We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What wonderful hosts!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Elmwood Heritage Inn
Ranked #1 of 43 Charlottetown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Arkansas
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“What wonderful hosts!”
Reviewed October 2, 2006

Carol and Jay are the most wonderful hosts. They were away for the afternoon when we arrived but their son checked us in and showed us to our room. He spent quite a bit of time helping us to find a restaurant for dinner that evening, calling several places, and making us a reservation. They have a binder with menus of just about every restaurant in the area.

The inn is so charming with so many antiques throughout. A special touch, which was of great interest to me, is family photographs of 3 generations, displayed in the dining room.

We had gone to see the play, Anne of Green Gables, and when we returned to the inn, Carol and Jay were waiting for us and asked how our evening went. They prepared a pot of coffee for us and brought it to our room. Carol gave us a lot of information on places to visit, and explicit directions on finding the various points of interest.

The breakfasts were delicious and made from scratch. They serve juice, coffee or tea (and Carol remembers who drinks what), fresh fruit with homemade sauces, and french toast our first morning and scrambled eggs on a biscuit the second. Absolutely wonderful.

Our room was very comfortable and very clean. The bed had a great mattress. There was an iron and ironing board in one closet and bathrobes in another as well as two comfortable wing chairs to watch the tv/vcr. There is a huge video tape collection. It was sad to leave because Carol and Jay felt like family. We would definitely stay here again. I highly recommend this inn.

  • Liked — Hosts
  • Disliked — Hard to find the driveway entrance
  • Stayed September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank gerryrtodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    17
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
80
298
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2006

The Elmwood Heritage Inn is a beautiful old Victorian mansion, just a few minute's walk from downtown Charlottetown. The owners are amicable and approchable.

Very nice rooms, and excellent breakfasts. The inn is in a charming neighbourhood, too.

The only downside I can think of is the walls are really thin, and you find yourself whispering, lest you let everyone in on your conversations.

  • Liked — Beautiful house
  • Disliked — Lack of privacy
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank just_passin_through
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, VA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2006

The Elmwood is a lovely old home filled with several antiques and a maze of hallways and rooms all lovingly decorated. The owners greet you in the parlor and are a lovely couple that will instantly learn your name. Great things about the Inn: plenty of services (laundry, a complimentary-shared guest fridge, AMAZING breakfasts and personal attention during breakfast), cool breezes into the inn from the bay, ample bathroom, comfortable bed, small tv/vcr in room, and plenty of videos for you to choose from. You will have a bit of a walk into town (about 20 minutes) but that can be a fun thing as well. C'Town is enjoyable-but bring the bug spray and your wallet for the stores.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank greengahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2005

We travelled from Scotland to spend our honeymoon on PEI, and stayed at the Elmwood for 7 nights in total, 4 nights in one suite and 3 in another. We had a WONDERFUL time- the suites were exquisitely decorated, VERY comfortable and spotlessly clean! The breakfasts were fantastic, with a good variety of home-cooked dishes. Jay and Carole were perfect hosts, courteous and friendly without being intrusive, and their extensive local knowledge helped us get the most from our honeymoon- great advice for day trips and restaurant recommendations. We cannot recommend the Elmwood too highly- a wonderful oasis of calm and comfort.

Stayed September 2005
Helpful?
11 Thank tom-n-jenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2005

Elmwood is enchanting. Jay and Carol are beautiful hosts and two of the nicest people you'll encounter on an Island full of friendly charm. Elmwood is just the most charming launching point for anyone visiting, honeymooning or simply in the mood to treat yourself right. My wife and I have been return visitors and continue to come back. For us, Elmwood is a part of the Island experience that no one should miss. The rooms are immaculately appointed and romantically antique. With the sincerest of confidence, I recommend your plans include a stay here.

Elmwood stands out as our #1 favorite, against any stay we've had in the Maritimes and we've had quite a few on a yearly basis. When a place like this is so clearly loved by people who have stayed here, you'd have to seriously question how anyone could rate Elmwood anything less than perfect. Please enjoy your stay at Elmwood.

Sincerely, Gregory La Belle

  • Stayed July 2001
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank glabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 7, 2005

A beautiful setting. A beautiful Bed & Breakfast - Absolutely Clean, Comfortable, Charming. It is our favorite of all the places we stayed throughout our Honeymoon, and we are in our mid forties & early fifties, this is when you really research your choices. The breakfast faire was excellent in flavor, and presentation. All of this and warmth and care from the hosts. We felt like very important guests and family at the same time. We were referred to nice restaurants in town as well. We will never forget our stay, and hope to return before too long. Many Thanks!!!

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston ma
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2004

Recently spent three nights @ the Elmwood. The service was spectacular! The innkeepers, Carol and Jay, were accommodating, incredibly helpful with suggestions re sightseeing, restaurants, etc. and did everything possible to make us feel right at home. We even exchanged recipes! We had one of the smaller rooms on the 3rd floor but it was delightful - clean with nice homey touches - but with all of the 21st century amenities -- TV/VCR, AC, gas fireplace, individual heaters if the evenings got cold. All in all, an A+ experience!

  • Stayed July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank barbie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.5 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
738 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
429 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward by Marriott
0.7 mi away
Fairholm National Historic Inn
Fairholm National Historic Inn
#6 of 23 in Charlottetown
280 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rodd Charlottetown
Rodd Charlottetown
#7 of 23 in Charlottetown
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elmwood Heritage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elmwood Heritage Inn

Property: Elmwood Heritage Inn
Address: 121 North River Rd, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 3K7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Elmwood Heritage Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trip Advisor "Certificate of Excellence" for four consecutive years and Winner of 2013 Travelers' Choice Award as the 13th Top B&B in Canada. Elmwood's unique location offers peace and privacy for your special time away. An acre estate outside the business core but just 12 blocks walk to theatre, dining, shopping. Only city B&B or Inn not on street or corner: street noises fade away as you have a great sleep on pillow-top queen beds (one King), luxury private baths - 4 double whirlpools, fireplaces, antiques, quilts and delicious fresh gourmet breakfasts, happy to create special diet items, great coffee and teas. Two limited accessible first floor rooms with walk in showers. All offer WiFi, TV/DVD/vcrs, iPod docks, phones, parking. Private, personal, friendly service. Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Elmwood Heritage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elmwood Heritage Inn Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing