We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now called Water's Edge”

Water's Edge Resto Bar Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Water's Edge Resto Bar Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #77 of 251 Restaurants in Charlottetown
Price range: $9 - $31
Cuisines: Canadian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Now called Water's Edge”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

This restaurant is in the Delta Prince Edward hotel and is recently renovated -- expanded too, I think. I was at the hotel for a week and had several meals in this restaurant. For breakfast, my favorite was eggs in a nest, with potato pancakes and smoked salmon slices. Yum! Vegetable frittatas were tasty, too. At lunch and dinner, seafood chowder was super, fish and chips were very tasty. Service was always very friendly and welcoming.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Regina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    34
    11
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Charlottetown, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“New Year's Eve 2012”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Well lets start of by saying very disappointing. Dinner was cold, depressing atmosphere.The menu was lacking creativity for a New Year's Eve dinner.The service was so slow even with only five tables to serve with 2-3 waiters/ waitresses.To end the meal with the worst chocolate brownie dessert.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ghurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
“Delightful surprise in a kitschy hotel lobby and on an island short of sophisticated cooking”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We arrived at dinner at the Selkerk restaurant on August 20, 2012 in the generically grand lobby of the Delta Hotel with singularly low expectations. The place was huge and nearly empty and without a single window to the beautiful historic neighborhood and waterfront surrounding it; we’d had serious doubts when the owner of the B&B we were staying at recommended it to us. Boy were we wrong.

We had come to PEI on a pilgrimage of sorts for great seafood, and we have eaten at great fish restaurants in New York and San Francisco. But this place stood out for its inventive cuisine on an island that has great fish but seemingly few sophisticated restaurants.

The chef, Olivia, prepared a six-course tasting menu for about $50 a person before tax and drinks, with full license to cook whatever she felt like preparing, but with a focus on seafood. Highlights included a wonderful seafood chowder of bay scallops, salmon and a white fish, topped with a froth of foam and accompanied by a sweet grilled butterflied prawn; a salad of very thinly sliced, impossibly tender duck breast, roasted hazlenuts, arugula, a cube of cranberry gelee and a hint of plum sauce dressing; and a seared sea scallop halved and stuffed with a slice of grilled pineapple. The dishes were creative but let the high quality of the ingredients shine through, and portions were surprisingly generous for a tasting menu. With the exception of a lobster fish cake, the dishes were not oversalted, which we have found to be a common problem with high-end restaurant cuisine.

Our only serious critique for the chef centered on the entrée: slices of roasted pork tenderloin topped with a cherry tomato relish and served over thinly sliced local potatoes and carmelized onions. The potatoes were remarkable, but the pork was overcooked and sliced too thickly. We also found the desserts to be completely incongruous with the rest of the meal. They were overpoweringly sweet, sat heavy in the stomach, and were excessive in every way.

We ended at the restaurant on a chance recommendation from the owner of the Colonial Charm Inn we were staying at. But with so few customers and a setting like this, we can’t imagine such a talented chef will stick around for much longer. If you’re in Charlottetown, get over there while you still can.

[Also posted on Yelp]

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good restaurant, a little expensive and can't be in a rush....”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I often go there for our meetings for lunch. The food is above average (not fast food style) but the prices are a little higher and you can't really be in a rush when you eat there.

If you have time and want to sit comfortably with friends and are not too worry about spending a little more for your meals, this is a great option.

Francis

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChevreuilJKF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An amazing surprise”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

After a long day decided to stay in and eat in the hotel restaurant. What an amazing meal. The chowder was top notch loaded with fresh prepared seafood, melt in the mouth moist... the butter poached lobster to die food. Excellent service and the perfect way to end a business day...

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aaron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Water's Edge Resto Bar Grill also viewed

Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to Water's Edge Resto Bar Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing