We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Innkeepers have thought of everything” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shipwright Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Shipwright Inn
Ranked #2 of 43 Charlottetown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Innkeepers have thought of everything”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2010

Beautiful older property in good shape, lovely yard with mature trees, very clean, good water pressure in shower, comfortable bed and linens, air conditioning and cable tv in rooms. Inn is beautifully decorated with antiques, many nautical. Lots of information about Charlottetown and PEI available. For us insomniacs, there is a guest den in the reception area and a guest parlor, as well as books, movies, and a large selection of magazines available. Also, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, cold drinks and baked goods are available at all hours. Dining room features one long table and several small, a nice feature, as not everyone is comfortable eating with strangers at a communal table. Breakfast was scrambled eggs and sausage, along with muffins, fruit, yogurt, cereal, toast and granola ... nothing fancy, but good and plentiful, a nice change from many inns which serve gourmet breakfasts that leave one still hungry.
Finally, innkeepers Judy and Trevor were very friendly. We spent one night in the least expensive room, and Judy made us feel as welcome as if we were spending two weeks in the biggest suite.
I've stayed at over a dozen inns and b&bs over the past few years, and I can say that the Shipwright is one of the best, with its attention to detail. Judy and Trevor obviously love their inn and innkeeping.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
Helpful?
Thank jmacMaritimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    27
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
56
187
17
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2010

I had the opportunity to stay at the Shipwright Inn during a business trip this winter. I stayed in the Crow's Nest room which has an amazing jacuzzi tub! The owners were very pleasant and accommodating and the facilities were great. It was no trouble staying an extra night after my flight was cancelled due to bad weather. The inn is situated at a very convenient location close to the centre of town and several great restaurants. The owners made a potentially stressful trip relaxing and enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayVanc0uver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2009

While my wife and I visited our son at university, we decided to spend the Canadian thanksgiving in PEI. Based on reviews we chose the Shipwright Inn in Charlottetown where the 3 of us were provided with a comfortable apartment room that served as a perfect base to visiting this charming island. We could not say enough about the Shipwright Inn. The inn is absolutely charming in it's historical appearance and is complemented by hosts that knew just how to be there enough to be helpful but not so much as to interfere. The free amenities (tea, snacks, bottled water) and warm breakfast were perfect. With the exception of the pullout sofa which was not very comfortable, the apartment was great with free internet, TV, full kitchen, private bedroom and spacious bathroom with tasteful decoration. The location is a minute walk from the downtown and the host recommendations on places to eat were spot on. As expatriates now living in Asia who have stayed in many places around the world, we are confident in saying this is arguably one of the best B&B in the world (and thus the reason for our first review ever!).

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VanKatwyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Ontario
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2009

We travel a lot and this B&B is right up there at the top of the list. It is a wonderful spot. Secluded and yet within walking distance of good restaurants and bars. The hosts are incredibly warm and accommodating, We stayed in the Tiller Suite. It is in the lower level (we were warmed) and smelled slightly musty when we first arrived. But it was more than spacious and beautiful and very well appointed. The common areas (yes - more than one) were comfortable. Games were provided as was an honor bar (water, soft drinks, wine, beer) - always welcome after a hard day of touring.
We had an early morning flight and missed out on the breakfast (but they gave us a discounted room rate) and I am sorry to have missed that as everything else was just over the top.
As I said, the only regret is that we hadn't booked to stay for a week!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raylene56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2009

This February was our first stay at The Shipwright Inn

On our arrival we were made to feel welcome and our cases were taken up to our suite. We were staying in The Officer's Wardroom, which is a comfortable, well appointed suite.

The suite features a large sitting room with a propane fire, television and a writing desk; there is comfortable seating with a settee and two arm chairs. Also in this room is a kitchenette with a sink, microwave and cupboards containing necessary kitchen items.

There is a small alcove off the sitting room which contains a double bed , a small bedside table and one other larger table.

Off the sitting room is a luxurous, spacious bathroom, beautifully decorated and featuring a spa bath, shower, toilet and wash hand basin.

The sitting room leads to a beautiful bedroom with a king size bed and wonderful cupboard space for stowing all clothes and cases; a private balcony leads off the bedroom.

We were particularly impressed with the homey atmosphere which Judy and Trevor cultivated. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble and they both went out of their way to be both informative and friendly.

We enjoyed the breakfasts which were different each day (except when they repeated our favourites) and were served to a high standard. Tea and bicuits/cakes/muffins were available in the afternnon from a self service area and were particularly welcome in the cold winter months.

Our experience at The Shipwright Inn was a pleasant, relaxing and enjoyable stay and we are looking forward to a return visit this Fall.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smudge013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
327 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2009

I've stayed at the Shipwright whenever visiting Charlottetown since 2002 and I have probably slept in every room in this gorgeous house. My favourite remains the lovely Quarterdeck, tucked away to the left of the dining room on the main floor, with its own fireplace, jacuzzi tub, and wonderful antique furnishings. But it's hard to describe the ambience and charm of the shipwright without pictures. (Fortunately there are lots on its web site.) Trevor and Judy are fabulous hosts, preparing a hot multi-course and varied breakfast every morning. The whole house is spotless and filled with amazing artifacts, games, books, along with an array of teas and coffees and afternoon cakes and cookies on the sideboard in the dining room. The Inn is well-located, right across the street from the Dundee Arms restaurant and bar, and within walking distance to everything, but on a quiet street. The Shipwright deserves its 5 stars!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DLCAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2008

I stayed here for a few nights while attending a conference in Ch'town and just adored it. My room was cozy and charming, the breakfasts were decadent (bananabread french toast?!), the coffee was excellent, and the hosts went WELL beyond the 'call of duty' to make me feel welcome and relaxed. All of my colleagues were staying at the conference hotel and were VERY envious of my choice of lodgings since it was far more charming and more reasonably priced too. Thanks to Trevor and Judy for their generosity and time. I only wished I could have stayed longer. ...

  • Liked — Hospitality, cozy room, delicious food
  • Disliked — That I couldn't stay longer....
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Pamplemousie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.3 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Sonata Inn
The Sonata Inn
#5 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.4 mi away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward
Delta Hotels Prince Edward
#4 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fairholm National Historic Inn
Fairholm National Historic Inn
#6 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shipwright Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shipwright Inn

Property: Shipwright Inn
Address: 51 Fitzroy St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1R4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shipwright Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Award-Winning 5 Star B&B, centrally located in Olde Charlottetown, has been rated as the "Best B&B on Prince Edward Island" and one of the "Top Ten B&B's" in Canada by Frommer's Travel Guides and is now ranked as the top 5-star accommodation in Prince Edward Island by TravelMyth. The Inn, which was built in 1865 has unique period antiques and artwork which have been collected for your enjoyment. We offer warm, Island hospitality, attentive service and believe in pampering all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Shipwright Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shipwright Inn Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing