We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place and walking distance to harbor”
Review of The Harbour House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Harbour House
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
Bailey, CO.
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nice place and walking distance to harbor”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This was our first experience with a B&B. We were greeted by an enthusiastic owner who took good care of us. (We had flown all day to get there). She pointed us in the direction of a nearby restaurant that was excellent.

The room itself was a little spartan - very plain but it was clean and comfortable. It seemed to be stuffy the whole time we were there (2 days) but we took care of that by opening the door to the little deck off of the room. No elevator so you need to lug your bags up and down the stairs if you are on the 2nd or 3rd floor.

The breakfast was good although did not live up to expectations. The waitstaff was terrific though in taking care of our every need. Scrambled eggs & ham one morning, pancakes with cranberry sauce the next (could have used some sausage, bacon, or ham).

Overall, we had a good experience here. We would recommend it and we would return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GSi_Bailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    163
    27
    12
    1
See reviews for
158
377
31
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2012

A first class B&B. Lovely rooms and warm and friendly staff. The food was excellent and there was a very nice variety. Our hosts even arranged theater tickets for us and we had the night of our lives! Tremendous show and perfect seats. Rooms are spacious, clean and very comfortable. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, CA
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was a lovely old inn in a quiet residential street in Charlottetown, but within short walking distance to downtown and the waterfront. It was nice to have a place to stay with local character be so comfortable and convenient.

Our room was a basic double on the first floor; though not luxurious, it was plenty big enough for the two of us. Based on other traveler reviews, we did not opt for the smaller economy room. If I had one minor complaint, it was that the air conditioner was a little loud, but we didn't feel entirely safe leaving the window open on the ground floor at night.

There were some nice amenities, such as the laundry room with free detergent and the kitchenette with self-serve tea and biscuits. There was a surprisingly large off-street parking lot as well. Breakfast was good- most tables in the two dining rooms were communal, and it was a great chance to chat up other travelers, B & B style. There was one and only one hot dish, but if you didn't like it there was yogurt, toast, cereal, and some really nice baked scones and cinnamon rolls. They served fresh fruit as well.

Some of the staff members were Japanese and at times did not understand an English spoken request the first time it was made, but they worked hard to please and would get someone with better English if need be. They were clearly there to accommodate the large number of Japanese tourists staying in the inn. The young man working the desk was truly nice. Late at night, my mother somehow broke the chain to the plug that went in the sink, so we did without the sink until we reported the situation in the morning, as we didn't want to wake anyone up for something so silly. He ran across the street to the hardware store, had it fixed within minutes, and made us promise to call him any time at night if we needed help with anything again.

I would definitely stay here again. It was a good base for exploring Charlottetown and the rest of PEI.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trvlwhenican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Heritage Harbour House Inn is truly a home away from home! Your welcome begins by the kind, friendly staff that treat you like family. The property is a gorgeous B and B that is impeccably maintained. The rooms are very comfortable - it feels more like a swanky hotel rather than a B and B. You will have your fill of a healthy, delcious breakfast including hot, cold choices, even gluten free bread. I highly recommnend this B and B to you or the Sonata Inn (just next door) if you are visiting Charlottetown- it's a beauty! Thank you for the memorable, VERY comfortable, relaxing visit!

Room Tip: All the rooms are superb- you cannot have a bad night sleep here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane154964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The consistently positive tone of the reviews was borne out in my recent three night stay. The inn is centrally located but in a quiet street. It is welcoming and well run. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Everything is clean and well maintained. There is impeccable attention to detail and customer service is clearly a priority. It may be a little more expensive that the average, but it delivers value for money. In particular the residents' kitchenettee for endless tea and coffee was much appreciated. The breakfast is freshly made and offers plenty of choice, including irresistible home baked rolls, muffins etc.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ga297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Over our 10 day stay in PEI we had 4 night at the Inn. The Inn staff were wonderful. They stored our suitcases while we cycled around the Island. The location was perfect - several excellent restaurants all within easy walking distance. The location is also close to the theatre and waterfront. There are several great walks available from the front door. We chose a compact room because we only planned to be in the room to sleep. It was small but more than adequate. If you like to spend time in your room, I suggest something larger. I would definitely go back to the Inn and would recommend it friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barb F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

We, (two adults and 2 1/2 year old), were very happy with our two night stay. The Inn is run by a very friendly young man who strives to please and it shows. This is no luxury inn but we found it a value considering its proximity to the centre of town a beautiful waterfront park nearby. We would definitely come back.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EU-Travelwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.3 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
429 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
629 reviews
0.4 mi away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward by Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fairholm National Historic Inn
Fairholm National Historic Inn
#6 of 23 in Charlottetown
280 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rodd Charlottetown
Rodd Charlottetown
#7 of 23 in Charlottetown
495 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbour House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbour House

Property: The Harbour House
Address: 9 Grafton St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1K3, Canada (Formerly Heritage Harbour House Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Charlottetown
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charlottetown
#1 Luxury Hotel in Charlottetown
#2 Best Value Hotel in Charlottetown
#3 Business Hotel in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Harbour House 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Harbour House, we've combined the elegant heritage character of our property with contemporary amenities and comfortable furnishings to make you feel at home during your stay with us. Our accommodation options range from suites to rooms for those traveling on a budget, and are suitable for all types of travelers from groups and families to individuals and long-term renters. Included with your stay is a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast featuring your choice of sweet or savory hot entree and other breakfast selections. We also include free off-street parking with your stay. Need information about Charlottetown, directions to a venue, or just want to talk PEI in general? We're always available to chat. If we're not at the registration desk, we invite you to ring the desk bell and we'll come join you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your The Harbour House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Harbour House Hotel Charlottetown
Heritage Harbour Hotel
Heritage Harbour Charlottetown
The Harbour House Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing