We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay in Charlottetown for both location and amenities.”
Review of The Harbour House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Harbour House
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2010

We were dropping our daughter off at vet school and chose Heritage as our base of operations. Our room was so comfortable for 3 adults. We were in walking distance to downtown and the waterfront of Charlottetown. We also could walk to a variety of restaurants which was so handy. Breakfast featured a different main entree every day so we were able to eat well. The sun room was a great place to sit and relax after a busy day. We all recommend this B&B whether you are travelling on business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aglefevre6165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhhouse, Owner at The Harbour House, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2010

Thank you for your positive review! We're so happy that you were comfortable here, while your daughter experienced orientation at the Atlantic Veterinary College. We wish your daughter continued success during her studies!

Come back anytime!

Cheers
Mike van der Gaag
Innkeeper
Heritage Harbour House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (754)
There are newer reviews for The Harbour House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

661 - 667 of 754 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2010

A terrific (large) B&B with reasonable rates. We stopped here on our honeymoon and they made it a great experience. The Inn is clean and bright with large rooms, in-room baths, comfortable beds and friendly, gracious hosts who go all out to make your stay a wonderful one.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pilgrim0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhhouse, Owner at The Harbour House, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2010

We're so happy and honoured that you chose our establishment during your honeymoon! Thank you for mentioning the reasonable rates, and the comfortable beds. We're so happy you had a great time here.

Hope you come back again. We're looking forward to hosting you again.

Cheers
Mike van der Gaag
Innkeeper
Heritage Harbour House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2010

This is a good choice for lodging in Charlottetown - more like an inn than a B&B, which I think of as a 2-4 bedroom arrangement. No matter - clean, comfortable, quiet, easy walk to the waterfront, theater, and all the downtown restaurants. Played cards in the parlor, and on the 2nd floor deck. There is an emphasis on respecting other guests need for quiet, which is a good thing because nowadays soem people are just really loud all the time. Incredibly quiet for a building so large with so many overnight guests! Ok, the hallway might have been a little stuffy - but the temp was somewhat higher than normal on the 6 August days we were in residence.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megalopolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhhouse, Owner at The Harbour House, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2010

Thanks for your review! We're so happy to hear you enjoyed yourselves on our public patio (The 2nd floor deck.) Yes, it was a tremendously warm August this year, but I hope the Air conditioning machine (which we have in every room,) kept you nice and comfortable.

We hope you come back sometime!

Cheers
Mike van der Gaag
Innkeeper
Heritage Harbour House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2010

There is only one word to describe this beautiful B&B - Exceptional !
Our hosts were very friendly and made us feel at home. Even prepared a breakfast to go when we left early in the morning. Stayed 7 nights and enjoyed every minute of our stay. Appreciated the laundry room - very convenient. When I return to PEI, I'll stay at Heritage Harbour ! You should too !

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAJA53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhhouse, Owner at The Harbour House, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2010

Thanks for the great review! Thank you for mentioning our "Breakfast to Go," service we have for guests leaving early in the morning. We always make sure our guests do not leave hungry!

I hope your stay on PEI was a memorable one! Keep in touch!

Cheers
Mike van der Gaag
Innkeeper
Heritage Harbour House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

We had a wonderful stay at the HHH. We were there for 3 nights. We used the B&B as a central location. We enjoyed the downtown, the play, and the harbour.
Our room was large and in the back of the house. We were on the first floor with a deck which we really enjoyed. Everything was clean and comfortable. We would recommend this B&B to anyone. Breakfasts were good and one day we left early and we still were able to get a bowl of ceral. Very accommadating.

Thanks.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EasyEasy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhhouse, Owner at The Harbour House, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2010

Thanks for the review! Thanks for mentioning the clean and comfortable atmosphere. This atmosphere is something to strive at creating every day for our guests.

I hope your stay here was a memorable one! Come back soon!

Cheers
Mike van der Gaag
Innkeeper/Owner
Heritage Harbour House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

We had a lovely stay at the Heritage Harbour House Inn to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The management and staff were very gracious and accommodating, and when the management heard it was our anniversary our room was upgraded to another that was even nicer than the first room selected. The breakfast was lovely and the dining room spacious to accommodate a fairly full house of guests. We always enjoy coming to Charlottetown regardless of the season, and the HHI is in our minds one of the premier establishments in the city. It is conveniently located to all the shops and restaurants, and is also close to the Confederation Centre of the Arts. This is five star establishment that has competitive pricing for Charlottetown, and a staff who are kind, friendly, informative when you need directions, and accommodating.

Nova Scotia Mature Couple

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HFXTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhhouse, Owner at The Harbour House, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2010

Thanks for your great review! We appreciate you mentioning our lovely dining room, and our breakfasts. We hope your stay here was a memorable one, celebrating your anniversary! Thank you for sharing your happy moment with us!

Please come back again

Cheers
Mike van der Gaag
Innkeeper/Owner
Heritage Harbour House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2010

We strongly recommend for anyone traveling to Charlottetown to stay in this B&B. We had a very pleasent experience there. After finishing a week-long cycling tour, my spouse and I stayed at this B&B for one night - too short a night though! We picked the smallest room as we were on budget althought their small room is just a regular room at a chain-hotel. It was very cozy, clean, fresh, although the pillows could be a bit softer, but that's not a bit deal. THe breakfast had lots of choices of baked goods, juices, etc. They have a large assortment of dvds to watch for free, you can have some tea in the sun room. Very nice! A place to come back!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2you2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhhouse, Owner at The Harbour House, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2010

Thanks for your positive review! Thanks for mentioning the comfort and space of one of our "smallest," rooms! Thanks for mentioning the yummy breakfast, and our DVD library where guests can borrow movies on a rainy day!

I hope your bike trip around PEI was a memorable one! Please come back again!

Cheers
Mike van der Gaag
Innkeeper/Owner
Heritage Harbour House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.3 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
448 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
641 reviews
0.4 mi away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward by Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fairholm National Historic Inn
Fairholm National Historic Inn
#6 of 23 in Charlottetown
288 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rodd Charlottetown
Rodd Charlottetown
#7 of 23 in Charlottetown
511 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbour House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbour House

Address: 9 Grafton St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1K3, Canada (Formerly Heritage Harbour House Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Charlottetown
#1 Family Hotel in Charlottetown
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charlottetown
#2 Best Value Hotel in Charlottetown
#3 Business Hotel in Charlottetown
Price Range: $115 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Harbour House 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Harbour House, we've combined the elegant heritage character of our property with contemporary amenities and comfortable furnishings to make you feel at home during your stay with us. Our accommodation options range from suites to rooms for those traveling on a budget, and are suitable for all types of travelers from groups and families to individuals and long-term renters. Included with your stay is a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast featuring your choice of sweet or savory hot entree and other breakfast selections. We also include free off-street parking with your stay. Need information about Charlottetown, directions to a venue, or just want to talk PEI in general? We're always available to chat. If we're not at the registration desk, we invite you to ring the desk bell and we'll come join you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Harbour House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Harbour House Hotel Charlottetown
Heritage Harbour Hotel
Heritage Harbour Charlottetown
The Harbour House Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing