We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, private, and friendly!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Harbour House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Harbour House
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
Campbell River, Canada
1 review
“Comfortable, private, and friendly!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

We had an amazing stay at HHH! The rooms we stayed in were spacious, comfortable, clean, and very private. We very rarely heard our neighbours even when they were using common spaces, and definitely took advantage of the sun room for afternoon reading!
The staff were very friendly and happy to help us with everything from holding luggage, giving us detailed directions and restaurant recommendations, to accommodating some early morning breakfasts.
You won't be disappointed! Reasonable pricing and a beautiful, historic setting close to downtown.

Room Tip: Upper floors are quietest, but the whole building is quite private even on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jocelin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    144
    27
    11
    1
See reviews for
151
349
28
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

The inn manages to combine large comfortable rooms, that are similar to hotel rooms, with the character of a B&B. The place has various nooks and crannies inside and out where you can sit, read or have a snack. The 24-hour tea/coffee making area was very handy and there was a little fridge where you could purchase a can of pop. There was also a microwave if you wanted to heat anything.

The location was great, close enough to walk to restaurants, shops and the boardwalks, but just far enough away to avoid a lot of downtown noise. There was plenty of room in the parking lot at the back of the inn.

We were in a king room, which also had a sofabed. The bathroom was a good size with mostly new fixtures. Both the room and the entire house were very clean. As with most B&Bs, you depend on your fellow guests to be considerate about noise and we found that most everyone else was going to bed at about the same time, so no real issues here for us.

Breakfast was fine and the home baked goods were yummy. This location made for a good home base to explore other parts of the island. Thanks to Alexa for the tip about the walking trails in the Greenwich Beach area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

Recent stay at this B&B was great. Pros: perfect location in walking distance to historic downtown and harbor area, clean newly renovated room, comfortable bed and linens, dvds available to watch, friendly staff, beautiful historic building with ample space for relaxing. Cons: thin walls (lots of hallway noise as our room located next to communal kitchen).

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
129 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

I picked this B&B because of its location. I wanted to stay somewhere close to the downtown so I could walk everywhere. I wasn't disappointed. The location can't be beat. It is close to many attractions and eateries as well as shops.

Upon my arrival, I was warmly greeted by Alexa and given a tour of the property. The building is well appointed and there are lots of lounge areas where one can chill.

My room was quite nice and the bed comfortable. I slept like a log both nights of my stay.

The breakfast was plentiful and I was offered a choice of two entrees along with a selection of pastries, breads and yogurts.

On my second morning, I had to leave before the breakfast sitting, but they kindly packed me a breakfast to go and it came in a gift bag all nicely done up.

All in all, I had a great experience and will stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tulips300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Heritage Harbour House a few weeks ago for a few nights. The staff were amazing, the owner was very friendly and helpful. the room was very clean, up to date and quiet. The breakfast was great, very delicious and had a lot of options. The bed was very comfortable. I will be returning to the island frequently and will definitely be staying at this hotel.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Katherine799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest Park
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

We last stayed at Heritage Harbour House Inn 4 years ago. We were back in Charlottetown to attend veterinary school graduation. Since our last stay, the inn has added to their breakfast menu. During our 7 night stay, we were offered 2 different entrees every morning in addition to the usual cereal, toast, bagels, and yogurt. The property itself is in premium condition everything well maintained and cared for. We love the quiet rooms yet being so close to downtown, restaurants, and the waterfront. We walked everywhere. The staff is so accommodating whether you need advice on what to see to confirming air travel. The guest comes first. Our choice of accommodation remains Heritage Harbour House Inn in Charlottetown.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aglefevre6165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

I left Jamaica with three of my friends to study in PEI for four months. I had no idea what to expect especially where accommodation was concerned. All I knew at the time was that I would be spending those four months living at The Heritage Harbour House Inn which in my mind was just like any other Inn. This I must say, was not the case HHH far exceeded my expectations. Each room is provided with a cupboard in the very spacious kitchen which is exclusive to guests with all needed utensils, the rooms are very clean and spacious and had everything for one's comfort, there was also the option or borrowing movies from the vast collection of DVD's available to all guests. In addition to other services was the cleaning of the rooms on a bi-weekly basis.The facility along with its ideal location; close to downtown where everything is, made it a perfect place to stay. It was immaculate, very comfortable and equipped with everything to make me comfortable. I felt at home. I enjoyed my stay there to the fullest. We were like a family. The assistant (now manager) is an exceptional young lady. She went over and beyond to ensure that I was always comfortable and entertained. She planned numerous events/activities to ensure that my stay on the island would be a memorable one. I was treated with utmost respect or must I say "royalty", I was literally spoilt if you should ask me. I was even transported to and from grocery shopping, if the manager couldn't take the guests one week because he was out of the country or for some other reason he would arrange for someone else to take them shopping even if it means paying for a cab . I even had a landline to call my family in the USA and anywhere in Canada FREE or charge. This is definitely the place I will be staying if i'm ever to visit the Island again. I could not have chosen a better place to stay. HHH is definitely the place to stay if you consider visiting Prince Edward Island. You will NOT be disappointed!!!

Vanessa G.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on the first floor if you hate climbing stairs :) Overall all the rooms are amazing!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.4 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Sonata Inn
The Sonata Inn
#5 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Prince Edward
0.5 mi away
Fairholm National Historic Inn
Fairholm National Historic Inn
#6 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rodd Charlottetown
Rodd Charlottetown
#7 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbour House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbour House

Property: The Harbour House
Address: 9 Grafton St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1K3, Canada (Formerly Heritage Harbour House Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charlottetown
#1 Family Hotel in Charlottetown
#2 Best Value Hotel in Charlottetown
#3 Business Hotel in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Harbour House 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Harbour House, we've combined the elegant heritage character of our property with contemporary amenities and comfortable furnishings to make you feel at home during your stay with us. Our accommodation options range from suites to rooms for those traveling on a budget, and are suitable for all types of travelers from groups and families to individuals and long-term renters. Included with your stay is a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast featuring your choice of sweet or savory hot entree and other breakfast selections. We also include free off-street parking with your stay. Need information about Charlottetown, directions to a venue, or just want to talk PEI in general? We're always available to chat. If we're not at the registration desk, we invite you to ring the desk bell and we'll come join you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your The Harbour House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Harbour House Hotel Charlottetown
Heritage Harbour Hotel
Heritage Harbour Charlottetown
The Harbour House Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing