We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com$115
Hotels.com$115
Priceline$114
eDreams$114
CheapTickets$115
Hurb$115
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (812)
Filter reviews
812 results
Traveler rating
670
112
22
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
670
112
22
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main building unique hotel walking tour lounge area breakfast is served main inn front desk staff visiting charlottetown spent nights home away from home ian suite pei waterfront accommodations homes charm
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
101 - 106 of 812 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2018

This Hotel has charm! Hotel was completely built new from the inside but in old style. Outside it is an old historic building with several houses around that belongs to the hotel.
A Hotel with history! The manager guided all guests around and explained the history of PEI, Charlottetown and the Hotel. Rooms are comfortable, quiet with good beds.. Centrally located in the old town within walking distance to restaurants and pubs. Breakfast is good but you sit on armchairs and sofas on coffetables instead on real chairs and tables.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Beachadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan H, General Manager at The Great George, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review! I'm so glad you enjoyed the charm of our one-of-a-kind property! Our breakfast setup is equally unique and I appreciate that although it wasn't to your preference, you still had a wonderful experience overall. We hope you'll come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2018

My wife and I spent a single night before catching an early morning flight to Montreal. The hotel was great! Clean, historic, top notch staff, complimentary happy hour with decent wine. The only reason I can't give it 5 stars is there were two separate incidents of very noisy guests late night/early morning that sounded like they were in our room. Went on way too long with no effort to quiet them down. Otherwise, highly recommended.

Date of stay: July 2018
Thank MRVTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan H, General Manager at The Great George, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2018

Thank you for your compliments and feedback. I am so happy to hear you enjoyed the hotel and our fabulous team! I am sorry you had some issues with noise and sincerely apologise if this was not dealt with in a timely manner. We hope you'll visit us again so that we can have another opportunity to deliver the relaxing and peaceful stay we strive to provide all of our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2018

We made no reservations for our time in PEI. We lucked into the Great George on the day of arrival without knowing anything about the hotel. Our good fortune! I love eclectic but quality hotels - and this ticks off all the boxes! It's more of a complex than a single hotel, a conglomeration of different heritage buildings over most of a city block. From hotel rooms, to suites, to portions of houses, entire houses, or townhouses. The main building's claim to fame is that the Fathers of Confederation stayed there in 1864. Don't worry, the place firmly resides in this century! Modernized but with old world touches. Whatever is not an antique is made to look like one. The included breakfast is unique, with many hot dishes, pastries, fantastic steel cut oats, and yet no formal dining room - all guests are expected to pull up a chair in one of the many conversation areas of the front lobby. Sounds weird but it works. While this is not a cheap hotel it does not charge the prices of some of the big chains in town. It is well-worth taking a chance on this different but very well-done hotel.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank h2oman9433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan H, General Manager at The Great George, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2018

How lucky for us that you happened upon The Great George and decided to make us your home away from home while in Charlottetown. It's lovely to hear how much you enjoyed our unique property and I will be sure to pass along your compliments to our breakfast team. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on and we hope to see you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2018 via mobile

The Great George is a lovely heritage hotel in the best location in Charlottetown. It is made up of a cluster of buildings each with a few rooms. Each room is unique. Ours was very large, on 2 levels, with everything we could possibly need. The staff was the most helpful and friendly that I have encountered in a very long time. Nice touches like fresh baked cookies and drinks at 5 in the lobby, both free, were unusual and appreciated. One evening there were freshly shucked oysters, also free. The hospitality, comfort and extra touches made for an exceptional stay.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled on business
1  Thank alsisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan H, General Manager at The Great George, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2018

Thank you Alsisi for taking the time to write this review. I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and in particular that you were lucky enough to be staying with us while one of our local restaurants was showcasing their oysters during our weeknight happy hour! We truly believe in the spirit of genuine, Island hospitality so your comment regarding our team being the most friendly and helpful you've encountered in a long time is the highest compliment you could pay us. Thank you and come visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2018

We chose the Great George based on all the positive reviews on this site, and we absolutely LOVED it! We stayed in a room with 2 double beds in the main building. Lovely room, very clean and quiet, super comfy beds and pillows, and nice Aveda bath products provided. It was a hot week in Charlottetown and the ac worked well. Weeknights there is local entertainment in the lounge area, as well as complimentary beer and wine. Fresh made cookies and 2-3 other kinds of baking available throughout the day. Breakfast was very good - lots of options, and really good coffee! The staff was wonderful, so friendly and helpful. Great wifi, and free, easily accessible parking (there are several little lots and spaces scattered throughout the multiple buildings). So close to waterfront, theatre and many restaurants. You really could not do better!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank jaben713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Megan H, General Manager at The Great George, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2018

I'm grateful you decided to add your own experience to the positive reviews that inspired you to stay at The Great George and I'm delighted to know we lived up to your expectations! You certainly were here during some of our hottest days, so it's good to know your room was comfortable and that you enjoyed our "little extras" such as the guest reception, baked goods, and the Aveda products. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience online and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews