We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (612)
Filter reviews
612 results
Traveler rating
214
233
94
45
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
214
233
94
45
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop patio historic hotel dinner theater an older hotel old world charm rooms are small limited parking lots of character within walking distance front desk staff corner room hockey tournament central location location is great modern amenities water front beds were very comfortable
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 612 reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2019 via mobile

So it’s actually interesting we didn’t stay at the hotel but we did visit the hotel which has a lot of historical character. The staff are fantastic they will show you all sorts of historical stuff and you can go up to the patio and have a drink and just have a look around the city because you can see everything from up there. Check out the restaurant , it’s very dated but it’s interesting and the wait staff know a lot about the history of the building which is a historic landmark

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank HappyWanderer3276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine T, General Manager at Rodd Charlottetown, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2019

Dear HappyWanderer3276

Thanks so much for your comments from your recent visit with us. Our historic hotel is fantastic and our team all love to share information about the history of our hotel and stories from past guests who have stayed at our hotel. The view of the city is fantastic from our rooftop patio and you should never miss an opportunity to eat in our great Chambers restaurant. We have just changed our menu and have many wonderful choices awaiting you on your next visit. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2018

next time we would stay at the holman!
good thing it is close to the theatre (confederation) but this
place is old.... i think (they wouldn't say) they are renovating the whole
place but starting from the top down... we were on the 3rd or 4th floor
and it was ancient... room so small we could barely walk around ...
they used extension cords just to plug in the tv so plugging in electronics was not possible .
worst part - the electric light switch was so close to the edge of the tub that i feared water
would get in it when i showered... certainly not to code ... luckily the fire dept is right next door !!
Staff was above average - clearly well trained and low turn-over
Charlottetown really needs a hampton inn! or an embassy suites!!

Room tip: look at a different hotel unless you have a renovated room
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ravenB1885MR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine T, General Manager at Rodd Charlottetown, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2018

Dear Wendy G

So sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your recent experience at our hotel. We are indeed renovating to better serve our guests and have completed one floor of bathrooms and are continuing with the rest this fall. Following that we will update our bedrooms, electrical outlets and windows. Our team of staff do work hard to ensure that all of our guests are comfortable and enjoy their experiences with us. We look forward to completing our renovations and an opportunity to welcome you back in the future where we will be better able to serve your needs. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2018 via mobile

Hotel has some old world charm. However listening to the guy snore in the room next to me was not fun. I could hear conversations and the tvs in rooms on both sides of mine. Otherwise, service was good and friendly.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank EAP905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine T, General Manager at Rodd Charlottetown, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2018

Dear EAP905

We appreciate your feedback and apologize that your room was not quiet during your recent stay with us. As we continue with our renovations we will be working on better sound proofing or our guestrooms. We do look forward to an opportunity to serve your accommodations needs in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2018 via mobile

This place is a dump
You can do much better than this
I felt like running out into the night and joining the street people
If there’s more than one person in the room one has to step into the bathroom so the other one can walk around
I looked for a closet to hang my coat up
I couldn’t believe what they called a closet

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank darrelldd2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine T, General Manager at Rodd Charlottetown, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2018

Dear Darrell d D

I am so sorry to hear that you were not happy with your recent experience with us. As a CN hotel built in 1931, our rooms are indeed smaller than more modern hotels. Please contact me directly as I would like to opportunity to address your concerns for you. We work hard to ensure that all of our guests enjoy their experience and look forward to hearing from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2018

We spent one October night 2018 in an old-style but comfortable room. No noise overnight. Very pleasant rooftop observation deck overlooking town and a quaint neighborhood. We prefer vintage hotels compared to the more modern Euro-look. We cannot endorse the restaurant off the lobby. Poor, cold steak. Dead vegetables. Overpriced. The Irish Pub down the street would be a better spot to eat.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 781edr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine T, General Manager at Rodd Charlottetown, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2018

Dear 781edr

Thank you for your review and comments from your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the wonderful character of our older style hotel and our convenient location close to the waterfront. So sorry to hear that your dining experience in our pub was disappointing. I have discussed this with our Chef and we would love to invite you back for a complimentary meal with us. Please contact me directly and I would be happy to arrange this for you. Thanks again for letting us know and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews