We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect B&B from the first to last wonderful moment...”
Review of The Harbour House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Harbour House
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Perfect B&B from the first to last wonderful moment...”
Reviewed September 16, 2010

Visiting from Australia, I was seeking a private, cosy, yet friendly downtown B&B accommodation for a very special reunion with my grandmother. I couldn't have arrived at a better destination. From the first moment and arriving in our Junior suite complete with every amenity you could want, to leaving 3 days later, it was truly perfect. The cleanliness to the highest standard, the delicious cooked and continental breakfasts, the room appointments - plush but practical to the location which enabled us to take walks along the river each day. The room was cleaned and reset every day and the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful... thanks for making such a precious time so memorable. I hope I can relive it next year...

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TenoutofTen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhhouse, Owner at The Harbour House, responded to this review, September 21, 2010
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! It was an absolute joy, hosting you and your grandmother here. Thank you for mentioning the breakfast! We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay!

Looking forward to your return!

Cheers
Mike van der Gaag
Innkeeper
Heritage Harbour House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    158
    27
    12
    1
See reviews for
155
368
30
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nassau, New Providence Island
2 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2010

We stayed here for two nights and the only minor complaint I have was that on the second night it was very hot, and the air con ditioner was not functioniing well because it was having the cold air bounced back by the TV set right next to it, and therefore did not cool the room very well. Everything else was find, and the washer/drier in the basement was a great advantage

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gulliver057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhhouse, Owner at The Harbour House, responded to this review, September 21, 2010
Thank you for the review! We're trying to reproduce this phenomenon that you have described, but we can't seem to replicate the problem. The TV doesn't actually block the vents, it's positioned low enough for the cold air to pass and the intake to remove the hot air. I think the air conditioner must have been malfunctioning during your stay so we will be sure to keep an eye on it to ensure that it never happens again! Thank you so much for pointing it out.

I hope your stay here was memorable one! Please come back any time!

Cheers
Mike van der Gaag
Innkeeper
Heritage Harbour House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 14, 2010

When in Charlottetow we spent 3 nights at the Heritage Harbour House in August in a large King Suite on the 2nd floor. The room was exceptionally clean with a well stocked kitchenette, small kitchen table, desk, couch, comfortable king bed, flat screen TV, balcony with chairs, A/C (thankfully as it was a hot week) as well as a fast and reliable wi-fi network. We found the price to be reasonable for the accomodations we had.

This large inn is run by experienced InnKeepers who obviously have paid attention to their guest's needs and the details. Things just seemed to be well thought out - which I appreciate.

The breakfast was more than expected. Served in two rooms with several tables (large and small), one hot entree with a bowl of fresh fruit and then your choice of juices, cold cereals, breads/bagels, yogurt, fresh home-baked muffins, scones and great cinammon rolls. One day I saw raisin scones and then blueberry muffins which I don't usually like as they tend to be overly sweet - but these home made delights were perfect, obviously made with thought and care. The next morning there were blueberry and cranberry muffins and the scones were cheese. One hot dish was a zuccini quiche which was mmm-mmm excellent. I loved the food and can't imagine why anyone would criticize it.
On the day we were checking out, we had missed breakfast and were offered some of those fabulous muffins for our long drive home (which was greatly appreciated - thanks so much).

The Inn is a very large Victorian house with a large addition to accommodate all of the rooms. There are several common areas (inside and out), books, dvds and a common area computer are available. There were lots of people milling about, playing cards, having coffee (coffee, tea and cookies always available) or just hanging around and talking. The common areas are away from the guest rooms so our room was still quiet eventhough there was a lot of activity and the Inn was full.

I really couldn't think of anything that was missing or amiss.
The Inn is located downtown within walking distance of the shops and restaurants (maybe 5 or 6 blocks).

I usually have something negative to say but in this case I would just like to highly recommend the Heritage Harbour House Inn and l am very likely to return.

Thanks for a great stay in Charlottetown.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeslieZ1411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhhouse, Owner at The Harbour House, responded to this review, September 21, 2010
Thanks for the wonderfully detailed review! We really appreciate mentioning the delicious breakfasts (The cheese scones are one of my favourites!) Thank you so much for mentioning the common areas. Yes, they are often buzzing with activity, but they are placed far enough from the rooms to reduce any potential from noise.

I hope your stay in Charlottetown was a pleasant one. We are looking forward to your return!

Cheers
Mike van der Gaag
Innkeeper
Heritage Harbour House Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2010

The inn was alright, but just not great. Kind of tired, if you know what I mean. For breakfast, one day we were offered bacon and eggs. The next day we were offered mushroom quiche which we both turned down. More selections should have been offered.
We didn't know anything about Charlottetown and were looking for a good location. If we had it to do all over, I think we would have stayed in a Holiday Inn outside the city center at a better price. Charlottetown is just a bunch of shops. We did enjoy Founder's Hall very much.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smittie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhhouse, Owner at The Harbour House, responded to this review, September 9, 2010
Thank you for your review. Unfortunately, I do not quite understand what you mean by "kind of tired," as you provide no evidence, or explanation, for the term you used to describe our establishment. This criticism is now useless to me, because I do not understand how I can improve something that's "kind of tired," (maybe the house needs coffee?)

On the topic of breakfasts. We serve between 40-55 guests for breakfast every morning. With the resources we have, it would be impossible to provide a varied menu each morning. Instead, we serve one main entree and this entree changes every day. It is a shame you neglected to mention the extra offerings we have for breakfast: Home baked cinnamon rolls, scones, and muffins as well as cereals and breads all available and served as an "all you can eat," system.

It's unfortunate that you did not manage to experience the magic of Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island. Charlottetown is not just a "bunch of shops," even the blind can see that. We live in a beautiful historic town that is rich in culture and heritage; it is a shame you couldn't discover that.

Regards
Mike van der Gaag
Innkeeper
Heritage Harbour House.
A proud member of the Charlottetown community.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest Park
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2010

We were dropping our daughter off at vet school and chose Heritage as our base of operations. Our room was so comfortable for 3 adults. We were in walking distance to downtown and the waterfront of Charlottetown. We also could walk to a variety of restaurants which was so handy. Breakfast featured a different main entree every day so we were able to eat well. The sun room was a great place to sit and relax after a busy day. We all recommend this B&B whether you are travelling on business or pleasure.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aglefevre6165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhhouse, Owner at The Harbour House, responded to this review, September 9, 2010
Thank you for your positive review! We're so happy that you were comfortable here, while your daughter experienced orientation at the Atlantic Veterinary College. We wish your daughter continued success during her studies!

Come back anytime!

Cheers
Mike van der Gaag
Innkeeper
Heritage Harbour House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Brookfield
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2010

A terrific (large) B&B with reasonable rates. We stopped here on our honeymoon and they made it a great experience. The Inn is clean and bright with large rooms, in-room baths, comfortable beds and friendly, gracious hosts who go all out to make your stay a wonderful one.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pilgrim0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhhouse, Owner at The Harbour House, responded to this review, September 9, 2010
We're so happy and honoured that you chose our establishment during your honeymoon! Thank you for mentioning the reasonable rates, and the comfortable beds. We're so happy you had a great time here.

Hope you come back again. We're looking forward to hosting you again.

Cheers
Mike van der Gaag
Innkeeper
Heritage Harbour House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2010

This is a good choice for lodging in Charlottetown - more like an inn than a B&B, which I think of as a 2-4 bedroom arrangement. No matter - clean, comfortable, quiet, easy walk to the waterfront, theater, and all the downtown restaurants. Played cards in the parlor, and on the 2nd floor deck. There is an emphasis on respecting other guests need for quiet, which is a good thing because nowadays soem people are just really loud all the time. Incredibly quiet for a building so large with so many overnight guests! Ok, the hallway might have been a little stuffy - but the temp was somewhat higher than normal on the 6 August days we were in residence.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megalopolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhhouse, Owner at The Harbour House, responded to this review, September 9, 2010
Thanks for your review! We're so happy to hear you enjoyed yourselves on our public patio (The 2nd floor deck.) Yes, it was a tremendously warm August this year, but I hope the Air conditioning machine (which we have in every room,) kept you nice and comfortable.

We hope you come back sometime!

Cheers
Mike van der Gaag
Innkeeper
Heritage Harbour House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.4 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
609 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
414 reviews
0.4 mi away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward by Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fairholm National Historic Inn
Fairholm National Historic Inn
#6 of 23 in Charlottetown
276 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rodd Charlottetown
Rodd Charlottetown
#7 of 23 in Charlottetown
486 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbour House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbour House

Property: The Harbour House
Address: 9 Grafton St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1K3, Canada (Formerly Heritage Harbour House Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Charlottetown
#1 Best Value Hotel in Charlottetown
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charlottetown
#1 Family Hotel in Charlottetown
#3 Business Hotel in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Harbour House 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Harbour House, we've combined the elegant heritage character of our property with contemporary amenities and comfortable furnishings to make you feel at home during your stay with us. Our accommodation options range from suites to rooms for those traveling on a budget, and are suitable for all types of travelers from groups and families to individuals and long-term renters. Included with your stay is a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast featuring your choice of sweet or savory hot entree and other breakfast selections. We also include free off-street parking with your stay. Need information about Charlottetown, directions to a venue, or just want to talk PEI in general? We're always available to chat. If we're not at the registration desk, we invite you to ring the desk bell and we'll come join you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Harbour House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Harbour House Hotel Charlottetown
Heritage Harbour Hotel
Heritage Harbour Charlottetown
The Harbour House Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing