We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We experienced true Canadian history and hospitality here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Elmwood Heritage Inn
Ranked #1 of 43 Charlottetown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West Vancouver BC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“We experienced true Canadian history and hospitality here”
Reviewed June 15, 2009

We found Elmwood Heritage Inn online and were a little nervous, having had a not so great B & B experience previously. This was fabulous! An 8,000 square foot original (but updated) Victorian home close to downtown, authentic Canadian antiques and furnishings with the luxury of all ensuite rooms or suites, many with fireplaces, all with beautiful hand made quilts, and television in each room. The owners, Carol and Jay met all our expectations of friendly, warm and delightful PEI people we had heard about. The breakfast were gourmet, served on antique china, with flowers and candles. My husband has a wheat allergy and Carol whipped up wheat-free biscuits and french toast that he certainly wasn't expecting. they gave us excellent touring and travel instructions, maps, guides, etc. If you want to experience Canadian history and feel like you are in a time and place where Confederation began, but with all the comforts of today, then definitely Elmwood is an experience you will want to try.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westcoasttraveller09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    16
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
78
296
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2009

The Elmwood Heritage Inn is operated by Jay and Carol who by virtue of their considerable experience and love for the business provide a truly enjoyable stay. The breakfast was one of the best and the location was perfect for our touring. They provided great service and good touring information. We would recommend this inn without reservation.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elgin60123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs
1 review
Reviewed May 14, 2009

The owners, Jay & Carol, have created a wonderful haven with this Inn. The breakfasts alone were worth the trip! A beautiful & lovingly cared for Victorian Bed & Breakfast. I will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pspsoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2008

Carol and Jay, the Owners, are experts at this business! We benefitted from that.
Many wonderful amenities are included here-We were in a spacious room "The Library" located on the main floor. Very quiet and private. Two doors insure the quiet.
We had a nice seating area in our room and a TV/VCR (some rooms have been switched to flat screens ) A large VCR library is yours to access. The bathroom was clean and spacious with extras we love--magnified mirror, plenty of counter space-good lighting.
Extra pillows and blankets are available as well as an iron and board...they even did a load of laundry for us!!
Breakfasts were divine...better than most of the other places we stayed (about 8 on this trip). Lovely fruit treats, rolls and a hot entree that are gourmet!
The house is set way off the street on a "flag" lot. It is modest looking on the exterior and "projects" are in-progress around the exterior. It's what goes on INSIDE that has earned them 5 STARS!
Carol and Jay are available.....to map out your route, to give hints for dinner, to make reservations for the Anne play, etc. The warmth and hospitality they expressed was unequaled. We really enjoyed our stay .

  • Liked — hospitality, comfort, great food
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inrbty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2008

We stayed at the Elmwood for 2 nights in August and thoroughly enjoyed it. Carol and Jay were gracious and respectfully attentive hosts. On our first night we arrived tired and hungry after a long and rainy drive from Quebec, Carol made a perfect recommendation for dinner and while we unpacked and relaxed she took care of making a dinner reservations for us. We stayed in the Nurses Room and the Premiers Suite, both were beautifully decorated, clean, comfortable and quite. The candlelit breakfasts served on Victorian fine china were both romantic and delicious! I would recommend the Elmwood for anyone looking for a quite and romantic weekend away.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank EastCoastTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2008

Inn was very charming. Hosts very accommodating. We had a very comfortable room and it was very large in size. Breakfasts were very tasty. Location was in a nice residential area. Not a far walk to several restaurants. Hosts were very generous with their time. Felt like we were invited into someone home. We would stay there again

  • Liked — Comfortable room. Great breakfast. Nice location
  • Disliked — Warm in room, A/C did not work.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DiegoFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County, NY
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2008

This was our first visit to Prince Edward's Island, and the owners of the inn (Carol and Jay) helped to make for a delightful trip. We were able to stay at the Elmwood only because there was a cancellation. We were in the Nurse's Room, one of the smaller rooms, but very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Being at the inn felt like you were visiting someone's home, and Carol and Jay made us feel like very welcome guests, indeed. It was our anniversary, and the Elmwood tradition is to provide champagne and chocolates. When he learned my wife does not like most champagne, Jay made a special effort to get one that was sweeter (and now we have a new favorite champagne). As noted by others, breakfasts are not to be missed -- the French toast is outstanding but the blueberry pancakes are a close second. Carol and Jay are attentive and kind but unobtrusive, always gracious and thoughtful (an example: we returned from an outing to find that Carol had turned on our air conditioner because the day had become a little humid). We have had several mediocre B&B experiences over the years and really appreciate the attention to quality and personal commitment to the needs of the guests that Carol, Jay and the staff demonstrate. PEI is a delightful place to visit if you want to enjoy beautiful scenery, delicious seafood, a slower pace (but some wonderful walks), and time with each other. The Elmwood Inn is the perfect place as a home base for day trips, with excellent advice from Carol and Jay, as well as only a short walk from Charlottetown's historic district. We hope to return next year.

  • Liked — Owners' attention to guests
  • Disliked — Entrance gate easy to miss
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Jack800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.5 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
720 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
412 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward by Marriott
0.7 mi away
Fairholm National Historic Inn
Fairholm National Historic Inn
#6 of 23 in Charlottetown
276 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rodd Charlottetown
Rodd Charlottetown
#8 of 23 in Charlottetown
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elmwood Heritage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elmwood Heritage Inn

Property: Elmwood Heritage Inn
Address: 121 North River Rd | Prince Edward Island, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 3K7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Elmwood Heritage Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trip Advisor "Certificate of Excellence" for four consecutive years and Winner of 2013 Travelers' Choice Award as the 13th Top B&B in Canada. Elmwood's unique location offers peace and privacy for your special time away. An acre estate outside the business core but just 12 blocks walk to theatre, dining, shopping. Only city B&B or Inn not on street or corner: street noises fade away as you have a great sleep on pillow-top queen beds (one King), luxury private baths - 4 double whirlpools, fireplaces, antiques, quilts and delicious fresh gourmet breakfasts, happy to create special diet items, great coffee and teas. Two limited accessible first floor rooms with walk in showers. All offer WiFi, TV/DVD/vcrs, iPod docks, phones, parking. Private, personal, friendly service. Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Elmwood Heritage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elmwood Heritage Inn Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing