We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our time at the Shipwright!”
Review of Shipwright Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shipwright Inn
Ranked #2 of 43 Charlottetown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Loved our time at the Shipwright!”
Reviewed August 7, 2011

My mom and sister and I stayed in the Tiller Flat, the basement apartment with a full kitchen, living room, bedroom, and pull-out couch. We loved it! Judy and Trevor were wonderful hosts and provided a beautiful place to stay. Breakfast was amazing every morning, and my sister especially enjoyed the treats set out for guests every afternoon at 3. Our room was clean and our stay a pleasure. We loved being able to walk to everything in downtown Charlottetown including the boardwalk along the harbor and the shops on Victoria Row. Thank you, Trevor and Judy! We had a great time staying with you!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizjohnsonbooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DREAMER55, Owner at Shipwright Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2011
You guys were such fun! The afternoon treats are certainly deadly as far as your waistline goes but to die for ..yes!! The pleasure was all ours. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    31
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
56
202
17
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Judy and Trevor Pye were wonderful hosts and a pleasure to talk to. We stayed two nights of our nine day vacation with them and really slept well! The room was great - we loved the antiques and the bathroom was perfect. The breakfasts we had were amazing and the service was perfect. The inn's location was not far from the center of town, and we walked everywhere. The beverages and sweet afternoon snacks were somethng to look forward to after a long day of sightseeing. I would have to say that our visit at the Shipwright Inn and Charlottetown was one of the best parts of our trip.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzini55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston,Ma
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Judy and Trevor are gracious hosts and very helpful. Our room was so comfortable and clean. We arrived for our honeymoon and Judy and Trevor were more than kind and we really felt they were working to ensure we had a memorable time. The breakfasts were to die for as well! Couldn't be happier with our choice and we cannot wait to return! An absolutely beautiful spot.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsTrepanier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Judy makes u feel very much at home and the rooms are very comfortable and interesting artifacts the breakfast and snacks and cold drinks is exceptional would recommend this bb highly

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadinej62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton New Brunswick
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Spent one night at the Shipwright, probably the fifth or sixth time I have stayed there. It is my choice when travelling to Charlottetown for business or pleasure. Exceptionally clean, all rooms are unique and a good size. This is located right downtown and an easy walk to some fantastic restaurants. Free parking is secure and off the street. This is a quiet place to relax and unwind, the rooms have two person jet tubs. The breakfast you get in the morning is made to your liking by friendly and professional staff. Value for the money is obvious the moment you are greeted at the door.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rickvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Our stay at the Shipwright Inn was enhanced at every turn by the wonderful staff and ownership. They provided excellent service, advice, and assistance.

Our accommodation was the 'Officers Wardroom', located at the back of the premise on the second floor. It consisted of 2 rooms and a bath. The sitting room included a double bed, a kitchenette, and the sitting area with a large, comfortable sofa, chairs, and a desk alcove work area. The bedroom included a very spacious closet area, the super comfortable, king bed, and opened onto a balcony with two chairs and a table, which overlooked the rear of the property. The bath includes a terrific 'air-jet' system and can accommodate two (if you choose!). There is a shower and sink, of course, and all looked newly refitted and VERY clean.

The best thing about our suite was the fact that, with our bath or bedroom window open, we could catch the aroma of Nick cooking breakfast in the mornings! No problem getting out of bed for the breakfasts here!!

The proximity of the Shipwright Inn to all the restaurants and events in downtown Charlottetown really set it above any other choices we could have made for a place to stay. At most, we walked 7 - 8 blocks to a corner "lobster pound", and 3 to Cow's Ice Cream! What could be better?

Only the fact that we had planned such a short stay in Charlottetown was our least favorite part of the trip. If it hadn't been for the easy going friendliness of the Shipwright owners, Trevor & Judy, our stay would not have been as fantastic as it turned out.

We believe that we stayed at the most convenient and most well run B&B in Charlottetown. We can't wait for a reason to take us back there. We'll stay at the Shipwright again - for certain!

Room Tip: Talk to Trevor, or Judy and let them know what you like/expect/want, if they have it available, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoJackson3552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DREAMER55, Owner at Shipwright Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2011
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. Our staff, we believe are our greatest asset and it is always good to know that the customer care and service that they provide help in making our guests experience as unique and as pleasurable as can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

We had such a lovely visit at the Shipwright Inn! We stayed in the Officer's Wardroom and thoroughly enjoyed it. The breakfasts were all wonderful and the service was great. I can't wait for the opportunity to go back!

We were really glad we chose the Shipwright Inn. It was close to the downtown but still very quiet. The staff was very kind and helpful. Staying in a heritage home was really a fun experience and we enjoyed the cozy atmosphere in our room.

I would highly recommend the Shipwright Inn!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walrus41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DREAMER55, Owner at Shipwright Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2011
Many thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review and your kind words. We pride ourselves on our Customer Care and delivering great Island hospitality and so it is always rewarding to hear that it is greatly appreciated by our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.2 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
721 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
604 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#4 of 23 in Charlottetown
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fairholm National Historic Inn
Fairholm National Historic Inn
#6 of 23 in Charlottetown
276 reviews
0.5 mi away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward by Marriott
0.1 mi away
Rodd Charlottetown
Rodd Charlottetown
#8 of 23 in Charlottetown
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shipwright Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shipwright Inn

Property: Shipwright Inn
Address: 51 Fitzroy St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1R4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shipwright Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Award-Winning 5 Star B&B, centrally located in Olde Charlottetown, has been rated as the "Best B&B on Prince Edward Island" and one of the "Top Ten B&B's" in Canada by Frommer's Travel Guides and is now ranked as the top 5-star accommodation in Prince Edward Island by TravelMyth. The Inn, which was built in 1865 has unique period antiques and artwork which have been collected for your enjoyment. We offer warm, Island hospitality, attentive service and believe in pampering all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shipwright Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shipwright Inn Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing