We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure Entertainment”

Confederation Centre of the Arts
Book In Advance
More Info
$986.51*
and up
5-Day Prince Edward Island Trip from Halifax Including Green Gables Heritage...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Confederation Centre of the Arts is a national art centre showcasing the best in Canadian visual and performing arts. Stretching over an entire city block the Centre houses a world class art gallery, Mavor's restaurant, a locally supplied gift shop, three expansive conference rooms, and a beautiful 1200 seat theatre. A library, an outdoor amphitheater, and spacious outdoor courtyard are also located on site. The Mack theatre is owned and operated by the Centre which is located steps away.
Guelph
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Pure Entertainment”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We started here at noon watching the outdoor show (Les Feux Follets) for free. This performance by the Charlottetown Centre Young Company was 55 minutes of high energy dancing and song from across this great nation and incorporated the many cultures which have built this land. Our kids were riveted for the hour - as were we! Don't miss this free opportunity.

That night, we took in Anne. A solid show with strong performances. A great balance of emotions...you laughed and cried all in one show. The faces on our daughters (ages 6 and 10) said everything. They were glued to every scene. We booked a few months in advance and picked up a promo code that got us half priced seats. We sat (four of us) in row EE in the centre and couldn't have asked for better seats. We shelled out the $25 for the CD and it's been on constant rotation in the van for the last two weeks...the kids sing along with every song. A wonderful night.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Fanookin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    600
    197
    30
    11
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Evangeline”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

amazing show, emotional and so entertaining. the premier of this new musical directing by Ted Dykstra with Chilina Kennedy as Evangeline. All the voices are strong. This play represents the expulsion of the Acadian and their plight for their continued survival

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank unahthefoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Anne of Green Gables the Musical”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Fantastic, a must see! The cast was absolutely great. Follows the book closely. The songs and dances helped to tell the story. Only 5 blocks from the Elmwood Heritage Inn were we stayed.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wayne901904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grange, IL
Level 6 Contributor
354 reviews
118 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“Run don't walk to see Evangeline”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

What a wonderful, moving, professional performance. The theatre is the perfect size for this performance. We sat in the center of row G, and it was ideal, I would avoid the first couple of rows. The three hours went quickly, there was never a boring scene. This cast could easily make it work on Broadway! The singing was top notch, and it was an important lesson in Acadian history, as well. It was powerful, a Canadian Le Mis. Bring kleenex.....

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pamela V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfville, Nova Scotia
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Evangeline was Great!”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We thought the calibre of the performance was world class! The music was pleasant, the quality of the performers was great, and although the sets were fairly minimalistic, the production optimizes the venue.

The facility is good, however, we had aisle seats, and the lack of a centre aisle meant that we were constantly up and down to let others into the row. If you arrive late, you will displace several dozen people.

We felt that the performance was somewhat long, but it is highly worth seeing.

Ticket prices are not cheap, but are appropriate for the quality of the experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank vancouvergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Confederation Centre of the Arts also viewed

Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Cavendish, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to Confederation Centre of the Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing