We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating and enjoyable”

Confederation Centre of the Arts
Book In Advance
More Info
$984.93*
and up
5-Day Prince Edward Island Trip from Halifax Including Green Gables Heritage...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Confederation Centre of the Arts is a national art centre showcasing the best in Canadian visual and performing arts. Stretching over an entire city block the Centre houses a world class art gallery, Mavor's restaurant, a locally supplied gift shop, three expansive conference rooms, and a beautiful 1200 seat theatre. A library, an outdoor amphitheater, and spacious outdoor courtyard are also located on site. The Mack theatre is owned and operated by the Centre which is located steps away.
Halifax, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fascinating and enjoyable”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I've always wanted to go see this production and it was worth the wait! Very enjoyable and entertaining. Even for younger school aged children. We sat in the very front row, which is considered the "cheap seats" and I wouldn't have wanted to sit anywhere else! Worth the time and money.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Heather K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    545
    183
    28
    10
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
ontario
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“late night dinner”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We decided last minutes to see Evangeline and had no time to eat dinner. We went after the amazing show and had four appetizer plates at half prize. Bonus the kids got to see some of the actors come in for snacks too :)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mommyto5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestservicesCCOA, Guest Relations Manager at Confederation Centre of the Arts, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
So glad you enjoyed the performance and were able to take advantage of the half prices appetizers which are featured every evening in Mavors from 9pm -11pm Monday to Saturday. Indeed a way to end an evening. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Anne of Green Gables far surpassed expectations!”
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

I was most surprised by the acrobatic choreography and professional quality of the production from sets to lighting to vocal performance, comedy, etc. I highly recommend this production!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Evangeline...great musical”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Attended the world premiere performance of Evangeline, a musical based on the poem by the same name. Music was great. Story was well told and the acting was top notch. It really drew you into the story. Highly recommended.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JoAnnEaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A lovely haven in the middle of downtown.”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

The centre is a wonderful place to actually just take a break. They have a gift shop, very clean bathrooms, access to the library, an art gallery (which is free of charge) and a restaurant. The best part is of course the theatre. This is wonderful place where they have the Anne of Green Gables musical and also this year Evangeline. I have seen Anne here several times and it is just a fun time. I plan to take my daughter now that she is old enough. Evangeline I have not had the chance to see yet but I plan too. Oh and I must not forget the truly amazing free show the Confederation Centre Young Company puts on. So worth while to check it out.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank angelfancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Confederation Centre of the Arts also viewed

Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
 
Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Cavendish, Prince Edward Island
 

Been to Confederation Centre of the Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing