We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Eclectic Place”

Confederation Centre of the Arts
Book In Advance
More Info
$986.51*
and up
5-Day Prince Edward Island Trip from Halifax Including Green Gables Heritage...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Confederation Centre of the Arts is a national art centre showcasing the best in Canadian visual and performing arts. Stretching over an entire city block the Centre houses a world class art gallery, Mavor's restaurant, a locally supplied gift shop, three expansive conference rooms, and a beautiful 1200 seat theatre. A library, an outdoor amphitheater, and spacious outdoor courtyard are also located on site. The Mack theatre is owned and operated by the Centre which is located steps away.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Eclectic Place”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

This place in the heart of Charlottetown has many delights. We viewed interesting art in the gallery there, spent time in the gift shop, and saw a wonderful musical, Evangeline. This was the world premiere of this musical, based on the epic poem by Henry Wadsworth Longfellow, and it was professionally executed in every way. This was truly an enriching theatre experience. There is a full service restaurant available in the centre, Mavor's, and Victoria Row is the street alongside the centre where one may find many other restaurants. We highly recommend Castellos after having an excellent dinner there.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank george_shepard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    600
    197
    30
    11
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Miramichi, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Musical”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The musical Evangeline was excellent. All performers were great singers. It was a fabulous evening. The only negative thing I have to say is that the Centre needs to replace its seats with new larger more comfortable seats. Apart from that, they're perfect!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Don_Alexis2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestservicesCCOA, Manager at Confederation Centre of the Arts, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Don

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed the performance of Evangeline. It is indeed a powerful performance and one that we are extremely proud to have on our stage. We certainly appreciate your feedback in regards to the seats and are excited to say that in late December we will be continuing renovations to the main level of the Orchestra level of the theatre which will include all new seats in the theatre. We are thrilled about this, and can't wait to showcase these changes for the 2014 season. We look forward to your return.

Cheers
Joy
Manager of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent musicals!”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Last month, saw "Evangeline" (a brand new musical) and "Anne of Green Gables" at the Confederation Centre of the Arts. Both shows were well written and performed by very talented casts. Viewing from the center section of the orchestra fairly close to the stage was perfect. Before the show and during intermission, one can browse through their delightful gift shop, or grab something to munch at the concession stand. Restrooms are large and clean. This is a focal point for visitors to Charlottetown - for me, the shows are a must-see.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank krollrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Spacious, Convenient and Modern”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

The best part was that it connected to the Confederation Mall on a very rainy day. I stumbled upon this fact whilst simply trying to dry out.
Once inside, I found two art exhibits (one in a very spacious gallery), the other in the hall; tables and chairs to rest in a quiet environment, and a lovely gift shop (although pricey). The washrooms were available (and clean).
This is a well thought-out design and an inviting space.
I did not have time to see a performance, but I will put that on my "bucket list."

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lynn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberley, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Try seeing the new musical "Evangeline"”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This venue is a source of pride to the locals and it should be. We were fortunate to see the new musical Evangeline and found the acting, musical score, singing and sets to be first-rate. The way that the different scenes are presented and changed is innovative and served to keep flow of the play moving at a steady pace. This show is well worth seeing.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mikey243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Confederation Centre of the Arts also viewed

Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Cavendish, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to Confederation Centre of the Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing