We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT IN EVERY WAY”
Review of The Harbour House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Harbour House
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
CANVEY ISLAND, ESSEX, U.K
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT IN EVERY WAY”
Reviewed June 19, 2010

As soon as my wife and I arrived, we felt as home at this excellent inn.We were shown to our room and it was evident that lots out thought had gone into the planning and detail. . Our room was immaculate, with a kitchen on the landing outside the room covering all requirents if we wished to self cater.
The breakfasts were very generous and extremely tasty and included in the rate as well as free internet and chocolate chip cookies on tap. .
It is 2 minutes walk from tdowntown in the charming captal city of Charlottetown, but it feels miles away from a city centre. I suggest you try one of the great Charlottetown pubs.
The Heritage House Harbour Inn is a place that any hotel proprietor should visit to see how a hotel should really be run. It is the many small things that they do so well which result in an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhhouse, Owner at The Harbour House, responded to this review, June 27, 2010
Wow...this review is incredibly flattering! Thank you!

I really appreciate you mentioning the planning, and the detail put into all of our rooms! We do everything we can to make sure no comfort is spared for our guests. I also want to thank you for mentioning the location!

Your last comment made the entire administration of Heritage Harbour House blush. We have never received such a wonderful comment before...thank you.

We look forward to having you stay with us again!

Cheers
Mike van der Gaag
Innkeeper
Heritage Harbour House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    158
    27
    12
    1
See reviews for
155
368
30
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
1 review
Reviewed June 8, 2010

The Heritage Harbour House is a wonderful place. I stayed there for two nights with my family and found the rooms to be spacious, clean, and beautifully decorated. The staff are all friendly, courteous, and professional. If you are looking for a place to stay that feels like home, then look no further than the Heritage Harbour House. It is centrally located to all of the Charlottetown attractions and we were able to walk to dinner on both nights. The breakfasts were excellent and a variety of cooked and prepared meals were available. Don't hesitate to book this fine location for all of your PEI travel needs.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlivings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhhouse, Owner at The Harbour House, responded to this review, June 27, 2010
Thanks for your wonderful review! Thank you for mentioning the location (so close to the city centre,) and the hot breakfasts!

I want to really thank you for mentioning our hard working staff. They work incredibly hard to achieve the level of quality we desire for all of our guests. They deserve every bit of praise for their hard work!

We had a wonderful time having you here, and hope you come visit us again!

Cheers
Mike van der Gaag,
Innkeeper
Heritage Harbour House Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed May 31, 2010

Beautiful B&B located in a great position in Charlottetown - within walking distance to restaurants, shops and harbour front. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful at all times. The owner was extremely hospitable and helpful. The Heritage Harbour House Inn is impeccably maintained and rooms are lovely and clean. Beautiful home made breakfast was offered each morning. i would not hesitate in recommending the Heritage Harbour House Inn and would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hay255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhhouse, Owner at The Harbour House, responded to this review, June 7, 2010
Thank you so much for your amazing review!! Thanks for mentioning the cleanliness. We strive to provide a impeccably clean environment for all of our guests!

Our friendly and helpful staff are at your service again, should you choose to return in the future!

Cheers
Mike
Innkeeper
Heritage Harbour House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 17, 2010

Having stayed in another B&B in Charlottetown recently and was very satisfied, much to my surprise I found the Heritage Harbour House to be even better. The room was the best I've ever found, and the breakfast was teriffic, and with a close to downtown location you can't go wrong. I would recommend this Inn without hesitation or qualification.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elgin60123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhhouse, Owner at The Harbour House, responded to this review, June 7, 2010
Thank you so much for your terrific review of our establishment!

We're happy that everything exceeded your expectations; something we try to do on a daily basis!
I hope you come visit us again in the near future!

Cheers
Mike
Innkeeper
Heritage Harbour House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2010

We enjoyed our stay. I was travelling on business and my husband accompanied me. I was not able to attend breakfast each morning but my husband said that the food was great and that our hostess was attentive and so he felt comforable going down alone and enjoyed the time.

Our room was a standard Queen, much like a cozy hotel room with a small fridge, TV table and seating area. The loveseat would have pulled out if we had needed it.

We had our late afternoon and evenings to ourselves and the hostess was very helpfull in letting us know what was around the area. We loved being able to walk to the waterfront and stroll though the down town. Visiting the pubs without worrying about the car or a taxi was a bonus. We really loved the Pilot House Pub just a couple blocks up the road.

Would recommend this place to anyone looking for the Charlottetown experiance.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzylam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhhouse, Owner at The Harbour House, responded to this review, June 7, 2010
Thanks for your review! I'm sorry you didn't get to personally experience our breakfasts! Perhaps during a future visit we can make that up!

Cheers
Mike
Innkeeper
Heritage Harbour House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlottesville, virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2009

Just winding up a delightful week at this excellent inn a few steps away from the heart of charming Charlottetown. From the moment of arrival my wife and I knew we had made the right choice of a place to stay. We have been extremely comfortable here, not surprising after reading the glowing reports of previous guests. Innkeepers Arie,Jinny and son Michael are ever present hosts who can't do enough to please the world travelers who have been attracted here by the Anna of Green Gables saga. Our room is immaculate, the breakfasts generous and included in the rate as well as free internet, coffee,tea,biscuits and chocolate chip cookies on tap at a self service kitchenette. And there are laundry machines with detergent on hand at a dollar a pop. The Van der Gaag family will make restaurant reservations,arrange tours and keep guests happy. So you can tell we are "two happy campers" reporting from this Rolls Royce of inns.
One plus is the nearby boardwalk fronting the harbour ,ideal for walking before breakfast and enjoying the Sun.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank huntcountry6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhhouse, Owner at The Harbour House, responded to this review, June 7, 2010
Thank you so much for your inspiring review. We have never been reviewed as a "Rolls-Royce," of inns, but believe me....the compliment has struck a chord in my heart.

It was an absolute pleasure to have you here, and I hope to see you again in the future.

Cheers
Mike
Innkeeper
Heritage Harbour House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2009

We stayed here for three nights in early August and had an excellent time. The room was spacious comfortably accommodating a sofa and coffee table as well as a large working desk and a fridge. The wardobe was very large with plenty of hangers. The bathroom was also well sized and equipped. Although on the second floor I was offered assistance with my suitcases at check-in.
A well equipped guest kitchen area is available on the ground floor, and another on the second floor - just right for the early morning coffee. Breakfast is served in two adjoining rooms on the ground floor but all food is available in each room while the friendly staff serve tea, coffee and the hot course as well as removing used crockery. We found the owners friendly and willing to chat and make suggestions for dining. The off-street parking was plentiful and well spaced.
The city was just a short stroll along the street - close enough for easy access but far enough to feel you were truly in a suburb.
Altogether one of the best stays on our trip.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abmoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhhouse, Owner at The Harbour House, responded to this review, June 7, 2010
Thanks for your wonderful review. I appreciate you mentioning the delightful breakfasts we serve, and our awesome staff members.

We hope to see you again in the future!

Cheers
Mike
Innkeeper
Heritage Harbour House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.4 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
608 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
414 reviews
0.4 mi away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward by Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fairholm National Historic Inn
Fairholm National Historic Inn
#6 of 23 in Charlottetown
276 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rodd Charlottetown
Rodd Charlottetown
#7 of 23 in Charlottetown
485 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbour House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbour House

Property: The Harbour House
Address: 9 Grafton St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1K3, Canada (Formerly Heritage Harbour House Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Charlottetown
#1 Family Hotel in Charlottetown
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charlottetown
#1 Luxury Hotel in Charlottetown
#3 Business Hotel in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Harbour House 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Harbour House, we've combined the elegant heritage character of our property with contemporary amenities and comfortable furnishings to make you feel at home during your stay with us. Our accommodation options range from suites to rooms for those traveling on a budget, and are suitable for all types of travelers from groups and families to individuals and long-term renters. Included with your stay is a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast featuring your choice of sweet or savory hot entree and other breakfast selections. We also include free off-street parking with your stay. Need information about Charlottetown, directions to a venue, or just want to talk PEI in general? We're always available to chat. If we're not at the registration desk, we invite you to ring the desk bell and we'll come join you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your The Harbour House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Harbour House Hotel Charlottetown
Heritage Harbour Hotel
Heritage Harbour Charlottetown
The Harbour House Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing