We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful historic hotel with great rate”
Review of Rodd Charlottetown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rodd Charlottetown
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 2, 2004

We stayed in the Rodd Charlottetown Hotel on July 7, 2004 for 2 nights after visiting Shediac & Parlee Beach. Join the Rodd Equity Club & you'll get the incredibly cheap rate of $101 (instead of close to $175), which was absolutely amazing for a downtown Charlottetown hotel.

The hotel was historic (my duaghters said it was OLD but my parent-in-laws said it was CLASSIC).
The small hotel rooms we stayed in had no harbour views (you could only see the harbour on the top floor) but the rate was too good to miss. The rooftop patio was beautiful and you could see the lovely Charlottetown Harbour and most of Charlottetown downtown.

The location of the hotel was great and convenient as we could walk to the Confederation Centre of the Arts to see the musical "Anne of Green Gables" which was absolutely outstanding. Tim Hortons nearby opens at 6:00 in the morning and we could get some breakfast before boarding the ferry from PEI to the mainland at 8:30 a.m.

The indoor swimming pool was small but the swim was extremely enjoyable as it was like a private pool to ourselves.

Chambers, the restaurant on the Ground Floor, offered excellent food for the value (a 3-course dinner for $15) and they could serve us dinner in a short time of 1 and a 1/2 hours before our Anne of Green Gables show.

Although Delta Prince Edward had a much better harbour view and more modern hotel facilities, the price was way higher. I'll go for the Rodd Charlottetown again if I'm in Charlottetown next time.

10  Thank Wismergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (529)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

509 - 515 of 529 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Halifax, NS
117
Reviewed July 21, 2004

I needed a room in Charlottetown on July 20th, This is the middle of tourist season so fairly expensive everywhere. I got a quote from the Rodd Charlottetown for 175 and then minutes later when I went to accept this the raised the price $22 because it was there last room. I thought OK maybe all they have left is an upgraded room so fine. When I got there it was a "standard" room which really ticked me off. Not only that the Room AC (ceiling mounted) had a dark looking stain beneath it. I think it was mold. Very dissapointed in this hotel and the service.

17  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank Jabe1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine T, General Manager at Rodd Charlottetown, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Corlac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine T, General Manager at Rodd Charlottetown, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Véron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine T, General Manager at Rodd Charlottetown, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank MarcusAlmere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine T, General Manager at Rodd Charlottetown, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jean b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine T, General Manager at Rodd Charlottetown, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
2.3 mi away
Rodd Royalty
Rodd Royalty
#12 of 23 in Charlottetown
571 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
465 reviews
0.4 mi away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward by Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
#9 of 23 in Charlottetown
292 reviews
3.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 3 in Cornwall
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodd Charlottetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodd Charlottetown

Address: 75 Kent St | PO Box 159, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1N1, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Price Range: $84 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rodd Charlottetown 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you step into the grand lobby of this four and a half star hotel with its marble floors and barrel--vaulted ceilings, you will be surrounded by the historic elegance that sets Rodd Charlottetown Hotel in a class apart from all other Island hotels. Built in 1931 by CN Railways, Rodd Charlottetown features the elegance and attention to detail synonymous with the historic Canadian National Railway Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rodd Charlottetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodd Charlottetown Hotel Charlottetown
Rodd Hotel Charlottetown
Rodd Charlottetown Prince Edward Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing