We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel has it all”
Review of The Great George

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Great George
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“This hotel has it all”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Parking .... yes Service ... yes Great breakfasts...... yes Beautiful suites at a reasonable price ... yes Location... downtown and within walking distance of all you would want to see in Charlottetown... you got it! I shall return.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the refurbished town homes next to the hotel. Beautiful! There were also rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    89
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
94
294
27
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Estero, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Fabulous room incredible service fantastic location and tasty food. Loved this hotel. Have sent many friends and they have all lived it too. The afternoon Cookies were outstanding. The free wine and beer in the afternoon was an added bonus. The breakfast had everything. What more could one want.?????

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinyTom01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Great George has many outstanding features, but by far its most impressive quality is the service. Every single employee we encountered was friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. I felt like the stay was tailored to our individual needs...it was like having a personal concierge. I really have never experienced such genuine, amazing service as I did at the Great George. The staff are to be commended!
A few examples of the other perks: Location can not be beat (walking distance to many restaurants, shopping, the waterfront); the daily happy hour (Mon-Fri) with plentiful wine and local beer; the fresh afternoon cookies; the awesome breakfast; the immaculate rooms with beautiful, quality furnishings; they lent us the hotel's park pass to go hike in greenwich so we didn't have to buy one; the Go Green initiative where you can forego housekeeping and get a $10 coupon at one of many local restaurants. I could go on. I just felt pampered and like the stay there ended up being a great value.
I can not imagine staying elsewhere in Charlottetown, and if you stay at the Great George, you should ask the front desk staff before you do anything - they are full of helpful hints and suggestions (like the park pass!), will make and confirm your dinner reservations, etc. Stay here and enjoy!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TNLeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GG58GGS, Director of Sales at The Great George, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Delighted to hear that you had the experience we strive for with all our guests. We like to call it The Great George difference! Hope to see you again.

Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Great George is a charming hotel right in the heart of Charlottetown. It is within easy walking distance of restaurants, shops, theaters, the waterfront and historical sites. The hotel is furnished with antiques with an eye to comfort. The staff are, to a person, kind, professional and helpful. The breakfast is good and there are always warm cookies. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

One of the most charming hotels we have ever encountered. Built from a cluster of small historic buildings, many attached to the main building. Tea, coffee, cookies and ice water available round the clock. Breakfast with homemade quiches.
But the service is extraordinary. The beds comfortable, jaccuzzi tubs in many suites.
We now live down the street, but send all our guests there.

They even have rental apartments for longer stays. We used them while waiting for our place to be finished.

Room Tip: If you can afford the rate, ask for a jacuzzi suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parryaftab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GG58GGS, Director of Sales at The Great George, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
The highest form of a compliment is a referral from a neighbor Thank You!
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunenburg, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

The 60 room boutique hotel consists of 17 renovated old homes in downtown historic Charlottetown centered around the former Pavillon Hotel which hosted delegates to the Charlottetown Conference on Canadian Confederation.

Our 4th floor suite was large, quiet and tastefully decorated with rustic antique furniture. The room had all the amenities expected of a premier hotel. Check-in was easy and the friendly receptionist was most helpful. The comfortable bed with high thread count sheets made sleeping comfortable and luxurious.

We enjoyed our continental style breakfast served in the spacious main lounge.

Room Tip: A brown bag prepacked breakfast is available in the lobby for early risers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DGL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed at the The Great George for one night with my teenage daughter and niece. We had adjoining rooms, one with king and the other with 2 doubles. We found the staff to be very polite and friendly. Check in was quick and efficient, they helped us with dinner reservations and directions. In the evening we came back and played backgammon in the large games lounge and ordered a couple of drinks. When we went to pay the tab, they told us the drink we had was on the house. This, in addition to the lovely, generous happy hour (try the blueberry beer...yum) and the cookies, water, coffee etc, makes you feel very welcome and at home.
We unfortunately were not upgraded to a nicer room as many reviewers mentioned but it was the height of the summer. The beds were very comfortable with great duvets and linens and the bathrooms were luxurious. Our room could have used some fresh paint and a good carpet cleaning. Rooms 303 and 304, I think.
The hotel is within walking distance of everything you want to see in Charlottetown. Parking is free onsite.
The annex buildings (cottages) around the main hotel looked very interesting. It is like their own little village! I will look into one of these if we come back but would definitely stay here again. If you want to get the CAA rate just add it to the comments section when you book online and they will confirm the reduced price when they email your booking confirmation.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a patio to enjoy the beautiful area. The annex buildings looked very nice, ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pickering4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.4 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
720 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
412 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward by Marriott
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fairholm National Historic Inn
Fairholm National Historic Inn
#6 of 23 in Charlottetown
276 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rodd Charlottetown
Rodd Charlottetown
#8 of 23 in Charlottetown
481 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great George

Property: The Great George
Address: 58 Great George St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 4K3, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Charlottetown
#2 Romantic Hotel in Charlottetown
#3 Family Hotel in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Great George 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique cluster of fully restored, 4 1/2 star heritage buildings situated within the streetscape splendour of Charlottetown's National Historic District. 50 guest rooms and suites + 4 luxury condos sure to satisfy the senses of the most discriminating traveler. Choose from the 21-room Victorian Pavilion, the intimate five-room Wellington House, family-friendly townhouses business-savvy Stable House or romantic Hideaway Suites. Deluxe rooms featuring fireplace, Jacuzzi or claw-foot tub. Frommers 2004: "One of Charlottetown's very classiest addresses." Open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Great George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Great George Hotel Charlottetown
Great George Charlottetown
Great George Hotel Charlottetown
The Great George Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing