We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Canadian Vacation”
Review of Rodd Charlottetown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rodd Charlottetown
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Very Nice hotel; staff are very friendly; it is well located in the downtown area; very easy to get to from airport and well located that if one has a rental car it is easy enough to leave the downtown area.
My only issue with the hotel was that while I was there, they were hosting weddings. As we were on the room right above the ballroom we heard the music into early hours of the morning two nights in a row.
There was not much the staff could do about this off course, but they could have moved me to another room.
That said they were nice enough to adjust my bill for our lack of sleep!!!
all in all - i would recommend to anyone and would stay there myself again.

Room Tip: if there is a wedding scheduled if u are staying on a weekend, please ask for a room change or ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nationalelf78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlottetown, General Manager at Rodd Charlottetown, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Thank you for your comments. It was unfortunate that you could hear the wedding party going on that night and we should have moved you to a quitter location. I am glad the front desk addressed your problems.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (534)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

355 - 361 of 534 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014

Stayed here 1 week for business. The beds are very comfortable, the gym is new and while, it's small, it's equipment is brand new. The gym has 3 cardio machines, free weights and a few other things; for a hotel, it's a decent gym if that's important to you. The food is VERY good at the in house restaurant and the staff is wonderfully friendly. The hotel is old and has been here since the 1930's, but it's renovated and it's a classic. It's the only hotel I've been given a key (actual key) for the room, in about 15 or 20's years, but that's part of the charm and character of this place. If you're use to posh and chic then this isn't the place for you, but if you enjoy colonial furniture, decor, ceiling treatments and feel, then try the Rodd Charlottetown. At minimum, you'll have a great night sleep (it was exceptionally quiet the week I was here and never once heard people up and down the halls or slamming doors). It's also downtown and within walking distance to most attractions in the downtown area.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madeva1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlottetown, General Manager at Rodd Charlottetown, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Thank you for your remarks. Yes we are pleased as is our clients with our gym and the new equipment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Being from PEI, I've had the opportunity to stay at the Rodd Charlottetown on several occasions and have always had a pleasant experience. The most recent stay was November 2013 when I stayed one night. The rooms are clean and the staff are friendly. I love the old architecture and how centrally located it is-walking distance to anything downtown and depending on the room you can have great views of the Charlottetown harbor.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RedIsleGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlottetown, General Manager at Rodd Charlottetown, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Thank you and yes our location to downtown Charlottetown and our beautiful hotel are a plus for many travelers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Older hotel with smaller rooms but very well maintained and reasonable rates. Easy walking distance to all downtown attractions and restaurants. Free outdoor parking at side of hotel which is a real plus for downtown. Nice breakfast in hotel with large menu and white linen service, other meals available and dinner theater in house at some times of year . There is a nice pool but I did not use it on this stay. My first choice of hotel when in Charlottetown for shopping or Confederation Center Theater .

Room Tip: The executive floor or 4th floor tends to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PEILynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlottetown, General Manager at Rodd Charlottetown, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Thank you for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

It was a beautiful hotel, even though obvious old, was in very well kept condition and spotlessly clean. My room had windows on two sides with a beautiful view. It was also very close to the downtown area with banks, shopping and restaurants within walking distance. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaanro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlottetown, General Manager at Rodd Charlottetown, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Thank you for your comments I will pass them along to the staff who take great pride in 'their hotel'.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We loved the hotel itself and the town of Charlottetown. We had a lovely corner room overlooking the street. The room was spacious and well appointed and the bath while a design throwback was lovely. While most of the staff was personable, they didn't seem to be well informed. We had questions about the ferry which they couldn't answer - as to how long it would take to drive from the hotel, and they never offered us the discount that they get. We paid full price! We had dinner and breakfast in the dining room and the food was good but the service was very slow considering there were only 3 tables filled. Overall, if you want an elegant taste of times gone by, it's a nice place to stay

Room Tip: We liked the corner room facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hannahholden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlottetown, General Manager at Rodd Charlottetown, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

It bothers me that the staff even if they didn't know the answer to your questions didn't call on another staff for help. We train our staff to make sure the answer or find the answer to questions our guest have. I thank you for you kind comments on the rest of your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Torrejao4
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
charlottetown, General Manager at Rodd Charlottetown, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
2.3 mi away
Rodd Royalty
Rodd Royalty
#13 of 24 in Charlottetown
574 reviews
0.4 mi away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward
Delta Hotels Prince Edward
#4 of 24 in Charlottetown
499 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 24 in Charlottetown
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown
0.3 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 24 in Charlottetown
674 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 24 in Charlottetown
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodd Charlottetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodd Charlottetown

Address: 75 Kent St | PO Box 159, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1N1, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Charlottetown
Price Range: $84 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rodd Charlottetown 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you step into the grand lobby of this four and a half star hotel with its marble floors and barrel--vaulted ceilings, you will be surrounded by the historic elegance that sets Rodd Charlottetown Hotel in a class apart from all other Island hotels. Built in 1931 by CN Railways, Rodd Charlottetown features the elegance and attention to detail synonymous with the historic Canadian National Railway Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodd Charlottetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodd Charlottetown Hotel Charlottetown
Rodd Hotel Charlottetown
Rodd Charlottetown Prince Edward Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing