We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice old hotel in a great location”
Review of Rodd Charlottetown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rodd Charlottetown
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2010

If you are looking for large, modern rooms, you probably won't be satisfied with this hotel, BUT...if you are accept that it was built by the Canadian Railroad in 1912 and that it has been weel-maintained and modernized to a certain degree, you will be very happy, particularly with its proximity to downtown Charlottetown, old town and the waterfront area --- they are all in easy walking distance. The rooms are small, but the carpeting, and furnishings were relatively new. The bathroom is tiny, but everything you need is there, including nice amenities. It's cool to see how they have retrofitted the original plumbing. I'm guessing that the tile is also original, but is in pretty good shape. The Internet service/connection that the hotel offers is poor -- slow and kept dropping -- BUT, I found an unprotected wireless connection for the "Inn" next door to them that was easily accessible (no password required) and very reliable. I only ordered breakfast room service from the restaurant (no lunch or dinner -- there are over 300 restaurants to explore in Charlottetown) but the breakfasts were wonderful and the service was fast!

They have added new flat screen LCD TVs to the guest rooms and offered a decent selection of channels. There is also an in-room beverage refrigerator that they put two complimentary bottles of water in every day. I also purchased some of my own sodas, etc. from a local store and I was all set.

For the price and location, this is a MUCH better deal than the downtown Delta where you are likely to pay at least $100 a night more.

Be sure to make a trip to "Founder's Hall" to check out all of the local attractions and tours. They also have a pretty nice gift shop with reasonable prices right in the information center at Founder's Hall.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendywwBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (532)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

485 - 491 of 532 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2010

I stayed here for business along with some of my colleagues. I would never have chosen this hotel, It was chosen by our work place.

It must have been lovely in it's day, but now it is just old and tired. If you have allergies this is not the place for you. It's damp and smelly with mould growing between the tiles in the tub, and under the peeling wallpaper. The hallway on the 4th floor smells really bad.

The place is in dire need of a renovation. In my room the curtains were badly faded, the bedspreads looked like they have been on the beds since the hotel was built in the1930's..... The tiles in the bathroom are worn and dirty looking. I thought the shower was the one saving grace at this hotel. The pressure was excellent, but I had only been in the shower moments when the warter turned ice cold. I jumped out of the spray and waited a bit before it warmed up again, then I had to jump out again as the water became too hot to stay in.
The room doors are old and shut very hard so you hear slamming doors all night.
I think that the cleaning staff do well for what they have to work with. It is difficult to remove smells from old damp buildings and old carpets.

There is a restaraunt and room service available at certain times throughout the day but I did not use it except for a very expensive juice and muffin.

Parking is very limited and you might even have to park on the street.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emacx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2010

My husband and I recently planned a weekend to Prince Edward Island for some relaxation. We chose to stay at the Rodd Charlottetown due to it's prime location in the downtown core of Charlottetown. Everything was within walking distance from the hotel. The hotel was clean and the staff were very helpful. The hotel has a historical beauty to it. There was a beautiful wedding happening while we were there which made us want to renew our vows and through another party.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joliena2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

This old Inn looks historic and victorian from the outside, and is in a great location, but the inside is dated and run-down. My first room had a very moldy ceiling tile above the entryway that was the result of a leaky in-ceiling air conditioner in the room. They called maintenance to fix it, so they came up and replaced the tile with a new one (which doesn't solve the problem). While they were replacing it, I saw that the mold had spread to the walls, above the ceiling tiles, so I asked to stay in a different room. My next room had the same problem with a leaky in-ceiling air conditioner, only the tile hadn't progressed to moldy yet. Only wet water stains. The air conditioner leaked non stop, which left drips down the wallpapered walls and made for a damp carpet. The room decor is so dated. The bathrooms are old. It's too bad because it has potential to be a nice historic building.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank EmmaGrace11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2010

I was supposed to stay there all week but I decided to find something else after two nights (I decided to move out after the first but I had to pay the night because I had to check out by 11am)

Good:
-Original tilework and decor
-RoofTop Balcony has a great view
-Good location, a short walk to anywhere worth going/eating in the downtown
-Decent Soaps/Shampoo

Bad:
-Original Tiles and decor (Grout was dirty and the bedcover looked older than I was)
-Room is incredibly small
-Walls very thin, I could hear very clearly the goings on in the other room and I'm sure they overheard all my conversations
-Doors slam shut quite easily.
-The toilet is right against the wall resulting in discomfort when using it.
-Shower was way too low flow
-No Office Chair/Proper desk
-Wifi reception was poor in my room near the corner, luckily the room is so small the ethernet cable could almost reach anywhere in the room.
-Bed is small, old and soft, did not sleep well. Most hotels have at least a full queen or king for a single bed room

Conclusion
I don't think its a bad hotel to stay for a night or two, but I found the size of the rooms to be too small for someone who travels for a week at a time and wants more comfort. The staff was also not able to accomodate my request for a bigger room (They said all non-suites were about the same size) and that they had no suites available for me. I may try this hotel again if I can book a suite at a reasonable rate in the Off-season.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pferguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2010

Beds are too soft.. it was like sleeping in a hammock.. NO support

Walls are EXTREMELY thin. Conversations could be heard clearly through the walls.

Doors do not close lightly, so were being slammed every time someone went in or out.

While I realize you can't control the guests.... there was a large party on a Saturday night, with people from the party, loud, and very drunk crossing in front of the front desk, going into the elevators to go to the rooms. Front Desk staff had to know they would be loud and noisy on the floors they were going to. Parties went on until past 3:30 a.m.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 041410f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2010

Charming property steeped in the history of the city. Very comfortable with all the room and technical amenities one would expect in a capital city. Friendly staff prepared to quickly respond to all requests.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philatelic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
2.3 mi away
Rodd Royalty
Rodd Royalty
#13 of 24 in Charlottetown
572 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 24 in Charlottetown
468 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward by Marriott
0.3 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 24 in Charlottetown
670 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 24 in Charlottetown
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodd Charlottetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodd Charlottetown

Address: 75 Kent St | PO Box 159, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1N1, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Charlottetown
Price Range: $85 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rodd Charlottetown 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you step into the grand lobby of this four and a half star hotel with its marble floors and barrel--vaulted ceilings, you will be surrounded by the historic elegance that sets Rodd Charlottetown Hotel in a class apart from all other Island hotels. Built in 1931 by CN Railways, Rodd Charlottetown features the elegance and attention to detail synonymous with the historic Canadian National Railway Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rodd Charlottetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodd Charlottetown Hotel Charlottetown
Rodd Hotel Charlottetown
Rodd Charlottetown Prince Edward Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing