We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An A+ Stay, Top Notch B&B”
Review of The Harbour House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Harbour House
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
182 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“An A+ Stay, Top Notch B&B”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

WE <3 HERITAGE HARBOUR HOUSE

My husband and I stayed here for over a week in August 2013 and I have to say this has to have been our best B&B experience, and we both travel a lot. From the start its the little things that make it #1, the beautiful decor and home, fantastic staff and an establishment that is just simply beautiful. So cose to downtown, 3 blocks, and great little extras. Kitchen for communal use on all floors, balconies in most rooms, and communal balconies and sun room. Not to mention the breakfasts with hot entree options ... we never had a bad breakfast and they always looked exquisite.

We have to give a special shout out to ALEXA, the lovely woman who learned our names the first day and greeted us by name the entire time. She also had some great dinner suggestions. We loved this girl, she's definately a STAR! All employees were fantastic as well.

I really dont know how one could rate this place anything under 4 stars.
Overall this place was just so lovely, all the little extras you dont expect but make your trip even better. We WILL be returning

Room Tip: I suggest a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joshua Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    146
    27
    11
    1
See reviews for
153
353
29
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario CANADA
Level Contributor
199 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed two nights at this very nice bed and breakfast spot. We chose one of the compact rooms and it was more than adequate. Comfortable beds, good storage and work space and clean, up to date washroom (but don't drop the soap in the shower). It is a beautiful old house but the floors can be noisy if you are on the second floor. They serve a hot breakfast in the busy breakfast room and have lots of cold dishes (cereal, bagels, toast, jams) as well. It is in a great location just a few blocks from the main street, Province House, the Confederation Centre and Victoria Park. Hosts are very pleasant and it most certainly would be our stay next time we go to Charlottetown.

Room Tip: The compact rooms are very nice and a good value but I would choose the larger rooms next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenOntarioCANADA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

My wife and I have been travelling all over the Atlantic this year, and we have stayed in many 4-5 star places here and in our home province of BC, this B and B is one of the best! Tastefully decorated, quiet, elegant and a great stay! We would recommend it to anyone.......we will be back.
Thanks for the great experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights of our 9-day trip to Nova Scotia and PEI. This was our favorite place. The location was perfect, just a few blocks to lots of restaurants and the waterfront. Our room was quite large and included a comfortable love seat, desk, bureau, small refrigerator, small private balcony, and air conditioner. There are many comfortable common spaces including a large patio and sunroom, and a great DVD collection if you just want to chill. Breakfasts were great and included a choice of 2 hot items each morning along with the usual continental fare. They also have laundry facilities if needed. We would definitely stay here again if we're ever traveling to PEI again--we're from Denver, Colorado.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

The minute we walked in my husband started smiling. We hadn't booked anything yet and many of the hotel were full. This place had one room left with two twin beds. Since we are used to a king or queen, I didn't have high expectations, but was happy to at least have a room. This B &B was beautiful, clean and comfortable with unexpected touches such as decks off of rooms. Conveniently located and friendly staff. We were served eggs Benedict in addition to continental breakfast. Even the twin beds were comfy. Nice place. Would stay here again if ever make a return trip to PEI.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mfriedrich133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Very clean rooms. It was great having a fridge in the room. Walking distance to downtown and Victoria park. We had a room that overlooked the patio, the only downfall was that we had to close the windows when people went out for a cigarette as we could smell the smoke.

Other than that it was a great B&B.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This was a perfect Inn for my family and I to spend the last night of our week-long PEI cycling trip. First, the owners were most gracious, allowing us to leave our car in their off-street parking lot for the 9 day duration of our trip. The Inn itself is steps from downtown Charlottetown and the harbour. We stayed in 2 compact rooms, one with 2 beds on the second floor and one with 1 queen bed on the third floor. The entire house is furnished beautifully, there is coffee / tea and a kitchenette available at all times, and the hot breakfast (blueberry pancakes) was delicious!

There is a garage to store bicycles, and the Confederation Trail Charlottetown trail head is approximately 1 mile down Grafton Street.

Highly recommended and we wish we had a few more days to spend in Charlottetown.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biovio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.4 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
588 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
396 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairholm National Historic Inn
Fairholm National Historic Inn
#6 of 23 in Charlottetown
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward by Marriott
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown
0.2 mi away
Rodd Charlottetown
Rodd Charlottetown
#7 of 23 in Charlottetown
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbour House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbour House

Property: The Harbour House
Address: 9 Grafton St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1K3, Canada (Formerly Heritage Harbour House Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charlottetown
#1 Best Value Hotel in Charlottetown
#1 Family Hotel in Charlottetown
#1 Luxury Hotel in Charlottetown
#3 Business Hotel in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Harbour House 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Harbour House, we've combined the elegant heritage character of our property with contemporary amenities and comfortable furnishings to make you feel at home during your stay with us. Our accommodation options range from suites to rooms for those traveling on a budget, and are suitable for all types of travelers from groups and families to individuals and long-term renters. Included with your stay is a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast featuring your choice of sweet or savory hot entree and other breakfast selections. We also include free off-street parking with your stay. Need information about Charlottetown, directions to a venue, or just want to talk PEI in general? We're always available to chat. If we're not at the registration desk, we invite you to ring the desk bell and we'll come join you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your The Harbour House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Harbour House Hotel Charlottetown
Heritage Harbour Hotel
Heritage Harbour Charlottetown
The Harbour House Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing