We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Charlottetown
Sherbrooke, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

On a recent trip to Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island we stayed at the Comfort Inn.
The staff were very freindly and helpful on check-in and when we asked about directions and other questions we had. We had a clean comfortable room and we enjoyed the breakfast in the morning.
We would recomend this hotel while staying in Charlottetown and is in a good location as close to the main highway and to all shopping malls and restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawna G, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thanks so much for your kind words Anne.

We are very lucky to have such a central location, which is indeed close to a lot of attractions. Thanks so much for your compliments on our desk staff, excellence customer service is the reason that we are here. We are glad you enjoyed or breakfast, we pride ourselves on having a variety of choices. Once again thanks so much for reviewing our hotel, comments like yours put a smile on our face. Hope you stay with us again in the future!

Sincerely,

Shawna Grandjean, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    68
    41
    11
    7
See reviews for
46
58
5
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hartford
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I am writing this simply because of the staff at this motel. For the most part, Comfort Inns and the other Choice properties are what they are and if you are a Choice properties person you know what you are getting and that is one of the reasons you stay there. I have stayed at many and am seldom disappointed
This Comfort Inn in Charlottetown has probably the best staff of any I have stayed. From the front desk people to the housekeeping staff to the breakfast personnel you cannot go wrong in choosing this motel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawna G, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for your review Brian!

This is what we love to hear, we are so lucky to have the hard working and friendly staff we do! Everybody from breakfast, maintenance, housekeeping, laundry and desk are team players. I'm overjoyed that you take notice of this. Guest service is soooooooo important, it sets the tone for the rest of your stay! It is the MOST important thing to us. It brightens our day to hear positive comments like yours. Can't wait to have you back again.

Once again thanks for your lovely comments they are much appreciated!

With huge thanks,

Shawna Grandjean, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We spent two nights at this hotel and it was terrible. The lobby and stairwells and bottom floor all smelled like cigarette smoke. In this day and age?? The top floor had no smoking rooms but when I used the fan in the bathroom, the bathroom smelled up like smoke really bad. It was horrible. Then early in the morning all you hear is doors slamming as people go down and up from breakfast. So much for getting any vacation rest. The maid service was also really sloppy. We didn't get shampoo and conditioner our second day so we ran out of shampoo. I should have spent more money and stayed at the Holiday Inn Express. STAY AWAY from this hotel!

Room Tip: Choose a good room....at a DIFFERENT hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nayomie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawna G, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property.

We apologize if the smoking rooms were an issue, it is something that is being looked at very closely. If their is anything we can do to make your next stay more pleasurable please let us know, our guest service can't be beat. Again, thank you for taking the time to write a review for our property, it is truly appreciated.

With Thanks,

Shawna Grandjean, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehi, Utah
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I agree that the ground floor smelled like smoke, but recognize that most hotels that allow smoking rooms will place them on the ground floor. I don't know why, but they always seem to do it. Also, recognize that it is Comfort Inn. That is not a disparaging remark toward the brand, but they do not purport to be a high-end hotel. It is meant to be a place to get some rest for the next day. Having stayed there for two days, while working on the island, it gave me exactly what I needed. A bed to sleep on, some TV to watch, a bathroom to use, and a bite to eat before I get started on the day. All very average, but it was extremely inexpensive compared to most!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the staircase doors in the middle of the hall. I was right across from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawna G, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thanks Matt for your review!

So glad to hear that we were exactly what you needed. We pride ourselves on having many choices in our breakfast to give the guests the energy they need for the work day! We are so glad to hear that our property worked out for you. If their is anything additional you need for your next stay please let the desk staff know at anytime.

Once again, Thank you for taking the time to review our property and look forward to seeing you again!

With Thanks,

Shawna Grandjean, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerfield, Florida
Level Contributor
225 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We picked this hotel based on previous positive experiences with Comfort Inns and Trip Advisor Reviews. What a disappointment! Upon check in, we were treated curtly because we wanted to use a different credit card than used with the guarantee. The entire hotel smelled bad. The ground floor smelled smoky. The stairwell smelled perfumy. The upper level smelled dank. The ice machine could not meet client needs. The standard breakfast area was small. And no elevator.

Our NSQ #227 smelled damp and moldy. All windows were sealed shut. The room was spacious, but dirty. The carpet appeared worn but reasonable. Our blanket appeared clean, but its underside was soiled -- discovered on the third day. The hideabed was so dingy that I used the bedspread as a cover. Our room had WiFi, but no refrigerator or microwave.

Since our reservation was guaranteed, we assumed we were committed for the first night, but immediately tried to find lodging elsewhere for the balance of our three night stay. Unfortunately, all hotels we contacted had no vacancy for consecutive nights so we had to endure the full three night stay as reserved.

Room Tip: Our experience taught us to request to see our room before registering if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wanda71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawna G, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property.

It is never fun hearing that a guests stay was less than satisfactory. The problem with our smoking rooms is something that is currently being addressed as we want to be fair to our non- smoking guests. Guest service is what is most important to us, above everything. We are sorry you did not feel our service was acceptable. That is NEVER what we like to hear. Whether it is a good or bad review, we always appreciate guests taking the time to review our property, it is appreciated.

With thanks,

Shawna Grandjean, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newofoundland, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

There are a fair number of hotels on this strip. I wouldn't pick this place again because there are better options. I'd tend to go to the Hotel Inn Express which is more modern than this hotel. This hotel is fine but needs new carpet, tile etc. It time for an upgrade. It's not dirty or horrible- its just not great.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ldruken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawna G, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

It is true or location in Charlottetown has a large number of hotels. We do receive regular renovations but must be done at a time in the year when we are not busy. We do believe our guest service is greater than any competitor you could find out there. We hope the next time you stay we exceed your expectations.

Thanks again and we appreciate your feedback!

Sincerely,

Shawna Grandjean, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I was there for a night with a friend. staff are nice but there is nothing special for this hotel. Hotel seems pretty old. the bed, sheets and pillows was old. The breakfast was decent but the breakfast area was small and might can not find room to sit there in peak time.
Last thing is, price was high for the average quality compare to the others.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawna G, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property.

We are sorry to hear your stay did not exceed your expectations. Our property does receive regular renovations. The breakfast area is cramped when we are running full, which is quite often in the summer but is something that is being looked into. If you do stay with us again in the future please let us know what we can do to make your stay a more enjoyable one for you.

We really appreciate your feedback!

Sincerely,

Shawna Grandjean, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Charlottetown hotels
0.4 mi away
Rodd Royalty
Rodd Royalty
#9 of 24 in Charlottetown
4.0 of 5 stars 471 reviews
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
Quality Inn & Suites Downtown
#12 of 24 in Charlottetown
4.0 of 5 stars 223 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charlottetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Delta Prince Edward
Delta Prince Edward
#4 of 24 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 stars 299 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Holman Grand Hotel
The Holman Grand Hotel
#3 of 24 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 stars 318 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Harbour House
The Harbour House
#2 of 24 in Charlottetown
4.5 of 5 stars 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 112 Capital Dr, Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island C1E 1E7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Prince Edward Island > Charlottetown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Charlottetown
#8 Business Hotel in Charlottetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A New Level of Comfort - Comfort Inn Charlottetown is completely renovated, new lobby and breakfast room now serving free HOT breakfast. Only minutes away from gorgeous sandy beaches, the Newly Renovated Comfort Inn(R) is in a prime location providing easy access to Historic Downtown Charlottetown, Founders Hall, Charlottetown Mall, Confederation Landing and the Confederation Centre of the Arts. Business travellers appreciate the hotel's free Wifi and complimentary business centre. Close proximity to the University of Prince Edward Island, Atlantic Veterinary College, West Royalty Industrial Park, Diagnostic Chemicals and BioVectra. Brand new guest rooms at this pet-friendly Charlottetown hotel feature cable television, hair dryers, Truly Yours Bedding, coffee makers and ironing equipment. Proud to be 100% non smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Canada, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Charlottetown
Comfort Inn Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island
Charlottetown Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing