We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great spot to stay in Charlottetown”
Review of The Harbour House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Harbour House
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
Dartmouth, Canada
1 review
“Great spot to stay in Charlottetown”
Reviewed June 2, 2011

This was my second stay at Heritage Harbour House. Lovely and comfortable place to stay. All details thoughtfully looked after. Friendly hosts and staff. All at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BWEvans48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    144
    27
    11
    1
See reviews for
152
350
28
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottetown, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 30, 2011

You just cannot beat the HHH for location, ambiance, comfort and service! When we bought tickets to the fabulous annual 'Saviour the Flavours Show' at the Confed Centre we knew we would overnight in town rather than do the drive after embibing. The HHH is just down the street in a quiet neighborhood. Breakfast was hot with lots of fresh fruit, and as the dining room was full with folks from all over we had a great visit and returned home refreshed.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IslanderbyChoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2011

The beauty and cleanliness of the premises is matched by the gentle kindness of its staff. I'm convinced the PEI tourism catch phrase "the gentle island" was coined with these folks in mind. From the moment we arrived and were greeted by Mike (soft spoken, gentle, and Zen-like) until we left, staff treated us like royalty. My mother and I were on a mini winter getaway with my two young boys. Our upstairs room featured two amazingly comfortable beds with quilts/comforters that were quite obviously freshly laundered. Our ensuite bathroom was spic and span and very lovely. The entire property is sparkling clean without a hint of dust. The wall hangings and art decorating the premises are eclectic in nature (ranging from African to Asian to Victorian) but somehow everything blends together in a very elegant way. The cozy kitchen area downstairs includes a microwave, mugs, tea (herbal and regular), coffee and cookies. Trays are on hand, with a small handwritten sign politely requesting guests use them to transport the goodies to their rooms. We thoroughly enjoyed fixing our tea and popcorn there in the evenings and scooting upstairs to watch a movie or just relax in our room while the snow softly fell outside. The coziness of the place made it the ideal winter retreat. It was warm and inviting with beautiful ambient low lighting in the evening. Our gracious hosts even have a cabinet featuring free movies you can borrow and watch in your room. As we were the only guests staying at the inn our first night, Mike told us he would ask the morning breakfast cook to fix waffles (presumably as we had children with us). Waffles it was. Our server (who also brought us fresh hand towels and face cloths in the morning) was extremely sweet, kind and quick to smile. Mike made sure we knew the best routes to get to where we were going each day, and even highly recommended a couple of great eateries that the kids would enjoy. Photos simply don't do the place justice. We had so many pleasant exchanges and experiences that it would be impossible to list them all. But we will absolutely be back, and intend to recommend this place to all our friends. And the kids? We left PEI for an overnight stay in Moncton. Even though the large chain hotel where we stayed included a pool, they both pined for the Heritage Harbour Inn. They have since told me "it's the best place ever." Indeed.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PetiteAcadienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2011

I did a lot of research before my friend and I stayed at the Heritage Harbor House Inn. From my research this was on of the cheapest within a close walking distance of downtown and definitely the best value for money. an easy walk to Downtown Charlottetown, and also the Harbor. The Heritage Harbor house is absolutely beautiful and quaint, always clean with wonderful service. The breakfast is amazing to!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeahPerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pearl, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 26, 2010

We would highly recommend this beautiful and comfortable B&B. Breakfast was very enjoyable, fresh and a nice variety. Staff are wonderful.

We are delighted with the set-up that you have for students. Our daughter is renting a room there, has great kitchen facilities available to her and it is very close to her school at Holland College/Tourism & Culinary Institute. She is happy there!

We would highly recommend this to others.

John & Bernadette

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JandB2010forAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
1 review
Reviewed December 5, 2010

If you are looking for great accommodations in PEI, then look no further! My stay at the Heritage Harbour House Bed and Breakfast was fantastic! The are located right in the heart of the city and is run by some of the nicest people I have ever met! I was in PEI for business and had never been to the area before and because of the nature of my job I had to do a lot of traveling around the province. They went above and beyond and made sure that I didn't leave in the morning without knowing exactly where I was going and the safest way in which to get there! They were extremely accommodating with my early schedule and made sure breakfast was not just ready, but was also fantastically delicious! I would definitely recommend this place to anyone wishing to visit Charlottetown!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thetraveller14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 28, 2010

Stayed one night and would definitely stay again. We had the compact room. It lived up to its name but was charming nonetheless. Breakfast room was beautiful; its large windows let in lots of sunlight. Breakfast was delicious and our hosts were very friendly. Don't hesitate to book here for your stay in C-town

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slowhandeddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.4 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Sonata Inn
The Sonata Inn
#5 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Prince Edward
0.5 mi away
Fairholm National Historic Inn
Fairholm National Historic Inn
#6 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rodd Charlottetown
Rodd Charlottetown
#7 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbour House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbour House

Property: The Harbour House
Address: 9 Grafton St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1K3, Canada (Formerly Heritage Harbour House Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Charlottetown
#1 Romantic Hotel in Charlottetown
#2 Best Value Hotel in Charlottetown
#3 Business Hotel in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Harbour House 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At The Harbour House, we've combined the elegant heritage character of our property with contemporary amenities and comfortable furnishings to make you feel at home during your stay with us. Our accommodation options range from suites to rooms for those traveling on a budget, and are suitable for all types of travelers from groups and families to individuals and long-term renters. Included with your stay is a complimentary deluxe continental breakfast featuring your choice of sweet or savory hot entree and other breakfast selections. We also include free off-street parking with your stay. Need information about Charlottetown, directions to a venue, or just want to talk PEI in general? We're always available to chat. If we're not at the registration desk, we invite you to ring the desk bell and we'll come join you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your The Harbour House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Harbour House Hotel Charlottetown
Heritage Harbour Hotel
Heritage Harbour Charlottetown
The Harbour House Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing