We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shipwright Inn Is Ship-Shape”
Review of Shipwright Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Shipwright Inn
Ranked #3 of 44 Charlottetown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is a beautifully decorated inn within easy walking distance of downtown restaurants and attractions, including the Anne of Green Gables musical. The hosts were wonderful; the food was incredible; the inn was charming. We loved the pastry bar. We would absolutely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ProfDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (355)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 355 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2013

Everything you could wish in an INN. The host welcomes you and take time to show you around. Afternoon beverages and pastries are available, rooms are so well decorated, Linens and bath towels smells fresh, the bed is comfortable, bathrobes and all the amenities are available. It is a quiet neighbourhood and the tranquility in the Inn is appreciated. The building itself is a charm. The breakfast is very fancy and taste delicious. The Inn is well situated and close to everything in Charlottetown.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jp L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Every detail was thought of...we enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this lovely home.
The location was great...walked to Anne of Green Gables musical and felt safe walking 'home' in the dark.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graynuns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We have stayed at the Shipwright Inn in June 2012 and in Sept 2013 and have thoroughly enjoyed our stay with these lovely hosts. The building is an amazing piece of history and so well decorated with various Victorian antique items that really add to the historic ambience of the beautiful Inn. We have never been so pleased to be served such a wonderful breakfast every morning by such warm and friendly staff. My husband has a nut allergy and they made every effort to ensure he was given a nut free meal that was equally as good. We found the rooms very neat, tidy and fresh, comfy beds too. The location is very convenient walking distance to the downtown area and we were happy to take the recommendation of the few great restaurants in the area recommended by Judy (Prince Water Corner Restaurant - Amazing seafood meals) I would recommend this Inn to anyone travelling to Charlottetown because it just feels like a warm cozy blanket when you get yourself settled into the many different decorated rooms. Small cookies and snacks and drinks available all day as well. Would return again next time we are in beautiful Charlottetown...xxoo

Room Tip: Ask for the Captains Room it has a great sitting area and overlooks the front garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corinne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We just spent four nights at this lovely inn in Charlottetown, PEI, and we were pleased at every turn. The accommodation (Tiller Flat) was perfect for us with its full kitchen and otherwise generous size. We enjoyed a private entrance and a great deal of privacy and quietude. The location was close to the services in the downtown area, and this runner could always find an interesting course for great morning runs. The hosts and staff were congenial, and we did not want for anything. it had the feel of being "home." Breakfast, served between 8 and 9 AM, was always interesting and well prepared. The exterior of the inn and garden were well done, and the interior was tasteful and welcoming.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank george_shepard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

This lovely B and B is right where one wants it: near everything you want to visit in old Charlottetown. Our daughter, granddaughter and we had adjoining rooms. Quiet and peaceful. Breakfast was not to everyone's taste that day ( a bit too 'gourmet' with spicy sausage) A plainer, basic option might be good.Interesting though.Our hosts were charming and accommodating and offered tea, hot chocolate, and evening treats along with a selection of magazines. The rooms were delightful. (our granddaughter enjoyed especially her own little alcove). The grounds and verandas are delightful...love this place and have stayed here probably 4-5 times over the years. It is nicer than ever!

Room Tip: The one with the alcove/single bed is Wheelhouse
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shar967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Spacious room with extra touches such as microwave and popcorn package. On the clothes rack were hung long white gloves, a top hat, man's vest, etc.- wonderful Victorian memorabilia. hosts are pleasant, talkative, interested/interesting and congenial.beautiful flowers in garden and some nice porches. Easy walking distance to all downtown attractions. We would have preferred that more latitude be given for breakfast hours. These are set for between 8:00 and 9:00 a.m. Also, you had to work to figure out the breakfast menu. That is, the daily hot egg special is clearly stated on the menu sheet on the table but it was only through an accidental overhearing that we found out you could order other items such as fried eggs if you wanted. Owners are rightly proud of what they have established here.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.3 mi away
Fairholm National Historic Inn
Fairholm National Historic Inn
#6 of 23 in Charlottetown
296 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
766 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Sonata Inn
The Sonata Inn
#5 of 23 in Charlottetown
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
668 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
465 reviews
0 mi away
Dundee Arms Inn
Dundee Arms Inn
#13 of 23 in Charlottetown
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shipwright Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shipwright Inn

Address: 51 Fitzroy St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1R4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottetown
Price Range: $96 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shipwright Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Award-Winning 5 Star B&B, centrally located in Olde Charlottetown, has been rated as the "Best B&B on Prince Edward Island" and one of the "Top Ten B&B's" in Canada by Frommer's Travel Guides and is now ranked as the top 5-star accommodation in Prince Edward Island by TravelMyth. The Inn, which was built in 1865 has unique period antiques and artwork which have been collected for your enjoyment. We offer warm, Island hospitality, attentive service and believe in pampering all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Expedia so you can book your Shipwright Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shipwright Inn Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing