We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great patio”

Castello's Ristorante & Pizzeria
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Canada
Level Contributor
300 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“great patio”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

This is a lovely street to dine outside in the summer.The food is fairly consistent and the pizzas are pretty good.The caprese salad is generous,and the wine well priced.However someone needs to teach them how to make a negroni,the one had was watered down,skimpy and uninspired.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 57chef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    19
    7
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“cold”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

The staff were warm, but the food and ambiance were not. I could tell there was something wrong with the mussels when they were still in the waitress' hand. They looked like they had been cooked the day before. I tried one, and sent them back. Too bad, because the pizzas we ordered as our main course were very good. Didn't really enjoy the meal though as it was cold and drafty in the room. I wore my jacket and cap during the meal, as did several other patrons. Felt great to get out on the sidewalk thereafter, even though it was only 17 degrees outside.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank getme2abeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
54 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great lunch menu...yum!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Four of us had lunch outside at Catellos before flying back home. The lunch specials are about $10.00 and include a choice of personal pizza, panzerotti or pasta and come with a salad. Both the pizza and panzerotti were delicious and the interesting tasty mixed salad included blackberries, blueberries and shaved parmegiano cheese. We will keep this restaurant in mind on our next visit to PEI and go for dinner.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank skysthelimitOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very patchy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Good location, great outside patio, and good music from the band nearby; helpful waitresses but the chef had no idea what a 'carbonara' is. First attempt was some watery spaghetti with a few lardons on top - no sauce at all. Second attempt had a bit of eggy sauce but no cheese or pepper, so all pretty tasteless. But they did give a discount on the bill. But our friends had good saltimbocca a good pizza. So not all bad

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mang0uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good Luck Finding Service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

My daughter and I were out and decided to stop at Castello's for a light lunch and from my experience from the summer of 2012, their pizza is the best, most authentic-made on the island, as it is the very few establishments that have a real pizza oven. Unfortunately for us, and to the complete hunger annoyance we felt, we waited 15 minutes to be seated on the patio and then an additional 20 minutes to receive a menu. From all appearances and the obvious lack of concern from the servers it would be an extended period of time before we would ever see another server to take our order, so instead we left our menus on the table and ventured over to Fishbones outdoor patio, which was an even bigger disappointment than never being waited on at Castello's.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Doreen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castello's Ristorante & Pizzeria also viewed

Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Stratford, Charlottetown
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing