We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply put - it was great.”
Review of The Great George

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Great George
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Charlottetown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Spent one night at the Great George the first week of July. We booked last minute over the phone, and requested a basic room with a king bed. Check in was great, especially the fresh baked chocolate chip cookies that made there way from the back just in time for us - a nice little touch.

The room blew us away. We didn't know much about the property aside from a quick look at TripAdvisor. We were expecting a basic room but walked into a corner suite complete with a comfortable 4 poster bed and claw foot tub. Soon after a call came up from the front desk checking in on us - needless to say we were pleased.

We were told of their complimentary drinks from 5-6PM daily, and just happened to return to the hotel around that time. We expected something simple, but found that they were offering a choice of 3 local craft brews and some wine in their lobby area. And to add to the fun, it wasn't simply samples - they provided you with the full beer or a generous glass of wine. It allowed the guests to mingle and enjoy the decor and history the building has to offer.

Our only regret - only having 1 night to spend at this great place. If you have the chance to stay, do it.

Room Tip: Our room was a corner room on the fourth floor of the main building. Had views of the church and t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (668)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

450 - 456 of 668 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2013

The Great George Hotel is right in the heart of Charlottetown, and this beautiful historic restoration blends right into this gorgeous Victorian city. The bacilica is right across the street, Province House is a block away, and all the trendy eateries are within a block or two. The lobby is stunning, a vast area filled with beautiful antiques, including a piano with festooned with autographed pictures of various celebrities, including Anne Murray, the Maritimes' favourite singer. Our room was large, with king bed, two easy chairs and a desk with chair. The bathroom was small, with a pedestal sink and no counter space (typical of most period hotels or B&Bs). We didn't feel so bad about that though, after touring the Prince Edward Island Lieutenant-Governor's mansion and seeing the room where the Queen slept. She, too, had a pedestal sink and no counter space. The hotel has gone a step farther with its "environmental" program, not only encouraging guests to reduce laundering of towels, but as a thank you, providingsa $10 voucher for several restaurants in the vicinity. Unfortunately, though, they wasted prodigious amounts of energy chilling the entire hotel to the temperature of a refrigerator, and I mean a refrigerator--it was 13 degrees in the room when we arrived, and after shutting the AC off, the room stayed cold the duration of our two night stay. The lobby was equally chilly. Breakfast was good, but it was very awkward eating in the lobby with only living room easy chairs. While in Charlottetown we enjoyed the Province House, seeing the actual room where the Fathers of Confederation gathered; the Feux Follets historic dance routines put on in an outside amphitheatre by a very talented troupe of young people; the harbour walk and the wonderful Anne of Green Gables play.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heikermeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This hotel is an absolute gem in the middle of Charlottetown. We had booked a room, and ended up with a small suite. Cookies in the afternoon (with tea and coffee), included delicious breakfast and extremely friendly and helpful service. First rate. This is our second time here and should we be back in Charlottetown, we will definitely return. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dilly27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

One of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. My wife and I have travel a lot and this is probably our overall favorite place we have ever stayed. Extremely nice hotel and the staff here is superb! Great location and breakfast. Beds are super comfortable and rooms are very nice.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UNCDAVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

In 40 years of business and pleasure travel, I have seldom encountered a hotel that scores full marks in so many areas. The Great George is a collection of old houses in downtown Charlottetown that have been converted into guest rooms. Each room is a little different than the one beside it, which contributes to the unique character of the hotel. What impressives me the most about the hotel is the friendly staff. Everyone smiles, and goes the extra distance to please the guests. There's a wonderful lobby with plenty of comfortable sofas and antiques. A complimentary breakfast and afternoon wine and beer service is included. My room was magnificent. I was upgraded (without asking) to a spacious suite with a nice sitting area on the first floor, and a king bed and huge tub on the second floor. And there was even a small private deck on each floor! The hotel is centrally locally, within steps of many restaurants and tourist sites. But to sum up, it is the staff that makes this a must-stay place when visiting Atlantic Canada.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FussyVacationers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The title says it all! During a ten day trip to Halifax and PEI, we stayed in five different hotels and this was our last and our favorite. As far as comfort, cleanliness, quiet, it was spot on, as far as helpful and attentive to guests the staff could not have been better.
We enjoyed the little touches that make one feel welcome, the afternoon cookies and lemonade, the drinks hour, the newspapers in the common area, lemon ice water during the day. The location was perfect for downtown or harbor walks, or attending a certain play that attracts a lot of attention. I am one that reads and rereads the reviews and then smears over which one to chose, this place was the real deal for us. I hope it continues to maintain the high quality of stay that it offered us so others will enjoy it as we did.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hope_star78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Lovely boutique hotel in center of Charlottetown. Well located for an easy walk to many fine restaurants. Friendly welcoming staff. Well appointed, clean, comfortable room.. Some of the common areas could use cleaning with stained carpets noted in several places. Comfortable, well appointed old style lounge area on first floor. Good but not great complimentary breakfast. Definitely would return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MB0302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.2 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
465 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward by Marriott
0.3 mi away
Fairholm National Historic Inn
Fairholm National Historic Inn
#6 of 23 in Charlottetown
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
766 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rodd Charlottetown
Rodd Charlottetown
#7 of 23 in Charlottetown
529 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Sonata Inn
The Sonata Inn
#5 of 23 in Charlottetown
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great George

Address: 58 Great George St, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 4K3, Canada
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Charlottetown
#2 Romantic Hotel in Charlottetown
#3 Family Hotel in Charlottetown
Price Range: $153 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Great George 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique cluster of fully restored, 4 1/2 star heritage buildings situated within the streetscape splendour of Charlottetown's National Historic District. 50 guest rooms and suites + 4 luxury condos sure to satisfy the senses of the most discriminating traveler. Choose from the 21-room Victorian Pavilion, the intimate five-room Wellington House, family-friendly townhouses business-savvy Stable House or romantic Hideaway Suites. Deluxe rooms featuring fireplace, Jacuzzi or claw-foot tub. Frommers 2004: "One of Charlottetown's very classiest addresses." Open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Great George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Great George Hotel Charlottetown
Great George Charlottetown
Great George Hotel Charlottetown
The Great George Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing