We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downtown location with reasonable rates and good breakfast.”
Review of Rodd Charlottetown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rodd Charlottetown
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
Souris, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Downtown location with reasonable rates and good breakfast.”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Older hotel with smaller rooms but very well maintained and reasonable rates. Easy walking distance to all downtown attractions and restaurants. Free outdoor parking at side of hotel which is a real plus for downtown. Nice breakfast in hotel with large menu and white linen service, other meals available and dinner theater in house at some times of year . There is a nice pool but I did not use it on this stay. My first choice of hotel when in Charlottetown for shopping or Confederation Center Theater .

Room Tip: The executive floor or 4th floor tends to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PEILynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlottetown, General Manager at Rodd Charlottetown, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    200
    77
    36
    19
See reviews for
94
170
27
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

It was a beautiful hotel, even though obvious old, was in very well kept condition and spotlessly clean. My room had windows on two sides with a beautiful view. It was also very close to the downtown area with banks, shopping and restaurants within walking distance. I would definitely recommend this hotel for a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaanro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlottetown, General Manager at Rodd Charlottetown, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments I will pass them along to the staff who take great pride in 'their hotel'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We loved the hotel itself and the town of Charlottetown. We had a lovely corner room overlooking the street. The room was spacious and well appointed and the bath while a design throwback was lovely. While most of the staff was personable, they didn't seem to be well informed. We had questions about the ferry which they couldn't answer - as to how long it would take to drive from the hotel, and they never offered us the discount that they get. We paid full price! We had dinner and breakfast in the dining room and the food was good but the service was very slow considering there were only 3 tables filled. Overall, if you want an elegant taste of times gone by, it's a nice place to stay

Room Tip: We liked the corner room facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hannahholden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlottetown, General Manager at Rodd Charlottetown, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
It bothers me that the staff even if they didn't know the answer to your questions didn't call on another staff for help. We train our staff to make sure the answer or find the answer to questions our guest have. I thank you for you kind comments on the rest of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I stayed here during a conference and it was not my first stay at this hotel. I really enjoyed the hotel and its history. Everything is quaint and charming, but guestrooms are in dire need of a renovation or at least a very good cleaning. The public areas and the rest of the property is fine and clean, but something needs to be done with the guestrooms, nonetheless I would love to return (I love historic hotels). People looking for large & modern accommodations will be disappointed. On the plus side, my room was very quiet and the windows can be opened. Rooms are quite small, but typical for this time in history (1930s). The free wifi and small fridge in the room was appreciated, but the wifi was spotty in my room and unreliable. Staff was nice, but nothing exceptional. Parking can be a problem since the spaces are limited, but it's free so it's a nice perk if you can find a spot. If you like historic hotels and charm, you will like it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bose2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlottetown, General Manager at Rodd Charlottetown, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I am looking into which room your stay in during your stay to bring it to the attention of our head housekeeper. Our housekeeping staff take great pride in their work and if we slip up we like to know. I will email you separately to get your name so we can look up the room you stayed in. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baddeck, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 10, 2013

My wife and I spent 2 nights on our honeymoon here and had a great time! All staff were attentive and friendly, room was great, and the bed was amazing! An old hotel with lots of cool historical pictures, old style decor - but in great shape - and very cool old fixtures - also in great shape. There is a difference between dated and classic, and this is classic. Location is prime and we walked everywhere. Definitely reccommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlottetown, General Manager at Rodd Charlottetown, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Congratulation on your marriage and thank you for choosing us for your honeymoon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Squamish, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Came in to check out the hotel and it was beautiful. Very nice staff and good price and decided to stay. Could walk to everything, room was so lovely, bed was comfortable. Very pleased. Great experience.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlottetown, General Manager at Rodd Charlottetown, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for your comments much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.1 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
429 reviews
2.3 mi away
Rodd Royalty
Rodd Royalty
#12 of 23 in Charlottetown
547 reviews
0.4 mi away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward by Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown
0.4 mi away
Charlottetown Inn & Conference Center
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
#9 of 23 in Charlottetown
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodd Charlottetown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodd Charlottetown

Property: Rodd Charlottetown
Address: 75 Kent St | PO Box 159, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 1N1, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rodd Charlottetown 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you step into the grand lobby of this four and a half star hotel with its marble floors and barrel--vaulted ceilings, you will be surrounded by the historic elegance that sets Rodd Charlottetown Hotel in a class apart from all other Island hotels. Built in 1931 by CN Railways, Rodd Charlottetown features the elegance and attention to detail synonymous with the historic Canadian National Railway Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodd Charlottetown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodd Charlottetown Hotel Charlottetown
Rodd Hotel Charlottetown
Rodd Charlottetown Prince Edward Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing