We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Inn on PEI” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elmwood Heritage Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elmwood Heritage Inn
Ranked #1 of 43 Charlottetown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lewisburg, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Inn on PEI”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2008

We stayed at the Elmwood during our honeymoon and had a wonderful stay. Jay and Carol were wonderful hosts and they served up a delicious breakfast each day. They also assisted with dinner reservations and PEI sightseeing suggestions. The rooms were finely decorated, some with fireplaces and jacuzzi bathtubs.

  • Liked — Clean and well decorated
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank HossWV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    16
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
77
289
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2007

We booked our rooms with Jay several months in advance. He sent us detailed instructions on how to get there from Halifax and even sent ferry schedules and suggested a place to stop for lunch on the way (Pictou Inn--which was fabulous!) This was just the beginning of one of our best vacations ever! Carol and Jay treat everyone like old friends. Their home is beautiful and so comfortable. The food is absolutely the best. They take such good care of everyone--making sure you have everything you need--and they are so knowledgeable about the area. They also are extremely helpful in mapping out areas to see--and suggesting things to do. We all felt sad when we left--it really was like leaving friends behind. We will definitely go back. Charlottetown is a charming city with lots to do. Extremely friendly people--and PEI is one of the most beautiful places I've ever been. Our stay at the Elmwood Heritage Inn was the perfect place to enjoy everything!!!

  • Liked — The owners
  • Disliked — not a thing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelingMomandKid1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2007

This is the best B&B experience. Even though I arrived very late, Jay met me at the door. He asked for my breakfast preferences and helped me with my luggage. My room was just as I expected. The bathroom was beautiful with its clawfoot tub and skylight. The TV and videos were nice. The cleaning ladies even did my laundry and sorted them as I asked. Carol had arranged my tickets for two musicals and had them waiting for me. She gave wonderful suggestions of where to go, what to see and where to eat. Breakfast was very tasty and interesting with visitors from the US, Canada, and the UK. The property is set back from the road and I felt very safe coming in late at night.

  • Liked — the owners
  • Stayed August 2005, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank BikerChickTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2007

Elmwood Heritage Inn is a delightful Inn close to the center of Charlottetown, centrally located for touring the island, but in a quiet setting. It is decorated in Victorian style, in keeping with the history of the home, full of all kinds of antiques that the innkeepers have collected. The nicest part of staying at the inn is the friendly and accomodating innkeepers, Carol and Jay MacDonald. They made advance reservations for us at restaurants, recommended shows, and obtained tickets for us in advance. They advised us on daily sightseeing drives, marked our route on a map, and noted shops, restaurants, and anything we inquired about. The breakfasts were outstanding, with fresh-squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit, and homemade entrees, all presented on a beautifully appointed candlelit table with lace doilies, silver, attractive glassware and china. All in all, a very pleasant experience!

  • Liked — Hospitality of the innkeepers
  • Disliked — I prefer a firmer bed.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Tattlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2006

Carol and Jay are the most wonderful hosts. They were away for the afternoon when we arrived but their son checked us in and showed us to our room. He spent quite a bit of time helping us to find a restaurant for dinner that evening, calling several places, and making us a reservation. They have a binder with menus of just about every restaurant in the area.

The inn is so charming with so many antiques throughout. A special touch, which was of great interest to me, is family photographs of 3 generations, displayed in the dining room.

We had gone to see the play, Anne of Green Gables, and when we returned to the inn, Carol and Jay were waiting for us and asked how our evening went. They prepared a pot of coffee for us and brought it to our room. Carol gave us a lot of information on places to visit, and explicit directions on finding the various points of interest.

The breakfasts were delicious and made from scratch. They serve juice, coffee or tea (and Carol remembers who drinks what), fresh fruit with homemade sauces, and french toast our first morning and scrambled eggs on a biscuit the second. Absolutely wonderful.

Our room was very comfortable and very clean. The bed had a great mattress. There was an iron and ironing board in one closet and bathrobes in another as well as two comfortable wing chairs to watch the tv/vcr. There is a huge video tape collection. It was sad to leave because Carol and Jay felt like family. We would definitely stay here again. I highly recommend this inn.

  • Liked — Hosts
  • Disliked — Hard to find the driveway entrance
  • Stayed September 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank gerryrtodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2006

The Elmwood Heritage Inn is a beautiful old Victorian mansion, just a few minute's walk from downtown Charlottetown. The owners are amicable and approchable.

Very nice rooms, and excellent breakfasts. The inn is in a charming neighbourhood, too.

The only downside I can think of is the walls are really thin, and you find yourself whispering, lest you let everyone in on your conversations.

  • Liked — Beautiful house
  • Disliked — Lack of privacy
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank just_passin_through
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, VA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2006

The Elmwood is a lovely old home filled with several antiques and a maze of hallways and rooms all lovingly decorated. The owners greet you in the parlor and are a lovely couple that will instantly learn your name. Great things about the Inn: plenty of services (laundry, a complimentary-shared guest fridge, AMAZING breakfasts and personal attention during breakfast), cool breezes into the inn from the bay, ample bathroom, comfortable bed, small tv/vcr in room, and plenty of videos for you to choose from. You will have a bit of a walk into town (about 20 minutes) but that can be a fun thing as well. C'Town is enjoyable-but bring the bug spray and your wallet for the stores.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank greengahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.5 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Great George
The Great George
#1 of 23 in Charlottetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Delta Hotels Prince Edward
Delta Hotels Prince Edward
#4 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Sonata Inn
The Sonata Inn
#5 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fairholm National Historic Inn
Fairholm National Historic Inn
#6 of 23 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elmwood Heritage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elmwood Heritage Inn

Property: Elmwood Heritage Inn
Address: 121 North River Rd | Prince Edward Island, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1A 3K7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Elmwood Heritage Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trip Advisor "Certificate of Excellence" for four consecutive years and Winner of 2013 Travelers' Choice Award as the 13th Top B&B in Canada. Elmwood's unique location offers peace and privacy for your special time away. An acre estate outside the business core but just 12 blocks walk to theatre, dining, shopping. Only city B&B or Inn not on street or corner: street noises fade away as you have a great sleep on pillow-top queen beds (one King), luxury private baths - 4 double whirlpools, fireplaces, antiques, quilts and delicious fresh gourmet breakfasts, happy to create special diet items, great coffee and teas. Two limited accessible first floor rooms with walk in showers. All offer WiFi, TV/DVD/vcrs, iPod docks, phones, parking. Private, personal, friendly service. Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Elmwood Heritage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elmwood Heritage Inn Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing