We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (615)
Filter reviews
615 results
Traveler rating
215
234
95
45
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
215
234
95
45
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop patio historic hotel dinner theater an older hotel old world charm rooms are small limited parking lots of character within walking distance corner room hockey tournament central location location is great modern amenities water front called the front desk victoria row
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
229 - 234 of 615 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2016 via mobile

Just spent four nights at the Rodd Charlottetown. This is a well-run heritage property located mere steps from everything in the downtown area. Our room was nice and clean and had lots of character. On-site amenities such as the pool, hot tub and sauna we're also well-kept and clean. The front desk staff were excellent, helpful and very friendly. The highlight of our stay at the Rodd was going to the dinner theatre. The show that was playing was 'Scandalous' – a hilarious mix of sketch comedy, improv and musical performances by an unbelievably talented cast. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Gewurztraweener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine T, General Manager at Rodd Charlottetown, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2016

Dear Gewurztraweener

We are so pleased that you enjoyed our lovely heritage hotel and our excellent team. We love sharing the great character of our "old world charm" hotel and hearing that people enjoy it as much as we do. Our dinner theatre "Scandalous" is a great evening of fun, good food, great talent and loads of laughs and we are glad to hear that it was a highlight for you. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to our lovely hotel on your next visit to Charlottetown!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2016

It's a picturesque hotel decked out opulently. The large front porch and shady side yard makes a restful place to relax. It's within walking distant to the wharf where the tours and great seafood restaurants are located. The hotel itself shows it's age with narrow halls, doorways and overfilled rooms. The bed was really soft and only had space for a night table on one side. Our room did have a small fridge which was a nice touch.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Yvette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine T, General Manager at Rodd Charlottetown, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2016

Dear Yvette C

We are so pleased to hear that your enjoyed your recent stay at our Historic Hotel in the heart of downtown Charlottetown. We love our large front porch area for welcoming our guests and allowing a place for people to enjoy the day. Built in 1931 as a CN hotel we maintain our vintage "old world charm" while offering modern amenities. This historic theme will be incorporated as we renovate our guestrooms beginning this fall. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Charlottetown.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2016

This hotel is old but clean and very friendly staff. You get a real key to the room instead of a plastic card. The room is small but decorated very nice. Only bad thing is a very tiny bathroom. The roof top deck is a great place to take pictures of the city. Only a short walk to many stores and a mall. Queen Elizabeth actually stayed here.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Williamsgrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine T, General Manager at Rodd Charlottetown, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2016

Dear Williamsgrandma

Thank you for your kind feedback about our historic hotel from your recent stay with us. So pleased that you enjoyed our fabulous location, great staff and the wonderful view from the fifth floor patio, which is indeed a great place to relax. Our vintage bathrooms are somewhat small in comparison to newer hotels in keeping with the CN characteristics of our property. We very much look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Charlottetown. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2016

My son and I stayed here for two nights during our visit to Prince Edward Island. We were in search of regional history and the Rodd did not disappoint! The building is grand and charming, but the room decor is dated. We had a pretty view of the St. James church spires. The rooftop deck was a relaxing spot to have coffee or a glass of wine.

Room tip: Rooms on higher floors have a better view of the city.
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Martine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine T, General Manager at Rodd Charlottetown, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2016

Dear Martine H

We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our "historic gem of a hotel" in downtown Charlottetown. We are in the planning stages for guest room renovations in keeping with our heritage and with the vintage look of our rooms. Our rooftop patio offers a very pretty view of Charlottetown and is a fabulous place to relax with a glass of wine. We very much look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Charlottetown!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2016

Really cute hotel. I was not sure what to expect when my husband was given an actual key to the room when we checked in instead of a card that is read. But the place is really cute. Charming is probably how you can best describe the rooms. Really close walk to the center of town as well.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kmc1471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine T, General Manager at Rodd Charlottetown, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2016

Dear kmc1471

Thanks so much for your kind review of our "old world charm" hotel from your recent stay with us. We love that you enjoyed the charming character of our historic hotel complete with the actual old style room key. Our prime location in the center of Charlottetown is second to none for walking around our great city. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to PEI.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews