloin consisted of 3 toonie-size half inch thick medallions.

We had eaten in the Delta Prince Edward Selkirk Dining Room many times over the years when
and had never been disappointed, but we will definitely not be returning or recommending this new restaurant to anyone.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank susan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben T, Manager at Water's Edge Resto Bar Grill, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Susan,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. I apologize for the missed communication during your meal. Our menu is a Small Plates (Tapas) menu with Big Plate options (entrees). The items you ordered are considered small plates and that is why the portion size is smaller. We are sorry that this information was not relayed to your properly, because we are happy to serve you full sized entree portions if you wished.

Thank you for the feedback, we apologize for the errors made that night, and we hope to see you again soon, so that you can try one of our delicious entrees.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Your order will probably include a surprise--and not a good one”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

So some of the food at this place is delicious but there were repeated weird experiences that earned a negative review. Any one alone might seem like a fluke--they spilled soda on me, forgot to put the sauce on a dish and served sausage that was seriously undercooked (I'm not a crank, the server and kitchen agreed on that). And as they are responsible for room service at the hotel, be warned that if you order four items from the menu, they might not have three of them even if they might be easily purchased at a convenience store. Even so I kept going back for the French toast--but sometimes they give you syrup with that and sometimes they don't and when you ask for syrup they say "that would be too sweet." This is maple syrup country, people. Pour it on.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank monkeypuzzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Water's Edge Resto Bar Grill also viewed

Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to Water's Edge Resto Bar Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing