We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place - wonderful service!”
Review of The Great George

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Great George
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful place - wonderful service!”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

This place is a gem. The hotel itself has loads of charm. The rooms are totally charming and the service is incredible! The staff are friendly and very eager to make your stay as wonderful as possible. And the amenities - wonderful chocolate chip cookies, a gorgeous and warm lobby. I highly recommend this charming and wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jerryman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GG58GGS, Director of Sales at The Great George, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
and wonderful guests! We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    92
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
99
310
28
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

My friends and I stayed in Room 401 during the weekend of ECMA's in April (at the end of the hall, very roomy and so quiet and the beds were amazingly comfy! From the moment we stepped into the hotel until the time we left, we received 5 star treatment. From the warm delicious chocolate chip cookies set out every afternoon to the awesome breakfast every morning, this hotel is one of the nicest I've stayed at in a very long time and central to everything! I know where I'll be staying next time I visit Charlottetown. Thanks, Great George, for making my time in Charlottetown a truly great experience.

Room Tip: Room 401 at the end of a hall (two double beds) was roomy and quiet. There was even a yoga mat in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trinka_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirley524, Director of Sales at The Great George, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you! We're pleased you had an enjoyable stay. Looking forward to your return visit.
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Traveling for business- I was IMPRESSED. Large room, nicely furnished- everything worked, super clean, nice turn down service.

WINS= manager reception very tasty, friendly, didn't feel cheap. Breakfast- hot, tasty, much better than I expected. Staff- helpful, friendly, quick to help. Green program- skip housekeeping for the day and get a credit at local restaurants [AWESOME]
Losses= NONE

Looking forward to going back!

Room Tip: I was on the third floor- king room. Lots of space but the windows are small and the view wasn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkynSea4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel V, General Manager at The Great George, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for your review of our property and for your many kind remarks regarding the employees and the hotel! Also glad you enjoyed our Green Program. It's a relatively new program so the feedback is very important to us.

I appreciate you taking the time to post your experience here with us. Looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Rachel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sackville, New Brunswick, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

What a perfect place to welcome in Charlottetown's New Year sesquicentennial celebrations. All the action (fireworks, ice sculptures, fire pits, live music, good restaurants and bars, PEOPLE, COLD) happening right outside our door. (Important: if you book at the Great George, ask to stay in the main house, otherwise you will have to walk next door for the complementary breakfast.) We booked at the last minute and only got a room because there had been a cancellation. Our room was on the top floor (there is an elevator), well appointed with traditional furnishings, spacious, reasonably recently updated bathroom, cozy and comfortable. The staff was very welcoming, accommodating, friendly. We had come early because we knew it would be a busy day, and wanted a good parking option near the hotel. No problem, we were given parking behind the hotel and checked into our room several hours before official check-in time. Lots to do around the hotel, as it near the harbour, historic sites, downtown bars, restaurants. Lovely area for walking and sightseeing. After a great evening of wining and dining and taking in the special New Year events on George St., we were offered a beautiful complementary buffet-style champagne breakfast in the morning (this is not normal fare!) in the lovely sitting rooms, warmly appointed with old leather furniture, fireplaces, traditional decor. We sipped coffee for two hours in front of the large fireplace, talking with other guests, savoring the atmosphere. A perfect end to a perfect beginning of 2014. For those who like a traditional inn atmosphere and warm reception and service, the Great George is highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHMAC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GG58GGS, Director of Sales at The Great George, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with fellow travellers. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our welcoming staff and all the value added features of the hotel. To be a part of your perfect beginning to 2014 is an honor. May the rest of your journey through 2014 be a healthy and happy one. Come back soon, the PEI 2014 celebrations will go on all year with Celebration Zone right outside our doors.

Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Our first stay in PEI and this was a great spot. Close to the harbour and local restaurants, the Inn was perfect for us. They also had a complimentary breakfast as well. Would recommend to others for their stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derrick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GG58GGS, Director of Sales at The Great George, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Derrick

Glad to have been a positive piece of your first memories in Prince Edward Island. We hope to see you again in the future.

Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

The Great George is a delightfully unique property with a wide choice of rooms. I was there on business and stayed in the main building. The room was spacious and the bed incredibly comfortable. The reception room in the lobby is also very inviting with oodles of seating. You just find your corner and relax! Excellent location, great people.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraMcCMoncton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

This is one of the best places I have been to. THe rooms are great and comfortable. The service is impeccable. The staff always have an attention for you (like cleaning your car after a snow storm, or knocking to your door after dinner to offer you a bit of chocolate) to make you feel special. A place to stay in, and to adopt.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.2 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
429 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
737 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward by Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fairholm National Historic Inn
Fairholm National Historic Inn
#6 of 23 in Charlottetown
280 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rodd Charlottetown
Rodd Charlottetown
#7 of 23 in Charlottetown
496 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great George

Property: The Great George
Address: 58 Great George St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 4K3, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Charlottetown
#2 Romantic Hotel in Charlottetown
#3 Family Hotel in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Great George 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique cluster of fully restored, 4 1/2 star heritage buildings situated within the streetscape splendour of Charlottetown's National Historic District. 50 guest rooms and suites + 4 luxury condos sure to satisfy the senses of the most discriminating traveler. Choose from the 21-room Victorian Pavilion, the intimate five-room Wellington House, family-friendly townhouses business-savvy Stable House or romantic Hideaway Suites. Deluxe rooms featuring fireplace, Jacuzzi or claw-foot tub. Frommers 2004: "One of Charlottetown's very classiest addresses." Open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Great George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Great George Hotel Charlottetown
Great George Charlottetown
Great George Hotel Charlottetown
The Great George Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing