We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy and elegant!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Elmwood Heritage Inn
Ranked #1 of 44 Charlottetown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cozy and elegant!”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This B&B is a beautiful old 3-story house with beautiful rooms and amazing common areas, located very conveniently to the downtown area shops and restaurants. Everything in the property has a story to tell, and the rooms each have their own character. We stayed in the suite, and it was very spacious and comfortable (bedroom, large living area with sleigh bed/couch, kitchen, and bathroom), complete with a full kitchen and jacuzzi tub! The common area on the 2nd floor has a wide movie selection (old musicals, Oscar "Best Picture" winners by year, etc) so you can take a VHS or DVD back to your room. Strong wifi signal throughout.

The owners, Jay and Carol and amazing! They are friendly, helpful, knowledgable, and cook a delicious multi-course breakfast! We felt so welcome, yet had plenty of our own private space. Carol provided us with tutorials on all the showers, heaters, amenities, etc, and Jay prepared the meals and gave us directions. We visited off-season, and they were helpful with suggestions of things we could do while half the island is off-duty, and made great restaurant recommendations. Jay gave us detailed directions on the map to some attractions.

The first night we arrived, they were hosting a concert of some young artist from Nova Scotia. People from the community attended, and coffee and treats were served. They invited us to join, and never pressured us if we had other plans.

Don't miss the Farmer's Market nearby Saturday until 2pm... Jay's recommendation! Go when you're hungry!

Room Tip: Go for the Cunard Suite! Spacious and convenient with a kitchen. Some of the rooms are on the grou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ktschmatey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    16
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
78
291
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed one night, the hosts were very friendly and informative about the inn's history. Lots of antiques and photos. Great gourmet breakfast, french toast, fresh fruit and juices, yummy! Quiet off road location, close to downtown restaurants and shopping. Chilled sparkling wine waiting for us when we checked in :)

Room Tip: We stayed in the Premier suite, great bathtub, lots of space and big windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbugsPei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Even though my wife is, I'm not much on B & Bs, but these folks are making me re-think my future choices.
Carol and Jay were extremely pleasant. They knowledgably answered all questions about local food, entertainment, churches and historical sites.
Their home is a walk back in history and they have made great efforts to keep it that way with decorating, furniture and dining room place settings.
All the rooms have private baths and my wife loved their bath robes.
We stayed for two nights. Both breakfasts were presented beautifully and the food was delicious.
Extremely pleasant stay.

Room Tip: A variety of room configurations to suit all types of guests
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We arrived late just before Valentine's day - and were welcomed by Jay and Carol Macdonald with smiles and warmth and were led to an exquisite suite filled with beautiful furniture - complete with hand sewn quilts and lace tatted pillow cases. On Valentines Day I found a rose from the innkeepers - a warm and lovely gesture that personified the entire stay. Any personal food need was graciously met - including decaf green tea, strong espresso and vegan muffins! The setting of the inn is beautiful and after a tour of the various suites - all complete with hand sewn quilts and lace tatted pillow cases and one more beautiful than the next - we have highly recommended this inn to our friends - perfect for couples traveling together!. A wonderful and warm experience - just what a 5 star B&B should be!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ellen408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We came here in February (doesn't everyone?). The place was open (not all are), and the level of service and comfort were just as great as everyone else from high season is reporting here. Jay and Carol welcomed us immediately and very personally after our long drive from Maine, offered us tea and cookies to relax a bit, and showed us to the quaint but very comfortable and spacious Peake suite. This third-floor suite comes with a queen bedroom, a living room (with fireplace) containing two day beds for additional sleep space or relaxing, a full kitchen (even a dishwasher!), and a small but fully functional and attractive bathroom. The phone in the room could be used for outside calls OR to reach the hosts by intercom, which proved handy several times. Jay and Carol went out of their way to suggest places to see and how to get there, and they made our dinner reservation for us after checking on availability of restaurants in off-season. Breakfast, as others have mentioned, was lovely, with home-made and original sauces and other recipes, and just enough friendly conversation with the hosts. They truly made us feel welcome and at home, without ever being intrusive. All in all, it was a delightful experience to stay at their B&B, and my friend and I would definitely want to go back should we return to PEI.

Room Tip: Two of their rooms are suites than can sleep one or more guests in the living room in addition to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed for almost a week in August as the last leg of our East Coast holiday. This review is delayed due to the general busy-ness encountered on our return and has nothing to with with our experience at Elmwood.

We had the Premier's Suite booked for a number of nights and, when a change in our transportation plans appeared to be forced upon us, we spent the last two nights in the Cook's Room. Both were fantastic and we cannot say enough about every aspect of the house and hosts.

Breakfasts were always made to order within the menu of the day and a variety of teas plus de-caf coffee were always available. Guidance, suggestions and making reservations were freely offered once requested and valuable. Location of the house is unbeatable, being so close to town and yet in a quiet residential area.

As stated, our transportation plans changed: we were to leave for Boston on the weekend. When that appeared to be unlikely, our stay was accommodated with an extra night in the Suite and 'last minute' transfer to the Cook's Room for our final days. Despite the changes not being required in the end, my wife and I mutually and wholeheartedly agreed that we should stay in Charlottetown.

At time of writing this, Tripadvisor indicates the Elmowwd to be #2 in Charlottetown. I'm curious to see "who" #1 is. I cannot imagine any better hosts or accommodation than here and suspect its just a matter of personal taste of reviewers. When we return, we wouldn't dream of staying or even looking for anywhere else. So many other reviews extol the virtues of the house and hosts, I can only echo all positive comments. We were treated like friends, guests and royalty.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tango9R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in late September 2012 in the Cunard Suite and highly recommend this historical bed and breakfast inn. We loved that it was close to all the downtown restaurants and shopping, yet it was in a nice residential area we felt safe and comfortable walking around. The bayside boardwalk was just a few minutes walk away and it was a lovely way to start or end the day and walk off the delicious meals we enjoyed at the inn and downtown as well. Carol and Jay were excellent hosts from providing very good dinner recommendations and reservations as well as directions and tips for our daily sightseeing, to preparing and serving wonderful hot breakfasts. (Loved the lemon pankakes). The Cunard Suite was quiet, on the second floor, spacious and had a full kitchen which came in handy. The shower was a little unusual, but once we got used to how to operate it, it was fine, however the water pressure could have been better.
We used this location as our central base and toured different areas of the island during our stay. We enjoyed walking the national parks and especially enjoyed the sand dunes. (Wear comfy walking shoes as much of walk is on floating docks). We also loved the Experience PEI clam digging and dinner experience in a local home, which we highly recommend as it was most memorable!

Room Tip: Book well in advance. The King-bedded rooms sell out fast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trvlsnobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.5 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#4 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Fairholm National Historic Inn
Fairholm National Historic Inn
#6 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Sonata Inn
The Sonata Inn
#5 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.9 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Prince Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elmwood Heritage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elmwood Heritage Inn

Property: Elmwood Heritage Inn
Address: 121 North River Rd | Prince Edward Island, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 3K7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 44 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Elmwood Heritage Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trip Advisor "Certificate of Excellence" for four consecutive years and Winner of 2013 Travelers' Choice Award as the 13th Top B&B in Canada. Elmwood's unique location offers peace and privacy for your special time away. An acre estate outside the business core but just 12 blocks walk to theatre, dining, shopping. Only city B&B or Inn not on street or corner: street noises fade away as you have a great sleep on pillow-top queen beds (one King), luxury private baths - 4 double whirlpools, fireplaces, antiques, quilts and delicious fresh gourmet breakfasts, happy to create special diet items, great coffee and teas. Two limited accessible first floor rooms with walk in showers. All offer WiFi, TV/DVD/vcrs, iPod docks, phones, parking. Private, personal, friendly service. Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Elmwood Heritage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elmwood Heritage Inn Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing